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It is illegal for a debt collector to:It is illegal for a debt collector to:It is illegal for a debt collector to:It is illegal for a debt collector to:

• threaten violence; 
• use profane or obscene language;
• falsely accuse you of fraud or other

crimes; 
• threaten the consumer with arrest;
• repossess or seize property without

appropriate court proceedings; 
• harass debtors by calling

anonymously or making repeated
or continuous calls; or

• make collect calls without
disclosing the name of the caller
before the charges are accepted.

Debt collection agencies may not:Debt collection agencies may not:Debt collection agencies may not:Debt collection agencies may not:

• use a false name for identification;
• misrepresent the amount of the

debt;
• send documents that appear to be

from a court;
• fail to identify the person or

company that holds the debt; or
• misrepresent the nature of the

services rendered by the collection
agency or the collector.

By Greg AbbottBy Greg AbbottBy Greg AbbottBy Greg Abbott
Attorney General of Texas

Information on this and other topics is available on the Information on this and other topics is available on the Information on this and other topics is available on the Information on this and other topics is available on the 
Attorney General’s Web site at www.oag.state.tx.us.Attorney General’s Web site at www.oag.state.tx.us.Attorney General’s Web site at www.oag.state.tx.us.Attorney General’s Web site at www.oag.state.tx.us.

BB

The Attorney General Can
Stop Abusive Debt Collection

The Attorney
General’s Con-
sumer Protection
Division receives
hundreds of com-
plaints against
debt collectors
each year. The
complaints range
from abusive
language to ha-

rassment in the
workplace.

Recently, we received one from a citizen
of Dallas.  She had been in debt to a com-
pany, and the case was referred to a
collection agency.  She made arrangements
to pay off the debt and had completed her
obligation.  A few weeks after she sent in
her final payment, the woman started
receiving calls from the collection agency
about the same debt.  She tried to explain
that she no longer owed money to her
original debtor, but the calls continued.
She even came close to losing her job when
the collection agency started phoning her
at work.

Creditors have the right to collect debts.
It is reasonable to think that persistence
and tenacity must be used at times in the
collection process.  However, the Texas
Debt Collection Act prohibits unfair,
harassing or abusive collection tactics.
Violators of the Act face civil and criminal
penalties.

If you want to dispute a debt that has
been referred for collection, notify the debt
collector in writing. After receiving your
letter, the debt collector has 30 days to

determine if the disputed item is correct.
Incorrect items must be corrected, and
the collector must notify anyone who has
already received a report containing the
disputed item. If, at the end of 30 days,
the debt collector is unable to determine
the item’s accuracy, he or she must still
make the change you request and notify
anyone who received a report containing
the disputed item.  If it is later determined
that the item was correct, you will be
notified and collection efforts may resume.

If you feel you have been harassed or
deceived by a collection agency, you can
file a complaint in the Consumer Protection
Section of our Web site at
www.oag.state.tx.us or by calling (800) 621-
0508.  You can also review the OAG's
information on debt collection in the
Consumer Protection Section.

Consumers are also protected by the
federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act
(FDCPA), which applies solely to collectors
working for professional debt collection
agencies and attorneys hired to collect debts.
The federal law is similar to its Texas
counterpart, but also prohibits calls to the
workplace if the collector has reason to
believe that the employer does not allow
such calls.

Calls before 8:00 a.m. and after 9:00
p.m. are also prohibited under the FDCPA,
unless the collector has information that
such times are more convenient for the
debtor. You can find more information
about the FDCPA and file a complaint
on the Federal Trade Commission’s Web
site at www.ftc.gov.

The non-profit Consumer Credit
Counseling Service (CCCS) provides debt
counseling to families and individuals.
If you need assistance, you can reach the
CCCS at (800) 388-2227.

If a collection agency contacts you about
a debt that is not yours, you may be the
victim of identity theft.  Promptly review
your credit file with all three of the major
credit reporting bureaus.


