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opinion No. m-547 

Re: May compulsory liability 
insurance requirements be 
satisfied by po'sting security 
in.lieu of insurance 

Dear Representative Simpson: 

Section 1A of article 6701h, V.T.C.S., the Safety Responsibility 
Law, requires that an automobile liability insurance policy covering 
the operation of a vehicle be in effect before the vehicle may be 
operated in this state. You ask whether a driver may file a bond (or 
a certificate of "money deposit" or "securities deposit") of at least 
$25,000 per vehicle with the Texas Department of Public Safety in lieu 
of such a policy. If so, you ask whether such bond or certificate 
would constitute "evidence of financial responsibility" within the 
meaning of the statute. 

Sections 1A through 1G were added to the Safety Responsibility 
Law in 1981. See Acts 1981, 67th Leg., ch. 800, at 3053. Sections 1A 
and 1B read inpart: 

Sec. 1A. (a) On and after January 1, 1982, no 
motor vehicle may be operated in this State unless 
a policy of automobile liability insurance in at 
least the minimum amounts to provide evidence of 
financial responsibility under this Act is in 
effect to insure against potential losses which 
may arise out of the operation of that vehicle. 

(b) The following vehicles are exempt from the 
requirement of Subsection (a) of this section: 

(1) vehicles exemDt bv Section 33 of this Act: 
i2j 

_ _ 
vehicles for which a bond or a certificate 

of deposit of money or securities in the minimum 
amount of Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) 
is on file with the Department; 
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(3) vehicles that are self-insured under 
Section 34 of this Act; 

. . . . 

Sec. 1B. On and after January 1, 1982. every 
owner and/or operator in the State of Texas shall 
be required, as a condition of driving, to 
furnish, upon request, information concerning 
evidence of financial responsibility to a law 
enforcement officer of the State of Texas or any 
subdivision thereof, or agency of the Department, 
or to another person involved in an accident. 
(Emphasis added). 

There is no significant difference between "evidence" of 
responsibility and "proof" thereof, as those terms are used by article 
6701h. V.T.C.S. Section 18 of the statute specifies: 

Sec. 18. Proof of financial responsibility 
when required under this Act with respect to a 
motor vehicle may be given by filing: 

1. A certificate of insurance as provided in 
Section 19 or Section 20; or 

2. A bond as provided in Section 24; or 

3. A certificate of deposit of money or 
securities as provided in Section 25; or 

4. A certificate of self-insurance, as 
provided in Section 34, supplemented by an 
agreement by the self-insurer that, with respect 
to accidents occurring while the certificate is in 
force, he will pay the same judgments and in the 
same amounts that an insurer would have been 
obligated to pay under an owner's motor vehicle 
liability policy if it had issued such a policy to 
said self-insurer. 

No motor vehicle shall be or continue to be 
registered in the name of any person required to 
file proof of financial responsibility unless such 
proof shall be furnished for such motor vehicle. 
(Emphasis added). 
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This provision is clearly applicable now to the requirements of 
section 1A although it was part of the law before the new sections 
were added. See Attorney General Opinion MW-442 (1982). - 

Prior to the enactment of the new provisions, the Safety 
Responsibility Law did not require liability insurance or other 
security as an initial condition to the use of public highways. It 
undertook to accomplish its purposes by requiring the deposit of 
security after accidents occurred. Failure to post security then 
resulted in suspensions of drivers' licenses and registration 
certificates. See Gillespie v. 
S.W.2d 180 (Tex.Tv. App. 

Department of Public Safety, 254 
- Austin 1953). aff'd, 259 S.W.2d 177 (Tex. 

1974), cert. denied, 347 U.S. 933 (1975). Suspensions, once imposed, 
could be lifted only by filing with the Department of Public Safety 
"proof of financial responsibility." V.T.C.S. art. 6701h. §17. 

The Department of Public Safety contends that its authority to 
accept filings of bonds or certificates is limited to those instances 
where proof of financial responsibility is given after a suspension is 
threatened or has taken effect (under section 17). It argues that the 
new lA(b)(2) subsection was intended to exempt only the vehicles of 
owners or operators who file a bond or certificate to lift a 
threatened or imposed suspension under section 17. and not as an 
optional alternative to insurance that is available to everyone as a 
means of satisfying the requirements of section 1A. 

We do not agree. In our opinion it was not the intention of the 
legislature that the subsection (b)(2) exemption apply only to those 
vehicles for which bonds or certificates are filed pursuant to section 
17 of the Financial Responsibility Law. 

That conclusion is strengthened when we look to the manifest 
object of the 1981 enactment. The purpose of the act was to assure 
the financial responsibility of motorists for the protection of those 
whose lives or property might be harmed by the operation of vehicles 
-- a purpose similar to that of the pre-1981 requirement that persons 
threatened with suspension of driving privileges after an accident 
prove their financial responsibility before being allowed to drive 
again. An ability to respond in damages can ordinarily exist entirely 
apart from the existence of an insurance policy, and there is as much 
reason to allow someone to prove financial responsibility by a bond or 
certificate before an accident occurs as there is to allow it 
afterward. The same considerations which favor alternate methods of 
proving financial responsibility in one case are applicable to the 
other. The purpose of the 1981 act is to protect people, and not to 
sell insurance. Cf. V.T.C.S. art. 10, subdiv. -6;.Lone Star Gas 
Company v. Sheaner, 305 S.W.2d 150 (Tex. 1957). 
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The Department of Public Safety suggests, however, that it has no 
authority to accept and file bonds or certificates of deposit under 
subsection (b)(2) because the new provisions set up no detailed, 
separate machinery for handling bonds or certificates that might be 
filed pursuant to section 1A. Again, we disagree. In Attorney 
General Opinion MW-442 (1982), the sections added to the Safety 
Responsibility Law in 1981 were read with already existing sections of 
the law to clarify their meaning. There we said, "[Wlhere the same 
word has been used elsewhere in a statute it will be given a like 
meaning in both instances unless there is some indication the 
legislature intended that it have different meanings." Such machinery 
is provided in sections 24 and 25 of the statute with respect to bonds 
or certificates of deposit filed pursuant to section 17. The 
legislature has not indicated that in section 1A it used the terms 
"bond" or "certificate of deposit" in any different sense than it used 
them in sections 24 and 25, nor do we believe it has done so. When 
read with those sections, subsection 1A (b)(2) provides sufficient 
standards to guide the department in administering the provision and 
in issuing interpretive rules and regulations. See V.T.C.S. art. 
6701h, §2; Attorney General Opinion MW-467 (1982). - 

We conclude that a driver may file a bond or a certificate of 
money deposit or securities deposit of at least $25,000 par vehicle 
with the Texas Department of Public Safety in lieu of the automobile 
liability insurance policy otherwise required by section 1A of article 
6701h, V.T.C.S., which bond or certificate would constitute "evidence 
of financial responsibility" within the meaning of that provision. 
Rules promulgated by the department already allow "other evidence" 
than an insurance policy or certificate to be accepted as proof of 
financial responsibility under section 1A. Rule 201.13.00.021, 7 Tex. 
Reg. 206-07 (1982). See Attorney General Opinion MW-467 (1982). - 

SUMMARY 

A driver may file a bond or certificate of 
money deposit or securities deposit with the 
Department of Public Safety in lieu of the 
automobile liability policy otherwise required by 
section IA of article 6701h, V.T.C.S.. which bond 
or certificate would constitute evidence of 
financial responsibility within the meaning of 
that provision. 

MARK WHITE 
Attorney General of Texas 
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JOHN W. FAINTER, JR. 
First Assistant Attorney General 
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Executive Assistant Attorney General 
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