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ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS

GREG ABBOTT

December 5, 2012

Mr. Habib H. Erkan, Jr.

Denton, Navarro, Rocha & Bemal, P.C.
2517 North Main Avenue

San Antonio, Texas 78212

OR2012-19589
Dear Mr. Erkan:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act’), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 472715.

The Live Oak Police Department (the “department’), which you represent, received a request
for information related to case number 1102-0884. You claim some of the submitted
information is excepted from disclosure under sections 552.101, 5§52.130, and 552.147 of the
Government Code. We have considered the exceptions you claim and reviewed the
submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.” Gov’t
Code § 552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses information protected by other statutes,
such as section 261.201 of the Family Code. Section 261.201 provides in relevant part:

(a) [T]he following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under [the Act] and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent
with this code and applicable federal or state law or under rules adopted by
an investigating agency:
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(1) a report of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made
under this chapter and the identity of the person making the

report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files,
reports, records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and
working papers used or developed in an investigation under
this chapter or in providing services as a result of an
investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

(1) Before a child or a parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of a child may inspect or copy a record or file concerning the
child under Subsection (k), the custodian of the record or file must redact:

(1) any personally identifiable information about a victim or witness
under 18 years of age unless that victim or witness is:

(A) the child who is the subject of the report; or

(B) another child of the parent, managing conservator, or
other legal representative requesting the information;

(2) any information that is excepted from required disclosure under
[the Act], or other law([.]

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k), (I)(1)-(2). Upon review, we find the submitted information
consists of files, reports, records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, or working papers
used or developed in an investigation under chapter 261 of the Family Code or in providing
services as aresult of an investigation. See id. §§ 261.001(1) (defining *“abuse” for purposes
of chapter 261 of Family Code), 101.003(a) (defining “child” as person under eighteen years
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of age who is not and has not been married and who has not had the disabilities of minority
removed for general purposes). Accordingly, we determine the submitted information is
confidential under section 261.201. Although the requestor is the mother of the child victim
named in the report, and the requestor is not alleged to have committed the suspected abuse,
the child victim is now at least eighteen-years-old. Thus, the requestor no longer has a right
of access to her adult child’s records under section 261.201(k). You have not indicated that
the department has adopted a rule that governs the release of this type of information. Thus,
we assume that no such regulation exists. Therefore, the department must withhold the
submitted information in its entirety under section 552.101 of the Government Code in
conjunction with section 261.201 of the Family Code."

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights and
responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.oag state.tx.us/open/index_orl.php,
or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government Hotline, toll free,
at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for providing public
information under the Act must be directed to the Cost Rules Administrator of the Office of
the Attorney General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,
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Cindy Nettles

Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
CN/dis

Ref: ID# 472715

Enc. Submitted documents

c: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)

'As we make this determination, we do not address your remaining claims.




