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May 5, 1970
Hon. Martin D. Eichelberger Opinion No. M- 624
Dlstrict Attorney
McLennan County Courthouse Re: Disposition of the $1.00
Waco, Texas service charge collected
by county tax assessor-
collectors as authorized
by Article 6675a-11,
Dear Mr. Elchelberger: Vernon's Clvil Statutes.

By recent letter you have requested an opinion from
this office 1in regard to the above stated matter. Accompanying
your request, you enclosed a letter from your county auditor,
and we quote from the audltor's letter as follows:

"There is some disagreement between the County
Auditor and the County Tax Assessor and Collector
regarding the proper handling and accounting for a
$1.00 service charge now provided for the handling
and malling of automiblle license plates in McLennan
County.

"The Tax Assessor-Collector has been collecting
the service charge as provided in Article 6675a-~11
but has not been reporting such collections to the
County Clerk and discharging himself from the
accountability by delivering such funds to the
County Treasurer and recelving therefor the County
Treasurer's receipt. Instead, the Tax Assessor-
Collector has been paying these moneys directly
o the Postmaster for postage to the extent of
the postage incurred in the malling of automoblle
license plates, with the unused balance of collec-
tions belng retalned by the Tax Assessor-Collector
for disposition at some later date.”

"1. Is it permissable for the County Tax
Asgegsor-Collector to spend these funds for postage
by a method which excludes the approval of the
County Auditor and the Commissioners Court as well
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as the signature of the County Treasurer and the
County Clerk and the counter-signature of the
County Auditor which is normally required on other
payments by the county?

"2, Is the Tax Assessor-Collector required to
report service charges to the County Clerk and de-
liver the moneys to the County Treasurer for deposit
in the County Treasury?

"3, If Question One is answered in the affirma-
tive, 18 it within the scope and authority of the
County Audltor to require that such funds be de-
posited in the County Treasury and warrants be
drawn on the County Treasurer for the payment of
the postage and handling in c¢onnectlion with the
malling of auto license plates if he deems it
necessary to the proper checking and accounting
of these fees?”

Your question necessitates an analysis of Article 6675a-
11, Vernon's Civil Statutes, which was amended by the Texas Legis-
lature in 1969.

Article 6675a-11 is quoted as follows:

"As compensation for hils services under the
provisions of this and other laws relating to the
registration of vehicles, each County Tax Assessor-
Collector shall receive a uniform fee of sixty-five
Cents (65¢) for each of the first five thousand
(5,000) receipts issued by him each year pursuant
to said laws; he shall receive a uniform fee of
Fifty-five cents (55¢) for each of the next ten
thousand (10,000) recelpts 80 issued, and a uniform
fee of Fifty Cents (50¢) for each of the balance of
sald receipts so 1ssued durlng the year. Said com-
pensation shall be deducted weekly by each County
Tax Assessor-Collector from the gross collectlon
made pursuant to thils Ac¢t and other laws relating
to registration of vehicles., Out of the compensa-
tion 80 allowed the County Tax Assessors-Collectors,
it 1s hereby expressly provided and required that
they shall pay the entire expense of issuing all
llcenge recelpts and license plates lssued pursuant
hereto, It 1s further provided that the County Tax

Assessors~Collectors may collect an additional
service charge of One Dollar ($1.00) from each
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applicant desiring to reglster or rereglster by

mail. This service charge shall De used to cover

the cost of handling and postage to mall the regis-
tration receipt and insignia to the applicant. The
Highway Department may lssue and promuigate procedures
to cover the timely application for and 1ssuance of
registration receipts and insignia by mail. (Em-
phasis added.)

The above quoted Article represents an amendment of
Article 6675a-11 by House Bill 768, Acts of the 61st Legislature,
1969, pages 1657 and 1658.

Sectlon 4 of saild House Bill reads as follows:

"The fact that the number of motor vehicle
reglstrations made by the County Tax Assessors-
Collectors has steadily increased, and the fact
that labor and materlal costs and other adminls-

~trative expenses which are necessary in the is-
suance of such reglstrations have materially in-
creased, and the fact that there has been no
increase in the fees allowed TaxXx ASSeSSOrS-
Collectors for per&fﬁnning this service . . ."
(Emphasis added.)

