
OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS 

AUSTIN 

Hr. II. A. Hodges 
County Auditor I 
Williamson county .' 
Georgetown, Texzs 

Dear Sir: 
cpinion no. O-404 
Re: Sheriff's and 

misdemeanor examining trYa%?. 

Your request for opinion 

*Would the sheriff 

FrocedureV 

cr attaching witnesses in the county where case is 
pdnding. Prcvided nc sheriff cr constable shell receive 
from the State any additicnal mileage for any subsequent 
arrest of 3 defendant in the same case, or in any ether 
case in an exanining court or in any district ccurt 
bssed upon the same charge cr upon the same criminal 
act, or growing out cf the same criminal transaction, 
whether the arrest is made with or without 3 warrant, 
or before or after indictment, and in no event shall 
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he be allowea to duplicate his fees for mileage for 
making arrests, with or without warrant, or when two 
or more warrants 0r arrest or caplases are served or 
could have been served on the same aerendant on any 
one day." 

Article 1072 of the Code Or Criminal Procedure of Texas reads 
as r0ii0ws: 

"Sheriffs and constables serving process and 
attending any examining court in the examlnation or a 
misdemeanor case shall be entitled to such fees as are 
allowed by law for similar services in the trial of 
such cases, not to exceed three dollars in any one *ase, 
to be paid by the defendant in uase of final conviciion.w 

You will note that paragraph 2 of Article 1020 of the 
Code of Criminal Procedure provides a manner in which sheriffs and 
constables on the fee system may collect mileage In felony examin- 
ing trial cases from the State of Texas. You will also 'note that 
Article 1072 of the'COde Or Criminal Procedure prescribes the amount 
or $3.00 as the limit of fees which the sheriff and constable may 
receive in misdemeanor examining trial cases. It will be further 
noted that there is no provision whatever made in Article 1072 
of the Code of Criminal Procedure for the payment of any mileage 
to the sheriff and constable. It will be noted further that the 
fees charged in Article 1072, Code Or Criminal Procedure, are 
charged against the defendant and not against the State of Texas, 
as in Article 1020. 

YOU are, therefore, ~respectfully advised that it is 
the opinion of this Department that the sheriff or constable 
would not be allowed mileage in an examining trial in a misdemeanor 
~390 in eadition to the sum of $3.00 or an amount less than $3.00, 
as set out under Article 1072 of the Code or crImIna1 Procedure. 
It, is the opinion of this Department that the sheriff or constable 
cannot charge or collect more than $3.00 as his fees in a'n examining 
trial in a misdemeanor case. 

Very truly yours 

ATTORNEXCZNERAI. OF TEXAS 

BY (Signed) 
wm. J. Fanning 

Assistant 


