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Crime Victims’ Compensation

General Overview



Crime Victim Services

Mission Statement

To assist in the compassionate and effective delivery of
crime victim services by offering information, resources, and
financial assistance to crime victims and the organizations
assisting them.



CVC Goal

» The goal of CVC is to reimburse victims of crime for certain
out-of-pocket expenses not reimbursed by other sources.

» The Office of the Attorney General shall award to victims
and claimants compensation for pecuniary loss arising from

criminally injurious conduct.



Enabling Legislation

» Texas Code of Criminal Procedure
» Article 56 subchapter B

» Article 56.31 through 56.64

» Crime Victims’ Compensation Act

» CVC began January 1, 1980



CVC Mandates

» A victim has the RIGHT to request and receive
information about Crime Victims’ Compensation.

» Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.02 (a)(6)
and TFC, 7.002(6)



CVC Mandates

» T.C.C.P. Art. 56.07 Law Enforcement Mandate
 |nitial contact with victim
 Written notice

» T.C.C.P. Art. 56.08 District and County Attorneys
« 10-day written notice
« Assistance with application

» T.C.C.P. Art. 56.60 Public Notice
« Posters in hospital emergency rooms



CVC Funding

» Itis not a tax-based or general-revenue-funded program.
No tax dollars are used.

» Sources of funding in FY 2015 were:
 Court fees
 Federal VOCA grant
« Restitution
e Subrogation
« Other receipts
« Gifts



Restitution

» CVC pays benefits to an eligible victim
» At some point, an offender is apprehended and convicted

» At sentencing, the judge can order the defendant to pay
restitution to the CVC Fund for what the victim was paid In
eligible benefits.



Subrogation

» CVC pays benefits to, or on behalf of, a victim.

» Victim files and wins a civil lawsuit for damages or
receives a settlement from perpetrator.

» Victim reimburses funds to CVC for lawsuits and
settlements related to the crime.

» Victim and his/her attorney are subject to prosecution for
failure to notify CVC.




Payer of Last Resort

» All collateral sources must pay first:

« Medicaid

 Health insurance

« Medicare

« Texas Workers’ Compensation
e Auto Insurance



CVC Fiscal Year 2015 Summary

» $59.0 million in payments

» Received a total of 31,685 applications and sexual
assault exam reimbursement claims

« 23,776 were victim compensation applications
. 7,909 were sexual assault reimbursement claims



Who is a victim?

» An individual who suffers physical or mental harm or death
as a result of criminally injurious conduct

» Note that every application has to have one victim, and
only one victim

» Includes peace officers, firefighters or individuals whose
employment duty is to protect the public



Claimant

Who is a claimant?

» An authorized individual acting on behalf of a victim

» An individual who legally or voluntarily assumes the
obligation to pay expenses

» A dependent of a deceased victim

» An immediate family or household member who requires
psychiatric care or counseling

» An application can have multiple claimants, but only one
victim




Eligibility

Who is eligible to receive CVC?

» A Texas or U.S. RESIDENT who becomes a victim of
crime in Texas

» A Texas resident who becomes a victim in a country with
no benefits

» A Texas resident who becomes a victim of a crime
defined as an act of terrorism committed outside the
United States (as of 9/1/97)



Eligibility

RESIDENT as used in the Texas Code Criminal Procedure
ART. 56.32(a)(11)(A)(ii), the term means a person who has a
domicile in Texas or who lives for more than a temporary period
In Texas, another state or the U.S., the Dist. Of Columbia, the
Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or a possession or territory of
the U.S.



Eligibility

» A Social Security number is not required for a
victim to apply and be eligible for the CVC Program.

» A tax ID or Social Security number is a requirement
to receive a payment.




Criminally Injurious Conduct

“Criminally injurious conduct” refers to crimes that:

» Are attempted or occur
» Pose a substantial threat of personal injury
» Would be punishable by fine or imprisonment



CIC Crimes

Eligible for Reimbursement (1 of 2)

» Criminal injurious conduct (CIC) crimes are violent crimes
against persons.

» CIC crimes range from simple assault to homicide and include
such crimes as family violence, child sexual assault,
Kidnapping, arson, robbery and carjacking.
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CIC Crimes

Eligible for Reimbursement (2 of 2)

CIC vehicular related crimes are:

Crimes of intentional injury with an automobile,
boat or plane

Failure to stop and render aid (hit and run)
Vehicular crimes involving drugs or alcohol

Intoxication-related crimes (assault, manslaughter
or criminally negligent homicide)




Denial or Reduction

Behavior Factors

» If the person
 Was engaged in illegal activity (deny or reduce)

« Shares in the responsibility for the crime
(deny or reduce)

« Falils to cooperate with law enforcement and prosecution
efforts (deny)

» Possible factors, entire situation is reviewed



However...

