TiE ATTORNEY GENERAL
O TEXAS

JI¥M MATTOX

ATTORNEY GENERAL May 5, 1988

Honorable Stanley D. Curbo

County Attorney

Young County

P. O. Box 298

Graham, Texas 76046 LO-88-50

Dear Mr. Curbo:

Pursuant to the Texas Mental Health Code, article
5547, V.T.C.S., as county attorney you sought court-
ordered mental health services for an unnamed person. As
required by article 5547-42, a hearing was held. As
required by article 5547-47(b), you offered testimony from
a psychiatrist. This psychiatrist was employed the
Wichita State Hospital. He testified under a subpoena
whose issuance you requested. In addition, as authorized
by article 5547-47(c), you offered testimony from a social
worker (a "nonphysician mental health professional"). The
social worker was also employed by Wichita State Hospital.
He also testified under a subpoena whose issuance you
requested.

The psychiatrist has submitted a bill to the county
for reimbursement for six hours away from his office at
$65.00 an hour. The social worker has submitted a bill to
the county for reimbursement for six hours away from his
office at $30.00 per hour. You ask whether the county is
obligated to pay these bills. The answer is no.

Texas Rule of Civil Procedure 179 provides as
follows:

Every witness summoned in any suit shall
attend the court from day to day, and from
term to term, until discharged by the court
or party summoning such witness. If any
witness, after being duly summoned, shall
fail to attend, such witness may be fined by
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the court as for contempt of court, and an
attachment may issue against the body of
such witness to compel the attendance of
such witness; but no such fine shall be
imposed, nor shall such attachment issue in
a civil suit until it shall be shown to the
court, by affidavit of the party, his agent
or attorney, that all lawful fees have been
paid or tendered to such witness.

Section 22.001(a) of the Civil Practices and Remedies Code
sets out the fee to which each witness is entitle:

(a) A witness is entitled to:

(1) one dollar for each day the witness
attends court; and

(2) six cents for each mile the witness
travels in going to and returning from
court.

That is the only fee to which a witness is entitled.

Article 5547-15 does require the court to order the
payment of reasonable compensation to physicians for an
examination when they are appointed by the court under the
Texas Mental Health Code. Article 5547-15 further pro-
vides that such compensation shall be taxed as costs in
the case. Article 5547-14 provides that the county that
initiates proceedings under the Texas Mental Health Code
must pay these taxable costs. Unless a physician is
appointed by the court, however, he is not entitled to
compensation. In the case you present, the staff
psychiatrist of the Wichita State Hospital was not
appointed by the court. Thus, he is not entitled to a
professional fee.

Very truly yoyrs,
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Rick Gilpin
Chairman
Opinion Committee
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