
MOST TEXANS BELIEVE THAT RESPONSIBLE CREDIT CARD 

USE – paying balances on time, maintaining 
a good credit score and not exceeding the 
credit limit – will be rewarded with lower 
interest rates, higher credit lines and better 
terms. Unfortunately, that is not always the 
case. Recently, lenders have been modifying 
customers’ agreements to charge higher rates 
and fees.

Although the prime interest rate, the 
lending rate that banks charge other banks 
– is at an historic low, many reports indicate 
that credit-card companies are raising interest 
rates and increasing fees on customers – even 
those who have never exceeded their credit 
limits or made late payments.

Texas law generally caps the amount of 
interest that a credit card company can charge, 
but that interest rate limit only applies if the 
card issuer is a bank chartered by the state of 
Texas. And most credit card issuers are based 
in other states, so many Texans’ credit cards 
are and not subject to Texas’ limits. 

Within the confi nes of state and federal 
law, many credit card accounts are governed 
by the agreement between the issuer and the 
card holder. Many credit card agreements also 
allow issuers to periodically change interest 
rates and other terms at their discretion. 

Card holders should keep in mind that many 
credit card companies regularly monitor their 
customers’ overall creditworthiness. And 
they use penalty rate triggers to increase 
interest rates under certain circumstances. 
For example, interest rates can be raised if 
a customer fails to make a single payment 
on time. And in today’s economic climate, 

interest rates are also being increased while 
credit limits lowered – largely because 
of elevated balances on consumers’ other 
accounts or changes in the way their 
information is reported to credit bureaus. 

Credit card holders should watch for term-
of-agreement updates from their issuer to 
determine if their interest rate is going to 
change. If the bank intends to change one of 
the terms, such as the interest rate, it must send 
notice at least 15 days in advance of the change. 
The 15-day advance notice requirement does 
not apply if the consumer has agreed to the 
change, or the change is due to delinquency or 
default, such as exceeding the credit limit.

Credit card customers with questions 
about their credit cards should review their 
cardholder agreement, ideally before signing 
up for a card. Among other things, these 
agreements should detail the interest rate, the 
length of any promotional rates, penalty fees 
and penalty fee triggers. 

Cardholders should carefully monitor their 
statements and note any abrupt modifi cations 
from one statement to the next. Texans who 
notice a change, such as a sudden interest rate 
increase, can contact their credit card company 
for additional information and attempt to 
negotiate better terms. If customers receive 
notice of a change, they should determine 
whether the bank provided an opt-out of 
the change. Some banks allow customers to 
retain a lower rate by closing the account to 
future purchases and requiring payment of the 
balance under existing account terms. If any 
new terms are objectionable, Texans should 
weigh their options, which could include 

paying off the balance or transferring the 
balance to another card with a lower rate.

Texans who have diffi culty managing their 
credit debt may consider credit counseling. 
Credit counseling services are designed to 
teach people how to use credit responsibly 
and help debtors get out of serious debt by 
establishing a debt management plan. 

Debt management plans allow debtors to 
consolidate payments into a single lump sum 
paid to the credit counselor each month. The 
consolidated payment is then distributed to 
creditors, often at reduced interest rates, which 
allow the debtor to get out of debt faster. 

Unfortunately, some scams have arisen 
that prey upon desperate debtors. So, Texans 
need to be careful when they select a credit 
counselor. The National Foundation for Credit 
Counseling can provide a list of accredited 
counselors by calling (800) 388-2227 or 
visiting their Web site,  www.nfcc.org.

The federal government has recently 
taken some measures to help debtors 
with outstanding credit card balances. In 
December, the Federal Reserve approved new 
rules that prohibit unfair credit card company 
practices and improve disclosures to debtors. 
For example, credit card companies must 
notify customers 45 days before making any 
changes in the terms of their agreements – a 
30-day increase. The new rules, however, do 
not become effective until July 2010.

Credit card holders with complaints or 
concerns should contact the Federal Deposit 
Insurance Corporation, the Federal Trade 
Commission or the Offi ce of the Attorney 
General.
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Get a free annual credit report from each 
of the credit reporting bureaus at
www.annualcreditreport.com.

Contact the Texas Offi ce of Consumer Credit 
Commissioner, which regulates Texas’s credit 
industry and offers assistance to consumers 
and creditors, at (800) 538-1579 or
www.occc.state.tx.us.

If you believe you have been subjected to 
misrepresentation or deceptive practices by a 
credit card company, contact the OAG at (800) 
252-8011 or www.oag.state.tx.us.

Other Resources:
Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation
(877) ASK-FDIC
www.fdic.gov

Federal Trade Commission
(877) FTC-HELP
www.ftc.gov
www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov


