ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAs
GREG ABBOTT

January 4, 2010

Ms. Teresa L. Presley
Records Manager
Frisco Police Department
7200 Stonebrook Parkway
Frisco, Texas 75034

OR2010-00011

Dear Ms. Presley:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 ofthe Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 365982.

The Frisco Police Department (the “department”) received a request for a specified incident
report. You claim that the submitted information is excepted from disclosure under
section 552.101 of the Government Code. We have considered the exception you claim and
reviewed the submitted information.

+ Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.” Gov’t
Code § 552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses section 261.201 of the Family Code, which
provides as follows:

(a) [T]he following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under [the Act] and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent - -
with this code and applicable federal or state law or under rules adopted by

an investigating agency:

(1) areport of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under this
chapter and the identity of the person making the report; and
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(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
used or developed in an investigation under this chapter or in
providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal

- representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

() Before a child or a parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of a child may inspect or copy a record or file concerning the
child under Subsection (k), the custodian of the record or file must redact:

(1) any personally identifiable information about a victim or witness
under 18 years of age unless that victim or witness is:

(A) the child who is the subject of the report;
or :

(B) another child of the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative requesting the
information;

(2) any information that is excepted from required disclosure under
[the Act], or other law; and

(3) the identity of the person who made the report.

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k), (1). You state the submitted information was used or developed
in an investigation of alleged or suspected child abuse. See id.,§ 261.001(1) (defining
“abuse” for purposes of Fam. Code ch. 261); see also id. § 101.003(a) (defining “child” for
purposes of this section as person under 18 years of age who is not and has not been married
or who has not had the disabilities of minority removed for general purposes). Upon review,
we find the submitted information is generally confidential under section 261.201 of the
Family Code. However, the requestor is the parent of one of the child victims listed in the
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submitted information and is not alleged to have commitjéd the suspected abuse. In this
instance, the department may not use section 261.201(a) to’withhold the information at issue
from this requestor. Id. § 261.201(k). Wenote, however,section 261.201(1)(1) provides that
before a parent can copy and inspect a record of a chijd under 261.201(k), any personally
identifiable information about a victim or witness upider 18 years of age who is not the
parent’s child must be redacted. Id. § 261.201(1)(1). Accordingly, the department must
withhold the personally identifiable informatio the victim under 18 years of age who
is not the parent requestor’s child, which we have marked, under section 261.201(1)(1) of the
Family Code. Further, section 261.201(1)(2) states that any information that is excepted from
required disclosure under the Act or other law may still be withheld from disclosure. /d.
§ 261.201(1)(2). We note that a portion of the remaining information is subject to
section 552.130 of the Government Code.! Accordingly, we will address this exception.

Section 552.130 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure information that relates
to a motor vehicle operator’s or driver’s license or permit or a motor vehicle title or
registration issued by an agency of this state. See Gov’t Code § 552.130(a)(1), (2). Thus,
the department must withhold the Texas motor vehicle record information we have marked
pursuant to section 552.130.2

In summary, pursuant to section 261.201(1)(1) of the Family Code, the department must
withhold the marked personally identifiable information of the victim under 18 years of age
who is not the parent requestor’s child. The department must withhold the marked Texas
motor vehicle record information under section 552.130 of the Government Code. The
remaining information must be released.

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

'"The Office of the Attorney General will raise a mandatory exception on behalf of a governmental
body, but ordinarily will not raise other exceptions. See Open Records Decision Nos. 481 (1987), 480
(1987), 470 (1987).

*We note this office recently issued Open Records Decision No. 684 (2009), a previous determination
to all governmental bodies authorizing them to withhold ten categories of information, including a Texas license
plate number under section 552.130 of the Government Code, without the necessity of requesting an attorney
general decision. '

*We note the remaining information being released contains confidential information regarding the
alleged child victim to which the requestor has a right of access as the child’s parent. See Fam. Code
§ 261.201(k). If the department receives another request for this particular information from a different
requestor, then the department should again seek a decision from this office.
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This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and
responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag. state.tx.us/open/index_orl.php,
or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government Hotline, toll free,
at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public
information under the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of
the Attorney General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,

O Qbuntss
Christina Alvarado
Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
CAMl
Ref: ID# 365982

Enc. Submitted documents

cc: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)




