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JUDICIAL REVIEW

If your application has been denied at 

the hearing level, you have the right to 

seek judicial review in district court. 

You must file a written notice of dis-

satisfaction with CVC within 40 days of 

the date of the final decision denying 

your application or award. If you do 

not, you lose your right to seek judicial 

review. You or your attorney must then 

file a lawsuit in district court within 

40 days of the date the written notice 

of dissatisfaction was received by the 

Office of the Attorney General. If you 

have any questions or concerns about 

your right to appeal, please contact CVC. 

BY US MAIL

Appeals Section

Crime Victim Services Division – MC011

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 12198

Austin, Texas 78711-2198

BY TELEPHONE

(800) 983-9933 Statewide

(512) 936-1599 Austin

(512) 370-9435 Fax

ON THE INTERNET

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov

ADMINISTRATIVE
appeals process

If you disagree with the decision of Crime 

Victims’ Compensation (CVC) to deny your 

application for benefits, or disagree with 

a decision denying a specific award or the 

amount of an award, you have the right 

to appeal the CVC decision. To appeal, you 

should follow the instructions in this pam-

phlet, paying particular attention to the 

time limits within which you must send cer-

tain information. Please read this pamphlet 

thoroughly.  

ADMINISTRATIVE
APPEALS PROCESS



what if my

application is denied?

WHAT IF MY

APPLICATION IS DENIED?

There are three steps in the appeals process, all gov-

erned by the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 

56, Subchapter B and by Title 1 Texas Administrative 

Code, Part III, Chapter 61. The first step, called recon-

sideration, is an informal way of resolving your appli-

cation. If you disagree with the reconsideration review, 

you may request a final ruling hearing. This is a more 

formal procedure for which you may want to seek the 

advice of an attorney. Finally, if you disagree with the 

final ruling you have the right to seek judicial review in 

district court. CVC’s appeal process is intended to be 

fair and just. Administrative decisions are based not 

only on the letter of the law, but also on the intent of 

the Crime Victims’ Compensation Act. 

You must follow each step of the administrative 

appeals process in order to preserve your right to seek 

judicial review.

RECONSIDERATION 

If you disagree with CVC’s denial of your application, the 

first step in the process is to write a letter requesting 

that the decision be reconsidered. Be sure to explain why 

ent by telephone for the hearing. If you fail to be present 

or request a rescheduled hearing, the final decision may 

be made by the hearing officer based on the available 

information.   If you have an emergency or cannot attend 

the scheduled hearing for a valid reason, you must give us 

at least 48 hours notice for us to consider rescheduling 

your hearing. 

Prior to the hearing, you will be asked to gather informa-

tion you need to support your application. For example, 

if you are claiming loss of earnings resulting from the 

crime, you must present evidence such as a doctor’s state-

ment of disability and verification from your employer. If 

you prevail in your hearing, CVC will determine the amount 

to compensate your loss. 

The procedures for the hearing are:

1. The hearing officer will begin by explaining the law 

and rules that apply to the hearing.

2. You or your representative will be asked to state your 

position on the issue; that is, you will explain why you 

believe that your application should be awarded.

3. You may present witnesses or documents you have to 

support your position. The hearing officer may ask wit-

nesses to swear to their testimony, be cross-examined, 

or to testify outside the presence of other witnesses.

4. In arriving at a decision, the hearing officer may con-

sider relevant information even though that information 

might not be admissible in a court of law.

5. Finally, the hearing officer will notify you in writing of 

the decision and the reasons for the decision. You will 

also be informed of your right to seek judicial review in 

district court. 

you disagree with the denial. The letter must be dated and 

signed. You must write to CVC within 30 days of the 

date of the letter denying your application or award. If 

you do not adhere to this timeline, you could lose your 

right to have your application reconsidered. 

Prior to reconsidering your application, we may ask you 

to send us any additional information you believe will 

support your request for reconsideration. You must send 

this information to CVC within 30 days. An appeal officer 

will then review your application as well as any additional 

evidence you submit. 

 

The appeal officer will review all the evidence in the file 

and, if necessary, request additional information, speak 

to the victim, claimant or witnesses. The appeal officer 

will, as soon as practicable, complete the reconsideration 

and provide written notification telling you whether your 

application was approved or denied and the reasons for 

the decision.

FINAL RULING

If you disagree with the reconsideration review of 

your application, the next step in the appeal process 

is to ask for a final ruling hearing. You must write to 

CVC within 30 days of the date of the reconsidera-

tion letter denying your application. If you do not 

adhere to this timeline, you could lose your right to 

a final ruling hearing. 

We will notify you at least 10 days before the hearing. A 

hearing will be conducted by telephone. You must be pres-


