A STATE OF TEXAS N
ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF PATERNITY

This is a legal document. Typerrint in black ink. Parents are to be given a copy of this completed document.

We declare under penalty of perjury that

Biological Father's first middle last name
is the biological father of
Child's first middle last name
born on / / ,in :
m m dd y yyy city county state
to
Mother's first middle last name maiden name if different
Father's date of birth social security number address city state zip code
Mother's date of birth social security number address city state zip code

We further declare under penalty of perjury that:

®* We have been given written and oral notice of: the benefits of having paternity established; the availability of
paternity establishment and child support services; and thelegal consequences off the rights and responsibilities
of, and the alternative to signing this Acknowledgment.

® No other Acknowledgment of Paternity form nafning another man as the biological father of this child has been filed.
® There is no court order naming another man as the biological father of this child.

® A genetic test has not determined that anotheryman is‘the biological father of this child.

Fill one circle by the correct statement from EACH of the fellowing:

O There has not been genetic testing ofithe man listed O Genetic testing has determined that the man listed above is the
above to determine if he is the biological father of this ‘child. O biological father of this child.

Q The mother was not married to someone other than‘the QO The mother was married to someone other than the biological
biological father at the time of the child's birth'er within father at the time of the child's birth or during the 300 days
300 days prior to the child's date,of birth, or thereis a court or before the child's birth or during the first two years of the child's
order that states that the ‘man the 'mother, was marriedjto is life, a man continuously lived with the child and represented the
not the father of the child)and during the firSintwo years of child as his own; and that man has completed the Denial of
the child's life, no man continuously lived with the child Paternity below or has a Denial of Paternity filed with the Vital
and representédithe child as his©wn. Statistics Unit.

/ /
Full Signatureof Biological Father date Full Signature of Mother date
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Denial Of Paternity (only required if "mother was married to someone other than the biological father or if, during the child's first two
years of life, a man continuously lived with the child and represented the child as his own" is checked.)
We declare under penalty of perjury that
Presumed Father's first middle last name
the presumed father of the child, is not the biological father. We understand that filing of this denial with an acknowledgment
removes the presumed father's legal duty to support the child and terminates his right of custody or visitation with the child.

This is a governmental document. Texas Penal Code, Section 37.10, specifies penalties for making false entries or providing false information in this document.
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Eﬂ Full Signature of Presumed Father date Full Signature of Mother date
= / / - -
Presumed Father's date of birth social security number Presumed Father's address city state zip code
Entity Code 8311

Texas Department of State Health Services
. Vital Statistics Unit
VS-159.1M Revised 9/2011




This is a legal document. If you are not sure that the man named in this Acknowledgment is the biological
father of the child, you should NOT sign this document. You may want to get a genetic test. The biological father
who signs this Acknowledgment becomes the legal father of the child when this document is filed with the
Department of State Health Services, Texas Vital Statistics

Signing this legal document gives you certain rights and responsibilities. Signing this document is voluntary. You
should consult an attorney if you have any concerns about signing this document. This document requires an
Entity Code completed in the lower right corner by an individual certified by the Office of the Attorney General to
administer Acknowledgments of Paternity.

Benefits, Right, and Responsibilities of Paternity
Establishing parentage makes it easier for a child to receive benefits such as social security, military and veteran’s
benefits, health care coverage and life insurance, as well as inheritance.

This Acknowledgment has the same effect as a court order establishing paternity4Both parents bave parental
right and duties as provided by state law. Either parent has the right to seek primaryicustodyffthe child. A
parent not living with the child may have the right to visit and maintain a relationship withéhe child, eithénas both
parents agree or as ordered by a court. By signing this Acknowledgment, you may be ordered to paychild support
and medical support.

This document may be completed before the birth of the child, at the timeYef birth, or at any time after the birth of
the child prior to any court hearing in a proceeding involving the'child. If this document isSighed before the birth
of the child, it is binding for any child born no later than 300/days after the signature date on this document.

When this Acknowledgment is properly filed with Texas Mital Statistics, it creates'a parent-child relationship
between the man and child. Establishment of paternityiis kequired for a father’s name to be entered on a birth
certificate.

Child Support services can be'obtained through the Office of the Attorney General,
Child Support Division'onby hiring an attorney.

Denial of Paternity
If a child’s mother is married to a man other than the biological father at the time of birth or within 300 days of the
ending of a marriage (by a finalized divorce,) the (ex)*husband is presumed to be the legal father. To complete this
document for a child that hasia,presumed father)the presumed father must deny paternity by completing the
Denial of Paternity section.\ The'mother must agreeithat the presumed father is not the biological father by also
signing the denial section. Thei\acknowledgment section must also be completed by the biological father and
mother, or the denial will not'be accépted. Upon the filing of this document, the presumed father is legally
determined notito be,the father of the child. His legal duty to support the child is removed. Likewise, his legal
right of custody or visitation with the child is terminated.

Change of Mind
If any partyto this'document/changes his/her mind about acknowledging or denying paternity, he/she may file a
Rescission of Acknowledgmeént of Paternity (VS-158) to rescind this document. The Rescission of
AcknowledgmentofiPatefnity must be filed within sixty (60) days after this legal document is filed with Texas Vital
Statistics or before the'date a proceeding related to the child is initiated, whichever occurs first. After sixty (60)
days, or the date a proceeding for the child was initiated, a lawsuit is required to challenge this document. Fraud,
duress, or material mistake of fact in signing this form must be proven during the lawsuit.

If a Party is a Minor
Minors are authorized to complete the Acknowledgment of Paternity without parental consent. Minors are
allowed to rescind or challenge this document in the same procedures as persons eighteen (18) or older.

All parties must receive oral notice of the above information before completing this Acknowledgment. You can
receive oral notice of the information by calling 1-866-255-2006 and selecting option 1, “Notice of Rights and
Responsibilities of a Parent.”

If you have questions, you may call the Paternity Opportunity Program at 1-866-255-2006.
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