
THE ATITORNEY GENERAL 
'! OF %-EXAS 

Mr. Carl C. Hardin, Jr. Opinion No. M-1168 
Executive Secretary 
Texas State Board of Dental Re: Whether dentists and 
Examiners dental hygienists 

319 Capital National Bank Bldg. licensees who were 
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annual ,registration 
fees as of March 1, 
1912, are permitted to 
pay annual registration 

Dear Mr. Hardin: 

fees at the rate set by 
law at the time they 
became due. 

you request our opinion as to whether dentists and 
dental hygienists who are delinquent in their annual regis- 
tration fees~as of March 1, 1972,, shall now pay their delinquent 
fees at the rate set by law at the time they became due or at 
the higher rate now set by law. 

Section 2 of Article 4550a, Vernon's Civil Statutes, 
as amended in 19711 includes the following language: 

II . . '. Provided, that such license shall 
be reinstated at any time within three years 
upon written application of then holder made to 
said Board . . . accompanied by the payment of 
the annual registration fees in arrears and an 
additional fee of Five Dollars ($5). . . ." 

1 Acts 62nd Deg., R.S., 1971, Ch. 375, p, 1391, 1392, S.B. 410. 
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Section 6 of Article 455le, Vernon's Civil Statutes, 
as amended in 19712 includes a similar provision relative to 
a dental hygienist. 

We are of the opinion that in collecting fees re- 
quired for reinstatement of the license of a dentist or a 
dental hygienist, the Board shall collect the fee provided 
for under the law in effect at the time of the collection. 

Under Section 1 of Article 4550a, as amended in 
19713 the registration fee for a dentist may be from $12 to 
$50 as determined by the Board. Under Section 6 of Article 
4551e, as amended in 19714 the registration fee for a dental 
hygienist may be from $10 to $25, as determined by the Board. 

When the Board has adopted, under these statutes, 
the fee for the ensuing registration, it must collect the same 
amount for each year an eligible individual who desires to be 
reinstated is delinquent, plus the $5 'additional fee. 

It is our opinion that the Legislature intended these 
statutes, as amended, to govern all annual registration fees 
from the time the statutes take effect, with the Board to collect 
the fees prescribed by the amended statutes without regard to 
fees set by older laws. 

The Act which amended these statutes' contains a 
general repealer clause which reads, 

2=., p. 1393. 

3=., p. 1391. 

au. 

5 Ibid. 
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"All laws or parts of laws in conflict 
herewith are hereby repealed." 

Therefore, the only statutes prescribing fees for reinstatement 
of either kind of license are those enacted in 1971. When the 
new law took effect, before the applicant may have his license 
renewed, he must pay his dues at the new rate, plus the amount 
of penalty assessment on the dues in arrears. This has been 
the past interpretation of this law by this office. Atty. Gen. 
Opin. No. O-5592 (1943). 

Retrospective imposition of penalties on delinquent 
taxpayers or licensees violates no constitutional provision. 
See League v. Texas, 184 U.S. 156 (1902). 

SUMMARY -e---w- 

Reinstatement of licenses of dentists and 
dental hygienists requires the payment of that 
amount for each year delinquent at the rate fixed 
by the Dental Board as prescribed by the 1971 
Amendment to Article 4550a, V.C.S. 

truly yours, 

Prepared by James 8. Swearingen 
Assistant Attorney General 
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