Section 4 indicates a general intent on the part of the
Legislature to increase the fees of the Tax Assessors and Col-
lectors to meet the ever rising costs of issulng license plates
over the counter or through the mall.

The percentage fee authorized to be collected was in-
creased by this amendment and the Tax Assessors-Collectors were
authorized to collect a $1.00 "service charge" in addition to the
percentage fees to cover costs of mailing the llcense plates,.

The collection of "service charge appears to be discretlonary
with the Tax Assessors-Collectors since the Legislature provided,
"the County Tax Assessors-Collectors may collect an additional
service charge. . . .", however, the use of such money 1is not
discretionary since the Legislature further provided:

"“This service charge shall be used to cover
the cost of handling and postage to mall the regis-
tration receipt . . ." (Emphasis added.)

The mere leglislative designation of the $1.00 charge as
a "service charge" rather than a "fee" will not control the de-
termination of the character of the charge. Greer v. Hunt County,
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249 s.W. 831, 832 (COmm App. 1923, opinion adopted by Sup.Ct. ),
wherein it was said ". . . that merely calling the compensation
a salary or calllng it commissions is not necessarily controlling.

.. Pees are defined as "compensation for particular services
rendered at irregular periods, payable at the time the services
are rendered. See Wichita County v. Robinson, 155 Tex. 1, 276
S.W.28 509, 513 (1955).

Article 6675a-11, when read as a whole, evidences an
intent to provide for an additional service charge by the county
tax assessors-collectors " as compensation for his services,”
This is clearly distinguishable from his salary compensation.

Article XVI, Section 61 of the Constitution of Texas,
provides, in part:

"All district officers in the State of Texas
and all county officers in counties having a pop-
ulation of twenty thousand (20,000) or more, accord-
ing to the then lasat preceding Federal Census, shall
be compensated on a salary basis. . .

"Al11 fees earned by district, county, and pre-
cinet officers shall be paid into the county treasury
where earned for the account of the proper fund. . .

The purpose of the above constitutional amendment was
to abolish the fee system of compensating the officers named and
to place them on a salary basls, and consequently as to all officers
on a salary baslis all types of fees of offlce other than salary
would become payable to the treasury out of which salaries are

pald. Wichita County v. Robinson, supra; Banks Administrator v.
State of Texas, 302 g W.24 158 iTex .Civ.App. 1962, error rel.).
State v, Glass, 170 S.W.2d 470 (Tex.Civ.App. 1943, error ref.,
167 S.W.20 95; Settegast v, Harris County, 159 S.W.2d 543
(Tex Civ.App. 1942, error ref.).

It is our opinion that the service charge type of fee
must be handled in the same manner as the other fees collected
by the Tax Assessor-Collector pursuant to Article 6675a-11.

Such fees must be deducted weekly and deposited 1In the proper
fund of the county. See Attorney General Opinion No, 0-5453

(1943) dealing with the procedure for handling certificate of
title fees.

In our construction of Article 6675a-11, we must glve
effect to the rule that where a statute 1ls subJect to two

~2987-



Hon, Martin D. Eichelberger, page 5 (M-624)

constructions, one of which would favor the claim that the
charge in question 1s a fee to be placed in the treasury and

the other to the contrary, the former construction must be
adopted. Modden v. Hardy, 92 Tex. 613, 50 S.W. 926, 928 (1899);
Allen v, Davis, 333 S.W.20 441, 444 (Tex.Civ.App. 1960, no writ);
Eastland County v. Hagel, 288 S.W. 518 {Tex.Civ.App. 1926, error
rel.).

In the light of the above disc¢ussion and conclusilons,
we would answer your first question “No", and your second ques-
tion "Yes", and in light of our answer to your first two ques-
tions we belileve the third question to be moot,

SUMMARY

Article 6675a-~11 as amended in 1969 authorizes
an increase in fees for the Tax Assessor-Collector
including a $1.00 service charge for handling mail-
in ordera. Such fees including the $1.00 fee must
be weekly deducted from the gross sales and accounted
for as a fee of office and deposited in the proper

- county fund, and the expenses lncurred paid as are
the other expenses of the county.

Ve truly yours,

o i

C « MARTIN
Attorney/General of Texas

Prepared by James C. McCoy
Assistant Attorney General
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