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THE ATTORNEY GENERAL 

OFTEXAS 

Honorable W. J. Townsend- 
County Attorney, Angellna County 
Lufkin, Texas 

Dear Sir: Opinion NO. 0-6620 
Re: Under the given facts can a 

minor be prosecuted In the 
justice of the peace court, 
under the prov.Isions of Ar- 
ticle 482, Penal Code? 

From you letter of recent date we take the follow- 
ing: 

"We have a case pending in one of the Justice 
Courts of this county, where a youngster, who al- 
leges he 1s only 13 years of age but who has the 
appearance of being much older, is charged with 
abusive language, and admits his guilt. He is 
not a habitual criminal and as far as we know, 
this Is his first offense. 

"Can this party be prosecuted in the Justlce 
Court for abusive language, under the provisions 
of Art. 482 of the Penal Code, where the fine is 
not more than one hundred dollars, if found guilty 
or must this case be referred the Juvenile Court 
for trial?" 

At its regular sessiou Fn 1943 the Forty-Eighth 
Legislature completely altered the law with reference to 
juvenile delinquents in this State. See General and Special 
Laws of Texas, 48th Leg., Reg. Sess., ch. 204, p. 313; Vernon's 
Annotated Civil Statutes, Art. 2338-l. Through this legis- 
lation, all articles of the Code of Criminal Procedure deal- 
Fng with the subject were specifically repealed; the purpose 
of the new Act was declared to be to change the method of harid- 
llng,delinquent children from criminal procedure to a guardian- 
ship, such children being recognized as wards of the state, 
"subject to the discipline and entitled to the protection of 
the state, which may Intervene to safeguard them from neglect 
or injury and to enforce the legal obligations due to them and 
from them." 
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Your immediate inquiry seems to be answered by Section 
12~of the above Act. 
Sec. 12). We quote: 

(Vernon's Ann. Clv. St., art. 2338-1, 

"If during the pendency of a criminal charge 
or indictmentagainst-any person in any other court 
than a juvenile court, it shall be ascertained that 
said person is a female over the age of ten (10) 
years and under the age of eighteen (18) years, or 
is a male person over the a e of ten (10) years and 
under the age of seventeen $17) years at the time 
of the trial for the alleged offense, it shall be 
the duty of such court to transfer such case immed- 
iately together with all papers, documents and testl- 
mony,~connected therewith to the Juvenile Court of 
said county. The court making such transfer shall 
order the child to be taken forthwith to the place 
of detention designated by the Juvenile Court, or to 
that court itself, or to release such child to the 
custody of a probation officer or any suitable per- 
son to appear before the Juvenile Court, or the 
probatlon department of said county at a time 
designated. The Juvenile Court shall thereupon 
proceed to set said case for hearing and to dis- 
pose of such case in the'same manner as if It hasp 
been instituted in that court In the first instance." 

If the "youngster" of whom you write is judicially . 
determined to be thirteen (13) years of age, as clalmed by him, 
the Justice of the Peace has no choice but to comply with-.the 
above section of the Juvenile Act. Irrespective of the fact 
that he may~'have been misinforming the court as to his age, 
if he is really under the age of seventeen (17) years, the 
Justice of the Peace has no discretion in the matter. Whether 
the erring youth is or is not under the age of seventeen (17) 
years is a question to be judicially determined. Under the 
statement you submit, inasmuch as the individual mentioned 
is clalmlng to be only thirteen (13) years of age, It would 
be the duty of the officers tom carry out the spirit of the 
Act and to give effect to the announced intentlon of the Legs- 
islature through a careful and thorough Investigation to de- 
termine the true age of the alleged miscreant, Note the pro- 
vision in Section 11 of said Act that "no child shall be 
taken before a Police Court or a Justice of Peace Court," 

Sectton 3 of said Chapter 204 defines the term "delln- 
quent child" as~one coming within the age limits (10 to 17 
years for males, 10 to 18 gears for females), who among other 
things "babitwviolates any penal law of this state of the 
grade of mlsdemaanor where the punishment prescribed for such 
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offense is by pecuniary fine only." AS your letter states that 
as far as you know the charge arising under Article 482 of the 
Penal Code is the first to be preferred against the individual 
you mention, and as a single act cannot be considered "habi- 
tual", the effect of said Juvenile Act is to relieve those 
within the age group from accountabLlitg under the law. See 
Hilton v. State, 41 Text Cr. R. 190, 53 S.W. 113; Cord111 v. 
State, 83 Tex. Cr. R. 74, 201 S.W. 181; Branch's Penal Code, 
p. 599, for discussions on the meaning of the word "habitual." 

You are therefore advised that It is our opinion that 
yours Is a fact question, to be determined from all available 
evidence as to the actual age of the individual you mention. 
If such person Is a child over the age of ten (10) years and 
under the age of seventeen (17) years, the Justice Court is 
without jurisdiction to try and fine him. We are further of 
the opinion that one within such age group who commits a single 
act which would be a misdemeanor punishable by pecuniary fine 
only if done by an adult, is subject to no proceedings whatever 
at the instance of the State of Texas, 

Yours very truly 

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS 

By s/Benjamin Woodall 
Benjamin Woodall 

Assistant 
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APPROVED JUL 2, 1945 
s/Grover Sellers 
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS 

Approved Opinion Committee By s/BWB Chairman 