» There is no requirement that a suspect be

« Identified
 Apprehended
« Charged

« Convicted
...for a victim to apply for and be awarded compensation.

» There is a requirement for the victim to cooperate
throughout the criminal justice process.



CVC Reporting Requirements

» Reporting the crime to law enforcement
« 72 hours prior to 9/1/97
 Onor after 9/1/97, a reasonable period of time, but not
so late as to interfere with or hamper the investigation
and prosecution

» The program has the discretion
« The victimis a child
« Extraordinary circumstances hampered the reporting



CVC Filing Requirements

» Filing requirements to CVC program
 Prior to 9/1/97, one year
 On or after 9/1/97, three years

» Exceptions
 (Good cause
« Child victim through age 18 (pre-1997)
« Child victim age 18 to 21 (1997-present)
« Victim physically incapacitated



Application

» The CVC application (English and Spanish) is available on
our web page.

» The application is always reviewed after a legislative
session to assure it meets statutory requirements.

An application is considered complete and will be
processed when it:

« |sfilled out in its entirety

« |s signed by a victim or a valid adult claimant

* Provides law enforcement information

* Provides any other information requested by the OAG



Application

IMPORTANT AFFIDAVIT

This affidavit Is part of your application and must be completed and signed in order to process this claim.
BY YOUR SIGNATURE BELOW YOU AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING TERMS.

Authorization for Release of Information. | hereby authonize any financial institution, sacial service agency, govemment agency, hos-
pital, physician, mental health facility, counselor, psychologist, psychiatrist, employer, insurer or other person with information relating to
financial, health or employment status to release information conceming this application for benefits to the employees of the Crime Victims™
Compensation Program of the Office of the Atomey General as needed 1o process this claim, This information is to include, but is not limited

to, financial, employment, iagnosis and reatment information. A copy of this signed release will be considered the same as the original

Subrogation Agreement. In accordance with Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.561 and 56.52, | agree o notify the Crime
Victims' Compensation (CVC) Program of the Ofice of the Attomey General in writing before | file 3 lawsult against another party as a
result of this crime. | further agree that | shall not settle or resolve any such action without prior written authorization from CVC. If | file
bankruptcy or if | recover or anticipate recovery of any money at any fime, by judgment, seflement, restitution, collateral source o any
ather income as a result of the incident that gave rise 1o this claim, | agree to notify and/or repay CVC for any and all amounts that CVC

has awarded to me.

Refund Agreement. | understand and agree th

he Office of the Attomey General may request a refund of payments previously made

due to overpayments, submission of false or raudulent information, unjust enrichment, failure to provide requested information, non-

wath law or non-compliance with any of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Chapter 56.

Affirmation and Authorization. | swear and affirm under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Texas (Penal Code §37.02)
that the information provided in the application to the Crime Victims' Compensation Program and any additional information that |

provide is true and correct. | understand that the Texas Attorney General or any agent or representative of the ofice has the right

to verify the information provided. | and agree that if false, ing o i i

VICTIM
Printed Name: Date:
Signature:

(Parent or legal representative must sign If vicim IS a minor of incapacitated adult)
CLAIMANT
Printed Name: Date:
Signature

(Parent or legal representative must sign If Glaimant 1s a minor of incapacttated adulty

Page 66 Retum this page to the Office of the Attorney General.



Up to:

« $25,000 for crimes prior to 9/1/97
« $50,000 for crimes on or after 9/1/97

For reimbursement of medical costs, counseling, lost wages,
funeral costs, and other costs resulting from the crime

Does not include property loss or damaqge
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Award Types

Medical (includes psychiatric care/counseling and dental)
Travel

Loss of Earnings

Loss of support

Funeral and burial

Relocation and rental

Child or dependent care

Crime scene clean-up

Property seized as evidence
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Medical Expenses

Includes:

Hospital expenses
Doctors’ fees
Prescriptions
Emergency room
Ambulance

X-rays
Rehabilitation
Nursing home
Dental
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Medical Expenses

Medical expenses are paid according to the Division of Worker's
Compensation medical fee guidelines and are based on the dates of
services rendered.

« If the victim pays the medical bills they will be reimbursed their
actual cost

The victim is not responsible for the difference, unless the victim had
benefits reduced or the claim is found to be a “med max.”

«  Example: medical bills total cost that exceed the amount
available for a claim.

Medical expenses are only limited by the funding available in the
claim.

Reimbursements for medical expenses must be submitted within
three years of the date of service, unless extenuating circumstances
exist.



