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May 20, 1974 

The Honorable Joe Rerweber 
Harris County Attorney 
Harris County Courthouse 
Houston, Texas 77002 

Dear Mr. Resweber: 

Opinion No. H- 309 

lb: Time to apply for home- 
stead exemption provided 
under Sec. l-b(b) of 
Article 8 of the Texas 
Constihrtion 

You have informed’ur that Mr. Carl S. Smith, the Harris County 
Anmersor and Collector, has asked for clarification regarding “the 
time at which the partial tax exemption for homesteads of persons 
over 65 years of age must be requested.” 

The exemption to which you refer is set out in Article 8, Sec. l-b(b) 
of the Texas Constitution and prerently reads. in pertinent part, ao 
followa: 

“From and after January 1, 1973, the governing 
body of any county, city, town, school district, or 
other political subdivision of the State may exempt 
by its own action not less than Three Thousand 
Dollars ($3,000) of the assessed value of rerideace 
homesteada of married or unmarried persons rixty- 
five (65) years of age or older, including those living 
alone, from all ad valorem taxes thereafter levied 
by the political subdivision. I’ 

For a general discussion of this amendment to the Constitution, see 
Attorney General Opinion No. H-9 (1973). 

You havs specifically asked: 

“1. Is the person who tr over 65 and otherwise 
eligible to receive the exemption required to render 
his property during the statutory rendition period 
of January 1, to April 30, in order to receive the 
exemption? 
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“2. May the person apply for the exemption 
at the time that he pays the taxes and receive the 
benefit of the exemption where he failed to render 
his property during the rendition period? ” 

There are no constitutional or statutory guideline0 expressly delineating 
the procedures by which such an exemption is to be secured, and you have 
informed us that “[t]he Commissioners Court ordered the exemption to be 
placed in effect for Harris County and the Harris County Flood Control 
District on November 27, 1972. The Order makes no reference to time 
for application for the exemption. ” 

A virtually identical question was considered in Attorney General Opiaton 
No. O-6842 (1945). That Opinion construed the exemption grantbd;in 
Article 8, Sec. 1-a. of the Constitution. The question presented wan: 

“A taxpayer fails to render his property at rendition 
time and fails to claim homestead exemption until he 
comes in at taxpaying time. Can he then after taxes are 
due and rolls are completed come in and sign a certi- 
ficate and get the homestead taxes deducted from his 
taxes? ” 

The Opinion rtated: 

“The. . . constitutional provision exempts from taxation 
$3,000.00 of the assessed taxable value of the residence 
hanestead for all State purporen. The only requirement 
in this provision is that the property be assessed in order 
that the taxable value be aecertatned. Article 7152, V. R. C. S. , 
rnake# it the duty of the owner to render hie property for 
tuution, but in cases where the owner failr for any reaaon 
to do so, Arti& 7193, V.R. C.S., makee it the duty of 
the assessor to render and assess the property. 

o’lha assessed taxable value bkdng thur obtainad, the tax- 
payer is entitled to an exemption of $3,000.00 of the 
assessed taxable value of his reeidence homestead as now 
defined by law at any time he claims his exemption. ” 
(Emphadr hd’ierigtnal). 
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We believe the reasoning of this Opinion applies with equal force to 
your inquiry and therefore in answer to your first question, it is our 
opinion &at a person is not required to render his property during 
the rtatutory rendition period in order to obtain his exemption, and in 
anrwer to your second question. it is our opinion that a person entitled 
to the exemption may receive ita benefit by claiming it at the time he 
paye hir taxes even though he failed to render his property during the 
rtatutory period. 

SUM MARY 

Where a political subdivision ha8 approved a 
homestead tax exemption for persons 65 years of 
age or older, a person is entitled to receive the 
benefits of the exemption even though he fails to 
claim tt during the statutory rendition period. 

Very truly yours, 

L. HILL 
Attorney General of Texas 

VID Y. KENDALL. Chatnnan 
Opinion Committoe 
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