GREG ABBOTT

May 2, 2014

Ms. Ashley D. Fourt

Assistant District Attorney

Office of the Criminal District Attorney
Tarrant County

401 West Belknap, 9th Floor

Fort Worth, Texas 76196-0201

OR2014-07358

Dear Ms. Fourt:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 523351.

The Tarrant County Juvenile Services Department (the “department”) received a request for
information pertaining to a specified incident involving the requestor’s son. You claim the
submitted information is excepted from disclosure under section 552.101 of the Government
Code. We have considered the exception you claim and reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.”
Gov’t Code § 552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses section 261.201 of the Family Code,
which states:

(a) Except as provided by Section 261.203, the following information is
confidential, is not subject to public release under [the Act] and may be
disclosed only for purposes consistent with this code and applicable federal
or state law or under rules adopted by an investigating agency:

(1) areport of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under this

chapter and the identity of the person making the report; and
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(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
used or developed in an investigation under this chapter or in
providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k). You assert the submitted information was used or developed
in an investigation of alleged child abuse and is confidential under section 261.201 of the
Family Code. See id. § 261.001(1) (defining “abuse” for purposes of chapter 261 of the
Family Code); see also id. § 101.003(a) (defining “child” for purposes of this section as
person under 18 years of age who is not and has not been married or who has not had the
disabilities of minority removed for general purposes). We note the department is not an
agency authorized to conduct an investigation under chapter 261 of the Family Code.
See id. § 261.103 (listing agencies that may conduct child abuse investigations). However,
pursuant to section 261.405(b) of the Family Code, the department is required to report
alleged abuse or neglect in a juvenile justice program to the Texas Juvenile Justice
Department (the “TJJD”) and a local law enforcement agency for investigation.! See id.
§ 261.405(b), (c) (TJID shall conduct investigation if TJJD receives report of alleged abuse,
neglect, or exploitation in any juvenile justice facility). The submitted documents reflect the
department reported the alleged abuse to TJJD and provided the submitted information to the
TIID for use in TIJD’s investigation. Upon review, we conclude the submitted information
consists of reports, records, or working papers used or developed in an investigation made
under chapter 261 of the Family Code. Although the requestor is the parent of the child at
issue, section 261.201(k) is not applicable because the department is not the agency that
conducted the chapter 261 investigation. Therefore, the submitted information is
confidential pursuant to section 261.201 of the Family Code and must be withheld under
section 552.101 of the Government Code. See Open Records Decision No. 440 at 2 (1986)
(construing predecessor statute).

'Effective December 1, 2011, the Texas Juvenile Probation Commission became known as the Texas
Juvenile Justice Department. See Hum. Res. Code § 201.001(b).




Ms. Ashley D. Fourt - Page 3

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights
and responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/open/
orl ruling info.shtml, or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government
Hotline, toll free, at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for
providing public information under the Act may be directed to the Office of the Attorney
General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,

Jore by

Lana L. Freeman

Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
LLF/bhf

Ref: ID# 523351

Enc. Submitted documents

c: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)




