
         

   CREDIT 
 INSURANCE   
 POLICIES

• Review contracts carefully to avoid   
 purchasing an unwanted insurance policy.

• Check the “Truth in Lending” statement in  
 loan agreements to determine whether 
 an insurance policy is required.

• Remember that Texas law entitles credit  
 insurance purchasers to unearned premium  
 refunds if the purchaser cancels the policy 
 or pays off the loan early.

To ask about a particular credit insurer 
or fi le a complaint, contact:

Texas Department of Insurance
(800) 252-3439

For more information on this and 
other consumer topics, visit the 

Offi ce of the Attorney General online 
at www.oag.state.tx.us

POINTS TO REMEMBER

INSURANCE COMPANIES OFTEN NET-
WORK with automobile dealerships 
to offer credit insurance policies that 
insulate vehicle purchases in the 
event of a personal tragedy. These 
policies fulfi ll borrowers’ obligations 
to their lenders if the borrower dies 
or becomes disabled. Because credit 
insurance policies provide coverage for 
the full term of the vehicle loan, many 
consumers who pay off their loans 
early are entitled to have their unearned 
premiums refunded.

Investigators with the Offi ce of the 
Attorney General have discovered that 
many credit insurance companies are 
not complying with the Texas Insurance 
Code, which requires credit insurers to 
refund these unearned premiums. As 
a result, we have charged eight credit 
insurance companies with failing to 
refund certain premiums. 

In May, Enterprise Life Insurance 
Company agreed to reimburse nearly 
$5 million to affected consumers. 
Enterprise, the fi rst of the eight 
companies to settle with the State, 
sold credit insurance to consumers 

through Texas auto dealerships. Their 
policies, which provided coverage for 
the duration of vehicle loans, were sold 
as single-premium policies. Purchasers 
paid a single lump sum; that is, the 
entire cost of the credit insurance policy 
was bundled into the buyer’s total loan. 
Some affected vehicle loans lasted up 
to six years. 

Consumers who cancelled their 
policies or paid off their loans ahead 
of schedule were promised refunds for 
their unearned insurance premiums. 
Investigators found, however, that 
Enterprise and others our office has 
investigated retained the unearned 
premiums.

Under the State’s agreement with 
Enterprise, more than 21,000 Texas 
vehicle owners may be entitled to 
refunds on unearned premiums. 
Consumers who have not received 
a check but believe they are owed a 
refund should contact the Office of 
Attorney General toll-free at (800) 
252-8011 or visit our Web site at 
www.oag.state.tx.us to obtain more 
information.

When buying a car, consumers should 
review contracts and invoices carefully 
to make sure they are not buying an 
unwanted credit insurance policy. 
Some policies add as much as $500 to 
$1000 to the price of a vehicle.

Consumers should also check 
the “truth in lending” statement on 
their loan agreement to see whether 
insurance is required. Buyers always 
should be cautious of high-pressure 
sales pitches for unnecessary goods or 
services, including add-ons like credit 
insurance.

Consumers who decide to buy credit 
insurance policies should be aware that 
the premium is added to the vehicle 
loan so they will have to pay interest on 
it. Consumers are entitled to a refund 
of the unearned premium if the loan 
balance is paid off before the end of 
the fi nance period or if they cancel the 
policy within 15 days of purchase.

Consumers can inquire about a credit 
insurer or fi le a complaint by calling 
the Texas Department of Insurance at 
(800) 252-3439.
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