ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS

GREG ABBOTT

December 30, 2011

Ms. Doris Preusse

Records Clerk

Pflugerville Police Department
P.O. Box 679

Pflugerville, Texas 78691

OR2011-19212
Dear Ms. Preusse:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 441219.

The Pflugerville Police Department (the “department”) received a request for a specified
report.  You claim the requested information is excepted from disclosure under
section 552.101 of the Government Code. We have considered the exception you claim and
reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.” Gov’t
Code § 552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses information protected by other statutes, such
as section 261.201 of the Family Code. Section 261.201 provides in part as follows:

(a) Except as provided by Section 261.203, the following information is
confidential, is not subject to public release under [the Act] and may be
disclosed only for purposes consistent with this code and applicable federal
or state law or under rules adopted by an investigating agency:
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(1) a report of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made
under this chapter and the identity of the person making the
report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files,
reports, records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and
working papers used or developed in an investigation under
this chapter or in providing services as a result of an
investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

(1) Before a child or a parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of a child may inspect or copy a record or file concerning the
child under Subsection (k), the custodian of the record or file must redact:

(2) any information that is excepted from required disclosure
under [the Act], or other law][.]

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k), (1)(2). You state the submitted report was used or developed
in an investigation of alleged or suspected child abuse or neglect. See id. § 261.001 (defining
“abuse” for purposes of chapter 261 of the Family Code); see also Penal Code
§ 22.011 (c)(1) (defining “child” for purposes of Penal Code section 22.011 as person
under 17 years of age). Based on your representations and our review, we find the submitted
report is generally confidential under section 261.201 of the Family Code. We note,
however, the requestor is the parent of the child victim listed in the report, and the parent is
not alleged to have committed the suspected abuse or neglect. In this instance, the
department may not use section 261.201(a) to withhold this report from this requestor. /d.
§261.201(k). However, section 261.201(1)(2) states any information excepted from required
disclosure under the Act or other law may still be withheld from disclosure. 7d.
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§ 261.201(1)(2). Thus, we will address your argument under section 552.101 of the
Government Code in conjunction with 58.007 of the Family Code.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code also encompasses section 58.007 of the Family
Code. Juvenile law enforcement records relating to conduct that occurred on or after
September 1, 1997 are confidential under section 58.007. For purposes of section 58.007(c),
“child” means a person who is ten years of age or older and under seventeen years of age.
See id. § 51.02(2). Section 58.007 provides in relevant part:

(c) Except as provided by Subsection (d), law enforcement records and files
concerning a child and information stored, by electronic means or otherwise,
concerning the child from which a record or file could be generated may not
be disclosed to the public and shall be:

(1) if maintained on paper or microfilm, kept separate from
adult files and records;

(2) if maintained electronically in the same computer system
as records or files relating to adults, be accessible under
controls that are separate and distinct from controls to access
electronic data concerning adults; and

(3) maintained on a local basis only and not sent to a central
state or federal depository, except as provided by
Subchapters B, D, and E.

Id. § 58.007(c). Upon review, we agree the submitted report involves juvenile delinquent
conduct occurring after September 1, 1997, therefore, the submitted report is subject to
section 58.007(c). See id. § 51.03 (defining “delinquent conduct”). It does not appear any
of the exceptions in section 58.007 apply to the submitted information. Accordingly, the
department must withhold the submitted report in its entirety under section 552.101 of the
Government Code in conjunction with section 58.007(c) of the Family Code.

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and
responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag.state.tx.us/open/index_orl.php
or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government Hotline, toll free,
at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public




Ms. Doris Preusse - Page 4

information under the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of
the Attorney General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.
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