ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS
GREG ABBOTT

November 28, 2012

Ms. Mandy White-Rogers
Assistant County Attorney
Orange County

Orange County Courthouse
801 Division

Orange, Texas 77630

OR2012-19085
Dear Ms. White-Rogers:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 473101.

The Orange County Sheriff’s Office (the “sheriff’s office”) received arequest for an incident
report involving a named individual. You claim that the submitted information 1s excepted
from disclosure under section 552.101 of the Government Code. We have considered the
exception you claim and reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.” Gov’t
Code § 552.101. This section encompasses information protected by other statutes, such as
section 261.201 of the Family Code, which provides, in relevant part:

(a) [T]he following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under [the Act], and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent
with this code and applicable federal or state law or under rules adopted by
an investigating agency:
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(1) a report of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under
[chapter 261 of the Family Code] and the identity of the person
making the report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
used or developed 1n an investigation under [chapter 261 of the
Family Code] or in providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k). The submitted information pertains to an investigation of
alleged or suspected child abuse and is within the scope of section 261.201 of the Family
Code. Seeid. § 261.001(1)(C) (definition of child abuse includes “physical injury that results
in substantial harm to the child, or the genuine threat of substantial harm from physical injury
to the child™); see also id. § 101.003(a) (defining “child” for purposes of this section as
person under 18 years of age who is not and has not been married or who has not had the
disabilities of minority removed for general purposes). Although the requestor is a parent
of the child victim named in the report, the requestor is one of the individuals alleged to have
committed the abuse. Thus, the requestor does not have a right of access to the submitted
information under section 261.201(k). See Fam. Code § 261.201(k). Accordingly, the
sheriff’s office must withhold the submitted information in its entirety under section 552.101
of the Government Code in conjunction with section 261.201 of the Family Code.

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and

responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag.state.tx.us/open/index_orl.php,
or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government Hotline, toll free,
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at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public
information under the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of
the Attorney General, toll free at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,
Britni Fabian

Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
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Ref: ID# 473101
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