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JOEN BEN eEIEppERD A~mrm 11. -razzus . . 
*-an- Q- 

January li, 1956 

Honorable W. F. Baber, President 
Texas State Board of Examiners 
in Optometry 
Austin, Texas Letter Opinion No. MS-252 

Re: Authority of the Board of 
Examiners in Optometry to 

Dear &. Baber: 
limit number of examlna- 
tiona after failures. 

You have requested an opinion on the authority. 
of the State Board of Examiners in Optometry to Unit the 
number of examinations that will be permitted applicants. 
Your specific question concerns the validity of the fol- 
lowing rule adopted ,by the Board: ‘, 

“The fee for taking the .exaalnatfon Is 
$35.00.< Any appli&nt who is refused a li- 
tense because of failure to pass the first 
examination shall be .permltt ed to take a 
second examination upon the payment of $12.50, 
provided, the second examination Is taken 
within a pariod of one year. No applicaht who 
has failed’ to pass both the first examination 
and the second examination as provided for In 
Article 4565 of the Revised Civil Statutes of 
Texas shall be permitted to aga$n take an ex- 
amination of the Board. udil he shall furnish 
to the Secretary of the Board satisfactory 
sworn evidence that he has satisfactorily com- 
pleted a course of InstructIon equivalent to 
.one full term of nst less than four months 
duration at a College of Optometry approved 
and accredited by the Board since having failed 
the Board’s second examination; provided,‘that 
upon making application to take a thL,rd exami- 
nation after having completed the ,additlonal 
course of Instruction as provided for herein 
the applicant shall f.lle, with the Seoretary of 
the Board a new applicatlan,, eon forins to be 
furnished by the. Board and pay a fee of Thirty- 

“five Dollars ($35) a’s &I his first examinationj 



. 
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and provided further, that no person shall 
again be p8rtitted to take an examination 
of this Board’after having failed to pass a 
third examination. No application fee for 
examination will b8 returned to any appli- 
cant’after his application has been approved 
by the Board because of the decision of the 
applicant no< to stand the examination or his 
E;t;ye for any reason to take the examina- 

“A rule of an administrative agency is void if 
it oonfllcts with the statute; re~ar~~e~a 
Ltng such Tu18 may’ be.:” Teach r 

o$ hr long stand- 
ti m nt va em v. Due 

;;;;2A82C$u~;iW.2d 632 (T8x.Clv.A~ 1953) adopted by the+’ 
, 264 S.W.2d 98 (19&j. 

The,pertinent provisions of Article 4565, Vernon’s 
ClviIStatutes,, :are: .,- j 

“The -Board shall charge a fee of Thirty- 
five Dollars ($35) fork examining an applicant 
for license, which fee must accompany the ap- 
plication. If the applicant who, because 0r 

The fee for issuing a license shall be Twenty- 
five Dollars ($25) to be paid to the Secretary 
of the Board.~.. If ‘anyone successfully passing 
the.examlnation and meeting the requirements, of 
the Board has not paid the fee for issuance of 
a license within ninety (90) days after having 
been notified ~by registered mail at the address 
given on his examination papers or at the time 
of the examination that he is eligible for 
same, such person shall by his own act have 
waived.his. right tq..obtaln his license 

i 
and the 

Board ‘may at its~- discretion refuse to ssue +uch 
license until such person has taken and suc,cess- 
fully passed another examination.” 

‘In addition to the statutory requirements the rule 
involved attempts to (1) permit an applicant to ‘take Only 
three examinations, and (2) require additional education for 1 
those applicants who fail two examinations. 
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The statute requires that a fee of $35.00 shall 
be charged for examining an applicant for a license. The 
statute does not say this fee is .for a "first examination", 
or "the examination", nor inany manner imply that this 
fee is limited to one examination. It merely states that, 
"The Board shall charge a fee . . . for examining an appli- 
cant. . . .I' PrSor to its 'amendment in 1951 the statute 
further p.rovided that should an applicant fail to pass an 
examination, ,he would be ~permitted to take a second examl- 
nation "without additional'cost" provided he did so within 
a one-year period. We are of the opinion that the Legisla- 
ture did not intend this provision to limit the total num- 
ber of examinations that an applicant might take, but merely 
gave an applicant a grace ~perlod of one year In which he 
could tak8 a second examination without coat. In 1951 the 
Legislature amended the Act and provided that an applicant 
could take a 38COnd examination within a one-year period 
for a fee of qb12.50. We believe that the statute, as amended, 
is to be construed in the same m3nxier as before, and that the 
provision for a Second examination within the one-year period 
at a cost of $12.50 IS not a limitation upon the number of 
examinations thatmar be taken by an applicant, but Is merely 
a provision allowing applicants to take a 3eCOnd examination 
within a on.8,year period. at a "cut-rate" oost. 

