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December 18, 1963

Honorable Edna Clsneros Oplnlon No. C- 195

County Attorney

Willacy County Re: Questions regarding

Raymondville, Texas the asseasment and
collection of fees

Dear Miss Cisneros: in felony cases.

You have requested the opinion of thls office as
to certain questions regarding the assessment and collec-
tion of fees by prosecutling attorneys and dilstrict clerks
in felony cases. Willacy County has a population of 20,081,
and cast over 3,000 votes at the precedlng presidential
electlion.

"1. What fee is allowed the prosecuting
attorney in a non-reducible felony
case other than a felonlous homiclde
and 1s it to be taxed as court costs
even though the State of Texas does
not pay such fee to said attorney?"

Several statutes are pertinent to this and succeeding
questions, and will be quoted 1n part:

Article 1018, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure:

"When the defendant 1s convicted, the
costs and fees pald by the State under this
title shall be a charge agalnst him, except
when sentenced to death or to imprisonment
for 1life, and when collected shall be pald
into the State Treasury."

Article 1019, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure:

"If the defendant 1s indlcted for a
felony and upon convietion his punishment
is by filne or confinement 1n the county
jall, or by both such fine and confinement
in the county Jall, or convieted of a mis-
demeanor, no costs shall be paid by the
State to any offlcer. All costs 1in such
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cases shall be taxed, assessed and col-
lected a8 in misdemeanor cases."”

Article 1025, Vernon's Code of Crimlnal Procedure:

"In each county where there have been
cast at the preceding presldential elec-
tlon 3000 votes or over, the distrlet or
county attorney shall receive the followlng
fees:

"For all convictions of felony when
the defendant does not appeal, or dies or
escapes after appeal and before final judg-
ment of the appellate court, or when the
Judgment is afflirmed on appeal, twenty-four
dollars for each felony other than felonious
homicide, and forty dollars for each such
homlcide.

1 n
. . .

Article 1061, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure:

"District and county attorneys shall be
allowed the following fees in cases tried
in the district or county courts, or a county
court at law, to be taxed against the defend-
ant:

"For every convictlion under the laws
against gaming when no appeal 1s taken, or
when, on appeal, the judgment 1s affirmed,
Fifteen Dollars ($15.00);

"1For every other conviction in cases
of misdemeanor, where no appeal 1s taken,
or when, on appeal the Judgment 1s affirm-
ed, Fifteen Dollars ($15.00)."

With reference to the first question asked, Article
1025, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure, patently requlres
that the prosecuting attorney recelve a fee of $24.00 where
there has been a conviction for a felony other than felonlous
homicide. It 1s noted that the county offlclals of Willacy
County are on a salary basls, and that Article 3912e, Vernon's
Civil Statutes, prohibits the payment by the State or county
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of any fees to such officers; rather, all fees or commlssions
which the county officer 1s entitled to collect are stlll to
be assessed, but pald into the Officers' Salary Fund of the
individual county. Thus, whlile the prosecuting attorney may
not himself receilve the fee provided for in Artlicle 1025, such
costs should be taxed as costs of court, and, if recovered,
paid into the Officers' Salary Fund.

"2. What fee is allowed the prosecuting
attorney in a felony case where the
punishment assessed is a fine or jall
sentence or both?"

Article 1019, quoted above, provides that the costs in
this type of situation are to be determined as in misdemeanor
cases, Article 1061, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure, re-
qulres that, in cases of misdemeanor conviction, the prosecuting
attorney is to be allowed a fee of $15.00, and such fee is to
be assessed and collected as outlined iIn the answer to Question
No. 1, above, Further, Article 950, Vernon's Code of Criminal
Procedure, authorizes the collection of 10% of all fines col-
lected.

"3, What fee is allowed the prosecuting
attorney in a reduclble felony case
where the defendant 1s not punished
by confinement in the county Jall or
assessed a fine, but punished by con-
finement 1in the penltentiary?"

The defendant here has been convicted of a felony, and
thus the answer to thls question 1s the same as the answer to
Queatlon No. 1.

"4, What fees are allowed a Dlstrict Clerk
in felony cases 1n Willacy County, or
stated another way, what fees should
the District Clerk enter 1n the fee
book on felony cases?"

The District Clerk should enter the fees provided for
in Article 1026, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure. It
should be noted that, since the State no longer pays any fees,
the $8.00 fee provided for in thise statute can only be assess-
ed upon a conviction for felony. Thus no entry should be made
in the District Clerk's fee book until after conviction.
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"5. Whether the payment of court costs
in felony cases where a defendant is
granted probatlon can be included as
one of the terma and conditlions of
such probation?”

In the cases of Ex Parte Sethers, 151 Tex.Crim. 553, 209
S.W.2d4 358 ElgHB;, and Ex Parte Morgan, 159 Tex. Crim, 241, 262
S.W.2d 728 (1953), it was held tha e payment of court costs
was a necessary prerequlsite to discharge from custody under
probation. However, 1ln nelther of these cases were the payment
of court costs made a condition of probation. In view of the
fact that Section 6 of Article 781d, Vernon's Code of Criminal
Procedure, the Adult Probation and Parole Law of 1957, gilves
to the court jurladictlon to impose a wide range of conditions
in granting probatlon, it 1s the opinion of this office that
the payment of court costs may be lncluded as one of the con-
ditions imposed. If the payment of proper court costs 1s not
made a condition of the probation order, of course the court
costs are due and payable at the tlime the probation order 1is
entered. Article 781d, Sec., 11, Vernon's Code of Criminal
Procedure.

SUMMARY

If a defendant is convicted of a felony
other than homicide, in a county where more
that 3,000 votes were cast in the preceding
presidential election, the prosecuting at-
torney 1s allowed, by Article 1025, Vernon's
Code of Criminal Procedure, a fee of $24.00,
This fee 18 to be taxed as court eosts, and,
when collected, 1s to be paid into the Offi-
cers'! Salary PFund.

If a defendant is charged with a felony
but the punishment assessed is a fine or jail
sentence or both, Article 1061, Vernon's Code
of Criminal Procedure, requires a fee of $15.00,
and Article 950, Vernon's Code of Crimlinal Pro-
cedure, requires the collection of 10% of the
amount of the fine, both of whlich are to be
taxed and collected as above.

The District Clerk of Willacy County
should enter 1in the fee book the fees pro-
vided for in Article 1026, Vernon's Code of
Criminal Procedure, in cases of felony con-
viction., Such fee entry should not be made
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untlil convictlion 1s had.

In cases where probation is granted,
the payment of court costs can be included
as one of the terms and conditlons of such
probation.

Yours very truly,

WAGGONER CARR
Attorney General

By %ZZ%Zfzﬂﬁtéiayuxﬁ/fi;zﬂc:Q,/: '

Malcolm L. Quick
Assistant
MLQ:ms
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