
 
This is a legal document.  If you are not sure that the man named in this Acknowledgment is the biological 
father of the child, you should NOT sign this document.  You may want to get a genetic test. The biological father 
who signs this Acknowledgment becomes the legal father of the child when this document is filed with the 
Department of State Health Services, Texas Vital Statistics. 

 Signing this legal document gives you certain rights and responsibilities.  Signing this document is voluntary.  You 
should consult an attorney if you have any concerns about signing this document.    This document requires an 
Entity Code completed in the lower right corner by an individual certified by the Office of the Attorney General to 
administer Acknowledgments of Paternity. 

Benefits, Rights and Responsibilities of Paternity 
Establishing parentage makes it easier for a child to receive benefits such as social security, military and veteran’s 
benefits, health care coverage and life insurance, as well as inheritance. 
  
This Acknowledgment has the same effect as a court order establishing paternity.  Both parents have parental 
right and duties as provided by state law.  Either parent has the right to seek primary custody of the child.  A 
parent not living with the child may have the right to visit and maintain a relationship with the child, either as both 
parents agree or as ordered by a court.  By signing this Acknowledgment, you may be ordered to pay child support 
and medical support. 

This document may be completed before the birth of the child, at the time of birth, or at any time after the birth of 
the child prior to any court hearing in a proceeding involving the child.  If this document is signed before the birth 
of the child, it is binding for any child born no later than 300 days after the signature date on this document.  
When this Acknowledgment is properly filed with Texas Vital Statistics, it creates a parent-child relationship 
between the man and child.  Establishment of paternity is required for a father’s name to be entered on a birth 
certificate. 

Child Support services can be obtained through the Office of the Attorney General,                                      
Child Support Division or by hiring an attorney. 

Denial of Paternity 
If a child’s mother is married to a man other than the biological father at the time of birth or within 300 days of the 
ending of a marriage (by a finalized divorce,) the (ex) husband is presumed to be the legal father.  To complete this 
document for a child that has a presumed father, the presumed father must deny paternity by completing the 
Denial of Paternity section.  The mother must agree that the presumed father is not the biological father by also 
signing the denial section.  The acknowledgment section must also be completed by the biological father and 
mother, or the denial will not be accepted.  Upon the filing of this document, the presumed father is legally 
determined not to be the father of the child.  His legal duty to support the child is removed.  Likewise, his legal 
right of custody or visitation with the child is terminated. 

Change of Mind 
If any party to this document changes his/her mind about acknowledging or denying paternity, he/she may file a 
Rescission of Acknowledgment of Paternity (VS-158) to rescind this document.  The Rescission of 
Acknowledgment of Paternity must be filed within sixty (60) days after this legal document is filed with Texas Vital 
Statistics or before the date a proceeding related to the child is initiated, whichever occurs first.  After sixty (60) 
days, or the date a proceeding for the child was initiated, a lawsuit is required to challenge this document.  Fraud, 
duress, or material mistake of fact in signing this form must be proven during the lawsuit. 

If a Party is a Minor 
Minors are authorized to complete the Acknowledgment of Paternity without parental consent.  Minors are 
allowed to rescind or challenge this document in the same procedures as persons eighteen (18) or older.
  

All parties must receive oral notice of the above information before completing this Acknowledgment.  You can 
receive oral notice of the information by calling 1-866-255-2006 and selecting option 1, “Notice of Rights and 
Responsibilities of a Parent.” 

If you have questions, you may call the Paternity Opportunity Program at 1-866-255-2006. 
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Este es un documento legal. Si no está segura que el hombre a quien se nombra en el Reconocimiento de Paternidad 

es el papá biológico del niño, NO debe firmar este documento. Usted quizás quiera hacer una prueba genética. El papá 

biológico que firma el Reconocimiento de Paternidad se convierte en el papá legal del niño cuando el documento es 

registrado en la Unidad de Estadísticas Vitales del Departamento Estatal de Servicios de Salud. 

 Al firmar este documento legal, se le otorgan a usted ciertos derechos y responsabilidades. Firmar este documento es 

voluntario. Debe consultar con un abogado si tiene cualquier inquietud sobre la firma de este documento. Este documento 

requiere que sea incluido un Código de Entidad en la esquina de abajo al lado derecho que debe ser puesto por una persona 

autorizada por la Procuraduría General para administrar el Reconocimiento de Paternidad. 

