GREG ABBOTT

September 19, 2011

Ms. Teresa J. Brown

Senior Open Records Assistant
Plano Police Department

P.O. Box 860358

Plano, Texas 75086-0358

OR2011-13501

Dear Ms. Brown:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 430329 (ORR# XXXX071111).

The Plano Police Department (the “department”) received a request for information relating
to a specified investigation. You claim the submitted information is excepted from
disclosure under section 552.101 of the Government Code. We have considered the
exception you claim and reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.” Gov’t
Code §552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses information protected by other statutes, such
as section 261.201 of the Family Code, which provides as follows:

(a) [T]he following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under [the Act], and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent
with [the Family Code] and applicable federal or state law or under rules
adopted by an investigating agency:

(1) areport of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under this
chapter and the identity of the person making the report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
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used or developed in an investigation under this chapter or in
providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information under
this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

() Before a child or a parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of a child may inspect or copy a record or file concerning the
child under Subsection (k), the custodian of the record or file must redact:

(1) any personally identifiable information about a victim or witness
under 18 years of age unless that victim or witness is:

(A) the child who is the subject of the report; or

(B) another child of the parent, managing conservator, or
other legal representative requesting the information; [and]

(3) the identity of the person who made the report.

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k), (1)(1), (3). Upon review, we agree the submitted information
was used or developed in an investigation of alleged or suspected child abuse conducted by
the department. See id. §§ 261.001 (defining “abuse” for purposes of chapter 261 of the
Family Code); see also id. 101.003(a) (defining “child” for purposes of this section as person
under 18 years of age who is not and has not been married or who has not had the disabilities
of minority removed for general purposes). Accordingly, we find the submitted information
is subject to chapter 261 of the Family Code. We note, however, the requestor is the parent
of the child victim listed in the report and is not suspected of the alleged abuse. Therefore,
the department may not withhold the information at issue from this requestor on the basis of
section 261.201(a). See id. § 261.201(k). However, section 261.201(1)(1) states any
personally identifiable information about a victim or witness who is under 18 years of age
and 1s not a child of the parent shall be withheld from disclosure. /d. § 261.201(1)(1).
Furthermore, section 261.201(1)(3) states the identity of the reporting party must be withheld.
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Id. §261.201(1)(3). Accordingly, the department must withhold the personally identifiable
information about a victim who is under 18 years of age and is not the requestor’s child,
which we have marked, under section 552.101 of the Government Code in conjunction with
section 261.201(1)(1) of the Family Code. The department must also withhold the identity
of the reporting party, which we have marked, under section 552.101 of the Government
Code in conjunction with section 261.201(1)(3) of the Family Code. The department must
release the remaining information to this requestor.'

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and
responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag.state.tx.us/open/index_orl.php,
or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government Hotline, toll free,
at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public
information under the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of
the Attorney General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,

Mack T. Harrison
Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
MTH/em

Ref: ID# 430329

Enc. Submitted documents

c: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)

"We note the information being released in this instance includes information that is confidential with
respect to the general public. See Fam. Code § 261.201. Therefore, if the department receives another request
for this information from a different requestor, the department must again seek a ruling from this office.