,.The statute makes no affirmative limitation on the 
number of,examinations that may be taken by an applicant. 
Attorney'General's Opinion V-190 (1947) held that the Board 
bf~,Medical"Examinera did not have the authority to limit the 

,number of examinations that an applicantmay be permitted to 
take after numerous failures. We are of the opinion that 
Where the 3tatut.e Is silent as to any limitation on the num- 
ber of examinations'that may be given an applicant, the rule 
as announced In Opinion V-19 is correct, and that the Board 
does not have the authority to limit the number of exainina- 
ti6ns that an applicant may be permitted to take. It was 
poin;8;fo;tcF Opinion V-19G that the court in Medc 
Deut i rises 221 Pac. 613 (Wash. Sup. 1923 *hat 
where a ~atatute pi!ovicled for two examinations the'applicant 
was not entitled to subsequent examination after failing two. 
In that case, however, the court pointed out that the rule 
announced applied only to applicants coming within the Grand- 
father Clause of the Act, stating: 

'1. . . If it had been the intention of the 
Legislature to allow such a person to make a sec- 
ond application after two failures in examinations 
upon his application filed within six months, it 
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bbula~arid ddubtliess wo;uXd have said SO.” On 
the contrary the Legislature provided what 
it con$id*red suffi@ient opportunity for 
,those who had been practicing without a li- 
sense to qualify or show that they should be 
?egul&rly licensed to practice 
l.ators,: ‘f+ling in th@t are with?%,thzyr” 
further right In the matter 

,, entSt$ed to file an:&ppl+ca G 
and are not again 

ion and take an 
.’ examination unless and until they become gradu- 

,a$es of..some reputable dental college. . . l n _.~‘.’ 
‘~ ‘,.’ Under the direct ‘authority of the statute the 

Board: is .re@red to charge a fae of $35.00. for examining 
an applicant, unless the examlnatlon is the seoond one 
given wlthln a one-year period for which the applicant is 
required to pay only $12~.50. shus, a fee of $35.00 must 

.-be. paid for each ‘examination except that the fee is $12.50 
for a second examlnatlon within one year after an examina- 
tlpn taken upon payment of the $35.00 fee. 

.The Legislature has prescribed the minimum educa- 
tional requirements 0r all applicants for examination. Ar- 
ticle 4557 

i 
VX.S. 

the rule 
In addition to these minimum requirements, 

o the Board requires an appllcant’who falls two 
examlnatlons to complete an additional course of instruction 
at a college 0r optometry. Insofar as these appJ.lcants are 
conce’m’ed, this rule constitutes a change In the’mlnimum edu- 
cational requirements prescribed by the Legislature, and is 
without lawful authority and therefore void., We are not quea- 
tlonlng the wisdom of Imposing additional e~tacational require-. 
ments on applicants who have failed to pass the examination. 
In fact, we are in accord with the desire of the Boar.d to 
raise t,he standards and qualifications of the optometry pro- 
fession, but this office can only interpret the law as It la 

: written. ,The ‘statute as now written does not impose a re- 
quirement a&to additional education, nor does it give your 

._ Board ;the authority, to impose such a requirement by adminis- 
trative tile. Any correction of the situation or addition to 
the educational requirements must come from the Legislature 
through amendment of the law. 

In view of the foregoing you are advised that the 
order of. the Board of Examiners in Optometry is vo.id Insofar 
as it attempts to Urnit the number of examinations or raise 
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the minimum educational requirements 
Legiilature being inconsistent with 
.Articles 4597 and 4565, V.C.S. 

PpPROvED: 

J.. m8d Jones 
State Affairs Division 

Albert M. MO&w 
Reviewer 

Milton Richardson 
Reviewer 

MarJr.K. Wall 
Special Re+wer 

Davi's'Grant 
First Assistant 

John Ben'shepperd" 
Attorney General .' 
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prescribed by the- 
the provlslons 'of 

Xours very truly, _. 
JOHN BENSHEPPERD 
Atttinney General 
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