Mental Health

» Inpatient psychiatric care or counseling
* Victim only
« $600 per day (before 9-1-14)

« After 9-1-14 expenses paid at the medical fee
guideline

« Maximum 30-day stay; unless good cause is shown
 Should be pre-authorized

» Outpatient psychiatric care or counseling
* 60 sessions for victim
« 60 sessions for claimant



CVC Eligible

Mental Health Providers

Eligible providers must be licensed mental health

providers limited to the following professions which are updated
on the CVC web page:

« Psychiatrist, and other M.D.

* Clinical Psychologist

« Clinical Nurse Specialists in Psychiatry (CNS)

« Licensed Professional Counselor (LPC)

« Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT)
« Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)

CVC does not make referrals to victims seeking treatment;
they are referred to their local resources.



Travel expenses due to participation in or attendance at:

The investigation prosecution, or judicial processes; also
post-conviction and post-adjudication-involvement

 The execution of the perpetrator

« Seeking necessary medical treatment and counseling
services

* The funeral of the victim for immediate family and
household members



Travel

Exceeds 20 miles (one way)

* Necessary and reasonable transportation

« Commercial transportation

« Personal vehicle / state mileage reimbursement rate

Exceeds 60 miles (one way)

Meals and lodging expenses

Meals and lodging are per diem state rate
Commercial transportation

Personal vehicle / state mileage reimbursement rate

Different travel rates apply for different years and are based
on the state rate at the time.



Loss of Earnings

» Loss of earnings related to medical:
« Physical or emotional disability (victim)
« While seeking medical treatment for crime-related injury
(victim)
« Care for a medically incapacitated adult/minor child (claimant)
« Attending counseling for crime related injury ( victim or
claimant)

» Loss of earnings related to the criminal justice system:
Police investigation appointments (victim or claimant)
« Protective order court appointment
« Criminal proceedings
« Post-conviction
« Post-adjudication proceedings (executions)

» Loss of earnings related to victim’s funeral



Loss of Earnings

» If employed, weekly net earnings are multiplied by the
disability period.

» Limited to $500 per week

» If unemployed, CVC will consider situations that demonstrate
the victim would have been employable. Benefits would be
based on anticipated loss of future earnings.



Loss of Support

» To dependents of a murder victim
« Up to $50,000

v

To dependents of surviving victims
« Usually family violence
« Limited to 90 days

v

To dependents of a medically disabled victim
« During disability period

v

Limited to $500 per week

» Verification of dependency, support lost and collateral sources



Funeral and Burial

» Funeral and burial expenses maximum of $4,500
» Additional funds available to transport the body

» What is covered:
* Funeral services
« Casket, urn
« Graveside services
« Cemetery expenses
« Marker/headstone
« Cremation charges
 Additional costs such as flowers, burial clothing for the
deceased, exhumation and reburial



Relocation (1 of 4)

» For victims of sexual assault in their residence, family violence
and human trafficking

» $3,800 total benefit
« Up to $2,000 for applicable relocation costs:
= Transportation
= Deposits and fees
= Moving van and storage
« Three months rent up to $1,800

» One-time award

» 3 year time limit to apply for relocation



Relocation (2 of 4)

» For victims of sexual assault in their residence (9/1/2001)

» “Sexual assault “ means an offense under Section 21.02,
21.11(a)(1), 22.011, or 22.021, Penal Code.



Relocation (3 of 4)

» For victims of family violence (6/19/99)
* Proof of cohabitation

Sec. 71.004. FAMILY VIOLENCE. "Family violence" means:

(1) an act by a member of a family or household against another
member of the family or household that is intended to result in
physical harm, bodily injury, assault, or sexual assault or that is a
threat that reasonably places the member in fear of imminent physical
harm, bodily injury, assault, or sexual assault, but does not include
defensive measures to protect oneself.



Relocation (4 of 4)

» For victims of human trafficking (9/1/13)

Sec. 20A.02. TRAFFICKING OF PERSONS. (a) A person commits
an offense if the person knowingly:

(1) traffics another person with the intent that the trafficked
person engage in forced labor or services;

(2) receives a benefit from participating in a venture that
Involves an activity described by Subdivision (1), including by
receiving labor or services the person knows are forced labor
or services;

(3) traffics another person and, through force, fraud, or
coercion, causes the trafficked person to engage in conduct
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Child or Dependent Care

Only available as a NEW EXPENSE resulting from the crime
Children (14 years and under) or dependent adults

Care must be provided by licensed or registered provider

$100 per week per child or dependent

« Crime dates after 5/7/2005, child care is limited to 13 weeks

«  Child care exception for dependants of deceased victims
(13 week limit)



Crime Scene Clean-Up

» Reasonable and necessary costs of cleaning the
crime scene

» $750 limit
» Commercial cleaning company

» Wil reimburse for cleaning supplies when work is done
by volunteers



Property Seized as Evidence

» Reasonable replacement costs for clothing, bedding, or
property of the victim seized as evidence or rendered
unusable as a result of the criminal investigation

»  $750 limit

» This is the only property for which reimbursement can be
paid by CVC.