Beneficios, Derechos y Responsabilidades de la Paternidad 
Establecer el parentesco ayuda a facilitar que un niño reciba beneficios tales como seguro social, beneficios militares y de 

veteranos, cobertura de cuidado médico y seguro de vida, al igual que herencias. 

 

Este Reconocimiento de Paternidad tiene el mismo efecto que una orden de la corte estableciendo la paternidad. Ambos 

padres tienen derechos de paternidad y deberes según como dispone la ley estatal. Cualquiera de los padres (mamá o papá) 

tiene derecho de intentar obtener la custodia principal del niño. Un padre que no vive con el niño quizás pueda tener derecho a 

visitar y mantener una relación con el niño, ya sea por acuerdo de los dos padres o por orden de una corte. Al firmar este 

Reconocimiento de Paternidad, a usted se le puede ordenar que pague manutención de niños o manutención médica. 

Este documento se puede llenar antes de nacer el niño, al momento de nacer, o en cualquier momento después del nacimiento 

del niño previo a que se realice alguna audiencia en corte en un procedimiento que involucre al niño. Si este documento es 

firmado antes de nacer el niño, establece un vínculo para cualquier niño que nace dentro de un lapso de 300 días después de la 

fecha de la firma de este documento. Cuando este Reconocimiento de Paternidad queda debidamente registrado con la Unidad 

de Estadísticas Vitales de Texas, establece una relación de padre e hijo entre el hombre y el niño. Se requiere establecer la 

paternidad para que el nombre del papá aparezca en el acta de nacimiento. 

Puede obtener servicios de manutención de niños a través de la División de Manutención de Niños de la 

Procuraduría General o contratando a un abogado 

Negando la Paternidad 
Si la mamá de un niño está casada con un hombre que no es el papá biológico al momento de nacer o dentro de 300 días de 

que termine un matrimonio (por medio de un divorcio finalizado), dicho esposo o ex esposo se presume es el papá legal. Para 

completar este documento para un niño con un presunto papá legal, el presunto papá debe negar la paternidad llenando la 

sección Negación de la Paternidad. La mamá debe estar de acuerdo que el presunto papá no es el papá biológico al también 

firmar la sección negando la paternidad. El papá biológico y la mamá también deben llenar la sección de reconocimiento, o no 

será aceptada la negación de la paternidad. Al registrar este documento, se determina que el presunto papá no es  el papá legal 

del niño. Su deber legal de proporcionar manutención al niño queda eliminado. Igualmente, su derecho legal de custodia o 

visitas con el niño queda eliminado. 

Cambio de Opinión 
Si una de las partes mencionadas en este documento cambia de opinión sobre el reconocimiento o el rechazo de paternidad, 

pueden registrar una Anulación del Reconocimiento de Paternidad (VS-158) para anular este documento. La Anulación del 

Reconocimiento de Paternidad debe ser registrada dentro de sesenta (60) días después de que este documento legal haya sido 

registrado con Estadísticas Vitales de Texas o antes de la fecha en que dé inicio un procedimiento legal relacionado con el 

niño, según lo que ocurra primero.   Después de sesenta (60) días, o de la fecha de la primera audiencia, se requiere una 

demanda para desafiar este documento. El fraude, coacción o equivocación material de hecho al firmar este formulario debe 

ser comprobado durante la demanda. 

Si Una de las Partes Es Menor de Edad 
Los menores de edad están autorizados para llenar el Reconocimiento de Paternidad sin permiso de sus padres. Los menores de 

edad pueden anular o desafiar este documento bajo los mismos procedimientos a disposición de personas de dieciocho (18) 

años o mayores. 

  

Todas las partes deben recibir un aviso oral de la información mencionada arriba antes de llenar el Reconocimiento de 

Paternidad. Usted puede recibir aviso oral de esta información llamando al 1-866-255-2006 y seleccionando la opción 1, “Aviso 

de Derechos y Responsabilidades de un Padre”. 

 

Si tiene preguntas, llame al Programa de Oportunidad de Paternidad al 1-866-255-2006 
 




