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&ITORNEX GENERAL 

OF ?&XKAS 

Ars-rm, Texam 78711 

December 17, 1968 

Honorable Stanley C. Kirk 
District Attorney 
Wichita County 
Courthouse 
Wichita Falls, Texas 

Opinion No. M-322 

Re: Constitutionality of 
Article 1436b, Section 
3, as amended, Vernon's 
Texas Penal Code, Acts 
of the 58th and 60th 
Legislatures 

Dear Mr. Kirk: 

In your opinion request you inquire whether the present 
Article 1436b, Section 3, as amended, Vernon's Texas Penal Code, 
is constitutional? 

In Marney v. State, 168 Tex.Cr. 567, 330 S.W.2d 623 (1960), 
the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals held that Section 3 of 
Article 1436b, as it then appeared, was clearly an unreasonable 
restriction upon the use and enjoyment of a lawful commodity 
which is not per se contraband, and it was therefore unconstitu- 
tional. Tex. Const. Art. 1, Sec. 19; U. S. Const. Amend. 14, 
the "due process clauses". 

During the Fifty-eighth and Sixtieth Legislatures, at 
their regular sesaions, Chapter 426, page 1100, and Chapter 269, 
page 595, respectively, Article 1436b of Vernon's Texas Penal 
Code was amended so that Section 3 of the Article now appears 
as follows: 

Section 3: 

"Any person who may be found in any 
county in this state with more than 
one (1) pound of mercury in his 
possession and who has not in his 
possession a bill of sale, or other 
written evidence of title to said 
mercury and is unable to produce 
such evidence without unnecessary 
delay, shall be guilty of a felony, 
and upon conviction thereof, shall 
be confined in the penitentiary for 
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a term of not less than one (1) year 
nor more than five (5) years, or 
shall be confined in the county jail 
for not less than ninety (90) days 
nor more than two hundred (200) days, 
or shall be fined not less than One 
Hundred Dollars ($100) nor more than 
Five Hundred Dollars ($500), or both 
such fine and jail imprisonment." 

Section 3 (a): 

"It shall be prima facie evidence 
that a person is illegally in pos- 
session of mercury in excess of 
one (1) pound if at such time he 
does not have in his possession 
a bill of sale or other written 
evidence of title to such mercury 
and is unable to produce such 
evidence without unnecessary 
delay." 

Section 3 (b): 

"It shall be a defense to any charge 
under Section 3 that the person so 
charged show, (1) that he actually 
is engaged in the business of mining 
or processing of mercury, or (2) 
that the mercury is an integral part 
of a tool, instrument, or device 
used by him for a beneficial purpose, 
or (3) that he is an officer dis- 
charging his official duties." 

The present Section 3 of Article 1436b, as amended, 
clearly prohibits any person from having more than one 

--P pound of mercury in his possession without a bill of sa e 
or other written evidence of title or without being able 
to produce such evidence within a reasonable time when properly 
demanded. Furthermore, it provides a complete defense to the 
charge for all persons who may show that they are engaged in the 
business of mining or processing mercury, or that they possess 
the commodity as an integral part of some device which they use 
for a beneficial purpose or in connection with their duties, or 
that an officer of some entity possesses the mercury in the 
discharge of official, duties. 
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Under the present statute, it is not a felony per se to 
have ,any amount of mercury in your possession, as it was prior 
to the amendment. The requirement for anyone having possession 
of more than one (1) pound of mercury to produce written evi- 
dence of title under the present law is not unreasonable. 
Such a statutory pattern finds reason and precedent in similar 
time-honored requirements of our statutes for a bill of sale 
to accompany the sale or transferof livestock (Art. 6903, 6983, 
V.C.S.), and making the absence of such written conveyance 
prima facie evidence of illegal possession b the person 
charged with the theft of such stock (Art. 1 45, % P.C.); also, 
in the requiring of certificates, of title for motor vehicles 
for the announced purpose of lessenin and preventing the 
theft of motor vehicles, etc. (Art. le36-I., P.C.). 

Moreover, under Section 3 (b) the defenses added to 
the act to prevent it from imposing unreasonable restrictions 
on the use and enjoyment of a definite and substantially 
greater quantity of mercury have cured the vice of unreason- 
ableness in the original enactment of Section 3. Our courts 
will take common knowledge of the fact that, absent the 
defensive possessions permitted by the statute, few persons, 
if any, would have occasion to possess legally more than one 
(1) pound of mercury and be unable to produce written evidence 
of title without unnecessary delay. 

In Ex parte Hensley 162 Tex.Cr. 348, 285 S.W.2d 720 
119561. the Court decided Chat a statute which is held to be 
unconstitutional did not lose its existence for purposes of 
amendment; that the amended statute might operate in the 
future if it were made to conform to the constitutional re- 
quirements. 

Section 3 (a), providing that it shall be "prima facie 
evidence" that a person is illegally in possession when he 
cannot produce written evidence of title without unnecessary 
delay, is not unreasonable. Our courts have held that in 
prosecutions for possession of whiskey in a dry area, the 
state may make out a prima facie case upon a showing that 
the defendant possessed a sufficient quantity of whiskey to 
raise a oresumotion that he n vlola- 
tion of the law. Shawhartv: State, 163 Tex.Cr. 199, 289 
S.W.2d 601 

877 
; Templin v. St ate, 167 Tex.Cr. 605, 321 

S.W.2d . While liquor possessed for sale in a 
dry area is.contraband, its mere possession there is not 
unlawful. 
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The law requiring the sale or transfer of livestock 
to be accompanied by a written bill of sale, absent which is 
prima facie evidence of illegal ossession by one accused of 
theft of any such animal (Art. 1 45, E P.C.), presents a very 
close analogy. It was early held by our state Supreme Court 
that this act regulating the sale of livestock was not render- 
ed unconstitutional by reason of its provision that the ab- 
sence of a written conveyance shall be prima facie evidence 
of illegal possession on trial of right of property or a 
charge of theft of such livestock. 
Tex. 355 (1869 . In any event, the provisions of Section 3 
of Article i 

2. Faith v. State, 32 

143 b are not dependent upon the validity of 
Section 3 (a) thereof. 

Therefore, since a court will presume the validity 
of the statute and resolve any doubt in favor of validity 
(16 Tex.Jur.2d 93, Criminal Law, Sec. 4), it is the opinion 
of this office that any person having possession of more 
than one (1) pound of mercury is properly on notice of the 
requirement to produce the written evidence of title or 
else qualify under one of the three defenses stated in 
Section 3 (b). The statute, as amended, in constitutional. 
However, it is cautioned that an abstract charge upon the 
provisions of Sec. 3 (a) of said statute in regard to 
prima facie evidence of guilt might be erroneous under the 
reasoning set out in Reed v. State, 113 Cr.R. 366, 21 S.W.2d 
684 (1929). 

The statute, as amended, in constitutional. 

SUMMARY 

Article 143613, Vernon's Texas Penal 
Code, as amended by the Legislature, 
is constitutional and does not im- 
pose an unreasonable restriction 
on the use or enjoyment of mercury 
as a lawful commodity. 
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Prepared by Robert Darden 
Assistant Attorney General 
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