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Dear Mr. Rommel: 

Your request for an opinion concerns whether a person assessed a 
probated sentence for driving while intoxicated may be required to pay the 
expense of treatment if he is identified to be a problem drinker-driver. The 
Adult Probation and Parole Law, Art. 42.12, Texas Code of Criminal Proce- 
dure, and the Misdemeanor Probation Law, Art. 42.13, Texas Code of Crim- 
inal Procedure, govern the terms and conditions of probation. Article 42.12 
applies to probation in felony cases and Article 42.13 deals with probation in 
all misdemeanor cases. See Attorney General Opinion M-985 (1971). 

Article 42.12 the Adult Probation and Parole Law, makes a distinction 
between probation granted by the jury and probation granted by the court. 
Article 42.12 $ 3a states in part, ‘I. . If probation is granted by the jury 
the court may impose only those conditions which are set forth in § 6 hereof. ” 

Article 42.12, $ 6, states: 

“The court having jurisdiction of the case shall 
determine the terms and conditions of probation and 
may, at any time, during the period of probation alter 
or modify the conditions: provided, however, that the 
clerk of the court shall furnish a copy of such terms 
and conditions to the probationer, and shall note the 
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date of delivery of such copy on the docket. Terms 
and conditions of probation may include, but shall not 
be limited to, the conditions that the probationer shall: 

“a. Commit no offense against the laws of this 
State or of any other State or of the United States; 

1%. Avoid injurious or vicious habits; 

“c. Avoid persons or places of disreputable 
or harmful character; 

‘Id: Report to the probation officer as directed; 

‘le. Permit the probation officer to visit him at 
his home or elsewhere: 

“f. Work faithfully at suitable employment as 
far as possible; 

“g. Remain within a specified place; 

“h. Pay his fine, if one be assessed, and all 
court costs whether a fine be assessed or not, in one 
or several sums, and make restitution or reparation 
in any sum that the court shall determine; and 

“i. Support his dependents. ” 

If probation is granted by the jury, the court may not impose treatment of a 
problem drinker-driver as a condition. See O’Neal v. State, 421 S. W. Zd 391 
(Tex. Crim. 1967). However, if the court grants probation, it “shall determine 
the terms and conditions of probation” which may include, but are not limited 
to, the conditions listed in 5 6. Therefore, the court which grants probation 
in felony cases may require the probationer to undergo and to pay for treatment 
as a condition of probation. 
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The Misdemeanor Probation Law, Article 42.13, $ 5(b) states in part 

“The period and terms of probation shall be 
designed to prevent recidivism and promote 
rehabilitation of the probationer. . . . ” 

Section 5(b) further provides for terms which must be included in the probation 
none of which are for submission and payment of treatment. However, this 
section leaves to the court’s discretion the placing of conditions on probation 
other than those expressly listed. Attorney General Opinion M-985 (1971) 
concluded that the court may require a defendant in a misdemeanor case who 
receives probation to submit to a treatment center in the interest of rehabilitating 
a defendant and preventing him from committing an additional offense of driving 
while intoxicated. 

To support this holding, the.opinion relied on $ 5 of Article 42.13 which 
expressly left to the court the discretion to place conditions on probation over 
and above certain express conditions. Section 5 (b) specifically directs that 
the period and terms of a probation “shall be designed to prevent recidivism 
and promote rehabilitation.‘! Using this same reasoning, it is our opinion that 

a person may be required to pay the expense of treatment as a condition of 
probation in misdemeanor cases. 

Of course, the ability to pay the expenses of treatment may not be a 
ground for denying probation, ani the failure to pay the expenses of treatment 
because of financial inability may not be a ground for revocation of probation. 
See Tate v. Short, 401 U. S.. 395 (1971); Matthews v. State, 478 S. W.. 2d 943 
(Tex. Grim. 1972); Hall v. State, 452 S. W. 2d 490 (Tex. Crim. 1970). 

SUMMARY 

1. If the court and note the jury grants probation in 
felony cases, the problem drinker-driver may be required 
to pay for the expense of treatment in accordance with 
Article 42.12, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. 
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2. Under Article 42.13, Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure, a person assessed a probated sentence for 
driving while intoxicated may be required to pay the 
expense of treatment as a condition of probation in mis- 
demeanor cases. 

3. However, the ability to pay the expenses of 
treatment may not be a ground for denying probation 
and the failure to pay the expense of treatment because 
of financial inability may not be a ground for revocation 
of probation. 

Very truly yours, 

P 

&T-Y& 
JOHN L. HILL 
Attorney General of Texas 

DAVID M. KENDALL, Chairman 
Opinion Committee 
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