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tuition exemption under Hinson- 
Hazelwood Fee Exemption Statute, 
section 54.203 of the Education 
Code 

Dear Mr. Bullard: 

You have asked several questions regarding sections 54.203 and 
54.209 of the Texas Education Code which exempt certain individuals 
from tuition payments at state institutions of higher education. 

Your first question is whether 
education can require an individual 
section 54.209 to pay tuition. 

"Institution of higher education" 
of the Education Code as follows: 

a state institution of higher 
exempted by section 54.203 or 

is defined in section 61.003(7) 

'Institution of higher education' means any public 
junior college, public senior college or 
university, medical or dental unit, or other 
agency of higher education as defined in this 
section. 

Therefore, sections 54.203 and 54.209 apply, inter alia, to junior 
colleges. 

Section 54.203 is a portion of subchapter D, "Exemptions from 
Tuition" of the Education Code. It states: 

(a) The governing board of each institution of 
higher education shall exempt the following 
persons from the payment of all dues. fees, and 
charges, including fees for correspondence 
courses, but excluding property deposit fees, 
student services fees, and any fees or charges for 
lodging, board, or clothing, provided the persons 
seeking the exemptions were citizens of Texas at 
the time they entered the services indicated and 
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have resided in Texas for at least the period of 
12 months before the date of registration: 

[(l) through (4) (categories of persons 
eligible).] (Emphasis added). 

Section 54.209 exempts dependent children of certain prisoners of war 
or persons missing in action from tuition and fees at each institution 
of higher education. 

Several prior opinions issued by this office indicate that 
institutions of higher education must exempt eligible individuals from 
the payment of tuition and fees. See Attorney General Opinions H-761 
(1976) (no minimum requirement for%e served during WW II to qualify 
for tuition exemption); H-485 (1974) (Texas veterans must be exempted 
from payment of tuition and fees when enrolling in courses at the 
Extension Division of the University of Texas); O-7316 (1946) 
(honorably discharged veteran of WW II with less than 90 days service 
was eligible for exemption); O-7021 (1946) (enlisted Navy personnel 
transferred to inactive duty were entitled to exemption if otherwise 
qualified); 0-6077-a (1945) (dental students were exempt from 
registration, tuition, laboratory and other fees of the University of 
Texas School of Dentistry); O-5891 (1944) (&%-servicemen were entitled 
to free tuition in public junior colleges). It is clear that 
institutions of higher education may not require an individual 
exempted by section 54.203 or 54,209 to pay tuition, fees or charges 
other than those expressly excluded from exemption. 

You next inquire if institutions of higher education may require 
additional tuition, fees or charges for courses categorized as 
"individualized instruction" courses, and if so, if an individual 
eligible for exemption from tuition payments is required to pay the 
additional tuition, fee, or charge. 

Section 130.003 of the Education Code establishes standards for 
junior colleges in order to share in the appropriation of state funds. 
Subsection (b)(4) requires junior colleges to collect tuition 
according to the provisions of section 54.051 of the Education Code, 
which determines tuition rates. See Attorney General Opinions MN-220 
(1980); NW-63, MN-38 (1979); H-103,-61 (1973). 

Section 54.003 provides that no institution of higher education 
may collect any tuition, fee, or charge except as permitted by law. 
See also Educ. Code 130.003(b)(4). Co"seque"tly, the provisions of 
section 54.051, which establishes tuition rates, are dispositive of 
the issue. Section 54.051(g) permits an additional fee to be charged 
for ncourses in art, architecture, drama, speech, or music, where 
individual coaching or instruction is the usual method of 
instruction." The predecessor of this statute and the history of its 
amendment were discussed in Attorney General Opinion O-2259 (1940), 
which stated, in pertinent part: 
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Article 2654~. [V.T.C.S.,] as amended by the 
addition of Section 4a, 46th Leg., S.B. No. 283, 
§I [now section 54.051(g)] provides for charging 
extra tuition from each student registering for 
courses in the Departments of Arts, Drama oi- 
Speech, and Music; it being recited in the 
emergency clause that this amendment resulted from 
a ruling by the Attorney General's Department, 
that extra tuition could not be charged for fine 
arts courses in State-supported i"stit"tio"s. 
Evidently the opinion referred to is No. O-177, 
which ruled that such institutions are not 
authorized to require any charges from students 
other than those authorized by the above mentioned 
statutes. 

We adhere to the conclusions expressed in our 
former opinion. As we construe these statutes, it 
was the purpose of the Legislature to prescribe 
the charges which such institutions are permitted 
to require of students registering in such 
schools, and when such fees are paid, no 
additional charges may be required by the 
enumerated State colleges and universities in the 
absence of an exception permitted by legislative 
enactment. 

As the statute now reads, additional fees may be charged for courses 
in art, architecture, drama, speech or music when those COUZS~S are 
taught by individual instruction. Additional fees may be charged for 
these coui-sas and for no others. Attorney General Opinion O-2259 
(1940). Persons exempted by sections 54.203 and 54.209 are exempted 
from these additional fees, however, by virtue of the legislative 
mandate to exempt those persons from "all dues, fees, and charges," 
except, of course, those expressly excluded. Attorney General Opinion 
O-4200 (1941). 

Your last question is whether an institution of higher education 
may deny the exemptions provided by section 54.203 because the service 
person had not acquired entitlement under chapter 32 of title 38, 
United states Code, which establishes an optional educational 
assistance program for persons entering military service after 
December 31, 1976. 38 U.S.C. 51601. It is our opinion that the 
establishment of entitlement to veterans' benefits is not necessary 
for exemption under section 54.203. The requirements for eligibility 
for tuition exemption are set forth in the statute; entitlement to 
veterans' benefits under chapter 32 of title 38 is not among the 
requirements. Section 54.203(d) states that: 

(d) The exemption from fees provided for in 
Subsection (a) of this section does not apply to a 
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person if at the time of his registration he is 
eligible for educational benefits under federal 
legislation in effect at the time of his 
registration. A person is covered by the 
exemptions if his right to benefits under federal 
legislation is extinguished at the time of his 
registration. 

This subsection was discussed in Attorney General Opinion H-761 
(1976). That opinion said: 

The statute does not require that a person have 
aver been eligible for G.I. benefits in order to 
qualify for the tuition exemption. Although it 
specifically declares to be eligible a person 
whose 'right to benefits under federal legislation 
is extinguished at the time of his registration,' 
we do not believe the implication to be that 
persons who ware never eligible for federal 
benefits are not covered by the exemption. 
(Emphasis added). See Attorney General Opinion 
V-688 (1948). Accordingly, it is our opinion that 
a veteran need not have been eligible for nor 
received G.I. benefits from the federal government 
in order to qualify for the tuition exemption of 
section 54.203. 

We believe this reasoning also applies to your question. A" 
institution of higher education may not deny the exemptions provided 
by section 54.203 because the veteran had not acquired entitlement 
under the program established by chapter 32 of title 38, United States 
Code. 

SUMMARY 

I"stit"tio"s of higher education may not 
require an individual exempted by section 54.203 
or 54.209 of the Education Code to pay tuition or 
additional fees for individual instruction. An 
institution of higher education may not deny the 
exemptions provided by section 54.203 because the 
veteran had not acquired entitlement under the 
program established by chapter 32 of title '38, 
United States Code. 

MARK WHITE 
Attorney General of Texas 
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