
October 31,2011 

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS 

GREG ABBOTT 

Ms. Jo Spurger 
Administrative Assistant 
Somervell County Sheriff s Department 
750 East Gibbs Boulevard 
Glen Rose, Texas 76043 

Dear Ms. Spurger: 

OR2011-15944 

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the 
Public Information Act (the "Act"), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was 
assigned ID# 434777. 

The Somervell County Sheriff s Department (the "sheriff') received a request for a specified 
arrest report. You indicate you have released some of the requested information. You claim 
that some of the submitted information is excepted from disclosure under section 552.101 
of the Government Code. We have considered the exception you claim and reviewed the 
submitted information. 

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure "information considered 
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision." Gov't 
Code § 552.101. This section encompasses information protected by other statutes, such as 
section 261.201 of the Family Code, which provides, in relevant part: 

(a) [T]he following information is confidential, is not subject to public 
release under [the Act], and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent 
with this code and applicable federal or state law or under rules adopted by 
an investigating agency: 

(1) a report of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made 
under this chapter and the identity of the person making the 
report; and 
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(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, 
reports, records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and 
working papers used or developed in an investigation under 
this chapter or in providing services as a result of an 
investigation. 

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the 
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth 
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator, 
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse 
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information 
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential 
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information 
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal 
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have 
committed the abuse or neglect. 

(I) Before a child or a parent, managing conservator, or other legal 
representative of a child may inspect or copy a record or file concerning the 
child under Subsection (k), the custodian of the record or file must redact: 

(1) any personally identifiable information about a victim or 
witness under 18 years of age unless that victim or witness is: 

(A) the child who is the subject of the report; 
or 

(B) another child of the parent, managing 
conservator, or other legal representative 
requesting the information; 

(2) any information that is excepted from required disclosure 
under [the Act], or other law; and 

(3) the identity of the person who made the report. 

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k)-(l). The requested information pertains to an investigation of 
alleged or suspected child abuse under chapter 261. See id. § 261.001(1)(E) (definition of 
"abuse" for purposes of chapter 261 of the Family Code includes indecency with child under 
Penal Code section 21.11); see also Penal Code § 21.11 (defining "child" for purposes of 
section 21.11 as a minor younger than 17 years of age). Accordingly, we find the submitted 
information is within the scope of section 261.201 of the Family Code. 
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Pursuant to section 261.201 (k), an investigating entity generally may not withhold records 
subj ect to section 261.201 from a parent who is not suspected of committing the abuse. See 
Fam. Code § 261.201 (k). Although the requestor is the parent of the child victim and is not 
alleged to have committed the abuse, the child victim listed in the report may now be at least 
eighteen years old. As such, the requestor may no longer have access to his adult child's 
records under section 261.201(k). See id. Thus, we rule conditionally. In the event the child 
victim listed in the submitted report is now at least eighteen years old, the submitted report 
must be withheld in its entirety under section 552.101 of the Government Code in 
conjunction with section 261.201 of the Family Code. In the event the child victim listed in 
the report is under eighteen years old, the sheriff may not use section 261.201 (a) to withhold 
the submitted information from this requestor. Id. Section 261.201(1)(3), however, states 
the identity of the reporting party must be withheld. Id. § 261.201(1)(3). Thus, the sheriff 
must withhold the reporting party's identity, which we have marked, under section 552.101 
of the Government Code in conjunction with section 261.201(1)(3) of the Family Code. In 
addition, section 261.201(1)(2) states that any information that is excepted from required 
disclosure under the Act or other law may still be withheld from disclosure. Id. 
§ 261.201 (1)(2). Thus, we will address your argument for the remaining information. 

Section 552.101 of the Government Code also encompasses article 57.02 of the Code of 
Criminal Procedure.! Article 57.02(h) provides: 

(h) Except as required or permitted by other law or by court order, a public 
servant or other person who has access to or obtains the name, address, 
telephone number, or other identifying information of a [sexual offense] 
victim younger than 17 years of age may not release or disclose the 
identifying information to any person who is not assisting in the 
investigation, prosecution, or defense ofthe case. This subsection does not 
apply to the release or disclosure of a victim's identifying information by: 

(1) the victim; or 

(2) the victim's parent, conservator, or guardian, unless the parent, 
conservator, or guardian is a defendant in the case. 

Crim. Proc. Code art. 57.02(h). We note article 57.02 was intended to protect the privacy 
interests of sexual assault victims. See SENATE CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMM., BILL ANAL YSIS, 
Tex. S.B. 1392, 70th Leg., R.S. (1987). Therefore, we conclude, ifthe requestor has a right 
of access to the report as a parent of the child victim under section 261.201 of the Family 
Code as discussed above, the requestor also has a special right of access to the victim's 
identifying information pursuant to section 552.023 of the Government Code. See Gov't 
Code § 552.023(b) (governmental body may not deny access to person or person's 

lAlthough you cite to article 57.01 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, we note this article provides 
the definitions for chapter 57. We understand you to raise article 57 .02(h) of the Code of Criminal Procedure. 
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representative to whom information relates on grounds information is considered confidential 
under privacy principles). As such, the sheriff may not withhold any of the remaining 
information under section 552.101 of the Government Code in conjunction with 
article 57.02(h) of the Code of Criminal Procedure. 

In summary, in the event the child victim listed in the submitted report is now at least 
eighteen years old, the submitted report must be withheld in its entirety under 
section 552.101 of the Government Code in conjunction with section 261.201 of the Family 
Code. In the event the child victim listed in the report is under eighteen years old, the sheriff 
must release the report to this requestor. In releasing the report, however, the sheriff must 
withhold the information we have marked under section 552.101 of the Government Code 
in conjunction with section 261.201(1)(3) of the Family Code. 

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited 
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous 
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances. 

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the 
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and 
responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag.state.tx.us/openlindex orl.php, 
or call the Office of the Attorney General's Open Government Hotline, toll free, 
at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public 
information under the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of 
the Attorney General, toll free at (888) 672-6787. 

a.~~~iJJ-
Lindsay E. Hale U 
Assistant Attorney General 
Open Records Division 

LEH/ag 

Ref: ID# 434777 

Enc. Submitted documents 

c: Requestor 
(w/o enclosures) 


