GREG ABBOTT

February 23, 2012

Ms. M. Ann Montgomery-Moran
Assistant Ellis County & District Attorney
Ellis County & District Attorney’s Office
109 South Jackson

Waxahachie, Texas 75165

OR2012-02805
Dear Ms. Montgomery-Moran:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 446200.

The Ellis County Sherift’s Office (the “sheriff™) received a request for a specified report
involving two named individuals. You claim the submitted information is excepted from
disclosure under sections 552.101, 552.108, 552.130, and 552.147 of the Government Code.
We have considered the exceptions you claim and reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.” Gov’t
Code § 552.101. This section encompasses information protected by other statutes.
Section 261.201 of the Family Code provides, in relevant part, as follows:

(a) [T]he following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under Chapter 552, Government Code, and may be disclosed only for
purposes consistent with this code and applicable federal or state law or under
rules adopted by an investigating agency:
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(1) areport of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under this
chapter and the identity of the person making the report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
used or developed in an investigation under this chapter or in
providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

(1) Before a child or a parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of a child may inspect or copy a record or file
concerning the child under Subsection (k), the custodian of the record
or file must redact:

(2) any information that is excepted from required disclosure under
[the Act], or other law[.]

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k), (I). The submitted information was used or developed in an
investigation of alleged or suspected child abuse conducted by the sheriff. See id.
§ 261.001(1)(E) (definition of child abuse includes indecency with a child under Penal Code
section 21.11); see also Penal Code § 21.11(a) (defining “child” for purposes of Penal Code
section 21.11 as a person under 17 years of age). Accordingly, we find this information is
subject to chapter 261 of the Family Code. We note the requestor is a parent of the child
victim listed in the information, and is not alleged to have committed the abuse. Thus,
pursuant to section 261.201(k), the information at issue may not be withheld from this
requestor on the basis of section 261.201(a). See id. § 261.201(k). However,
section 261.201(1)(2) states any information that is excepted from required disclosure under
the Act or other:law may still be withheld from disclosure. /d. § 261.201(1)(2). Accordingly,
we will considér your arguments against disclosure of this information.
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Section 552.101 of the Government Code also encompasses section 58.007 of the Family
Code. Section 58.007 makes confidential juvenile law enforcement records relating to
conduct that occurred on or after September 1, 1997. The relevant language of
section 58.007(c) reads as follows:

(c) Except as provided by Subsection (d), law enforcement records and files
concerning a child and information stored, by electronic means or otherwise,
concerning the child from which a record or file could be generated may not
be disclosed to the public and shall be:

(1) if maintained on paper or microfilm, kept separate from adult files
and records;

(2) if maintained electronically in the same computer system as
records or files relating to adults, be accessible under controls that are
separate and distinct from controls to access electronic data
concerning adults; and

( 3) maintained on a local basis only and not sent to a central state or
federal depository, except as provided by Subchapters B, D, and E.

Fam.Code § 58.007(c). For purposes of section 58.007(c), “child” means a person who is
ten years of age or older and under seventeen years of age. See id. § 51.02(2). The submitted
information involves juvenile delinquent conduct that occurred after September 1, 1997. See
id § 51.03 (defining “delinquent conduct” for purposes of Fam. Code § 58.007). Therefore,
this information is subject to section 58.007(c). It does not appear any of the exceptions in
section 58.007 apply to the information at issue. Therefore, the department must withhold
the submitted ihformation under section 552.101 of the Government Code in conjunction
with section 58.007(c) of the Family Code.'

This letter mlir}g is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and
responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag.state.tx.us/open/index_orl.php,
or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government Hotline, toll free,
at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public

"As our ruling is dispositive, we need not address your remaining arguments against disclosure of the
submitted information.
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information un@er the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of
the Attorney General, toll free at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,
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Claire V. Morris Sloan
Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
CVMS/agn
Ref:  ID# 446200

Enc. Submitted documents

c: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)