Extraordinary Pecuniary Loss

» extraordinary pecuniary loss is a total and permanent
disability.

» Above the base award the EPL benefit is

« Additional $25,000
(for crimes occurring September 1995-97)

« Additional $50,000
(for crimes occurring on or after
Sept.1, 1997 to Aug. 31, 2001)

« Additional $75,000
(for crimes occurring on or after Sept. 1, 2001)



Extraordinary Pecuniary Loss

Total and Permanent Disability

Durable medical equipment
Rehabilitation technology

Nursing home care

Home and Auto adaptions

Vocational Rehabilitations

Home health care

Training in the use of special appliances
Lost wages

Job training
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» The victim or claimant has the right to appeal a decision
(eligibility or awards)

« Reconsideration
« Final Ruling Hearing
 District Court



Claim Closure Due to Fraud

» Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.41 (b)(7)
(b) The attorney general shall deny an application for
compensation under this subchapter if: (7) the claimant or
victim knowingly or intentionally submits false or forged
information to the attorney general.

» Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.38 (b)
The attorney general may investigate an application.

» Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.47(a)
The attorney general, on the attorney general’s own motion,
or on request of a claimant or victim, may reconsider;
(1) a decision to make or deny an awards; or
(2) the amount of the award
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Claim Closure Due to Fraud

Loss of Earnings

Scenario 1

Victim was awarded Loss of Earnings.

CVC received information that victim submitted two false
employment verification documents and also forged HR
Director’s signature to falsely show they were employed.

Victim was charged and arrested for tampering with a
governmental record.

Scenario 2

Victim submitted false medical documentation in order to
continuing receiving Loss of Earnings.

Victim, a nurse, had been terminated from his/her job
due to felony forgery convictions, but falsely indicated
that it was due to a crime-related injury.
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Claim Closure Due to Fraud

Relocation

Scenario 1

Victim awarded relocation but claimed she never
received the check.

CVC processed a stop payment and issued a 2"d check.

Comptroller’s records revealed both checks had been
cashed.

Victim was charged with theft.

Scenario 2

Victim submitted a falsified lease.

CVC called apartment complex and was advised victim
was not approved.

Victim was charged with tampering with a governmental
record.



CVC Claims Management System

» Claims Management System (CMS) is also referred to as
Remote Users Access.

» CMS is atool applicable users can access to view basic CVC
claim information via the Internet.

» There are three levels of security access to CMS:
 Service Providers
« Law Enforcement
* Non-Profit Victim Advocates



CVC Claims Management System

All CMS users are able to view general case information.

Service provider accounts allow the user to view only those
claims for which they have provided services based on
their tax ID.

Law enforcement and advocate accounts allow the user to
view general billing information and case notes.



OAG website for Crime Victim’s Compensation
* www.0ag.state.tx.us/victims/index.shtml

What is available on the CVC website?
 General program information

« Basic qualification requirements
 Reimbursable expenses

 How to apply

 Forms and applications

« Appealing a denial

« Remote User / Claims Management System
« Information for service providers

« Publications and materials order

e Training



(1 of 3)

Sexual Assault Exam Reimbursement Program
» Reimburse law enforcement for the reasonable costs of a
sexual assault examination of a victim
» Full details and application at OAG website
» A separate claims process from victim CVC claim

» Contact persons: Juanita Sepeda (512) 936 - 1246 or
Roxanne Ramon (512) 936 - 1920



(2 of 3)

Address Confidentiality Program

» Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Articles 56.81-56.93

» ACP assists victims of family violence, sexual assault and
stalking, aiding in effort to keep victim’s address confidential.

» Works in conjunction with victim’s existing safety plan



Other Programs Available

Address Confidentiality Program

For more information contact:

Office of the Attorney General

Address Confidentiality Program (ACP)
P.O. Box 12199 MC Program

Austin, Texas 478711-2199
crimevictims @texasattorneygeneral.gov
(512) 936-1750

(888) 832-2322




For More Information

Office of the Attorney General
Crime Victim Services Division

CVC Program
P.O. Box 12198
Austin, TX 78711-2198
www. TexasAttorneyGeneral.gov

(512) 936-1200 or (800) 983-9933 Main Number
(512) 320-8270 General Fax Number

National Association of Crime Victim Compensation Board website has links to
each state’s CVC program

WWW.nacvch.orq




CERTIFICATE of PARTICIPATION

The Office of the Attorney General presents this certificate to:

(Print your name)

with sincere appreciation for your on-line training
on this day of 20
of the

CVC General Overview

Maill a copy of your certificate to :

Crime Victim Services Division

Attention: Training & Outreach Coordinator
P O Box 12198

Austiin, Texas 78711-2198

(Signature of participant )



