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Dear Mr. Driscoll: 

You have requested our opinion on a number of questions relating 
to the duty of the district clerk in connection with the filing and 
docketing of improperly tendered documents. A number of the questions 
you have asked are not accompanied by a brief giving the conclusion of 
the briefrr and the reason which support his views. See V.T.C.S. art. 
4399, §(c)(l). Consequently, they are not in compliance with article 
4399, section (c)(l), V.T.C.S., and we have not attempted to answer 
these questions. 

We address the following questions: 

1. If a document is tendered without a 
statutory fee prescribed by section 51.317 of the 
Government Code and/or affidavit of inability to 
pay costs in accordance with 145, Texas Rules of 
Civil Procedure, and/or other applicable rules and 
statutes, is the document 'filed' upon such 
tender? 

In Arndt V. Amdt, 709 S.W.2d 281 (Tex. App. - Houston [14th 
Dist.] 1986, no writ), the court stated: 

The longstanding rule in Texas is that docu- 
ments are filed with the district clerk when 
tendered. &, Hanover Fire Insurance Co. V. 
Shrader, 33 S.W. 112 (Tex. 1895) ; Beal V, 
Alexander, 6 Tex. 532 (Tax. 1838); Plummer V, 
Roberson, 666 S.W.2d 656 (Tex. App. - Austin 1984, 
writ ref'd n.r.e.1. The purpose of the rule is to 
protect a diligent party-from being penalized by 
the error or omission of a court clerk. Standard 
Fire Ins. Co. V. La Coke, 585 S.W.Zd 678 (Tex. 
1979). 
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We have discovered no case involving the 
failure or refusal of a clerk to file a document 
because fees were not tendered. One case does 
qualify the rule in that respect, however. In 
Civil Service Commission of Lufkin V. Crager, the 
court noted a document was filed when tendered 'in 
the absence of some statute providing that fees be 
paid or some other thing done [sic] or performed 
before filing.' 384 S.W.2d 381, 383 (Tex. Civ. 
APP. - Beaumont 1964, writ ref'd n.r.e.). 

The statute governing fees for filing, art. 
3927, was amended June 3, 1985, effective 
September 1. 1985. On June 13, 1985, the 
legislature enacted 151.317 of the Government 
Code, replacing and repealing art. 3927, effective 
September 1, 1985. The saving provision of the 
Government Code, 1311.031. provides, however, that 
'the repeal of a statute by a code does not affect 
a* amendment . . . of the statute by the same 
legislature that enacted the code. The amend- 
ment . . . is preserved and given effect as part 
of the code provision that revised the statute so 
amended. . . .' 

Section 51.317 provides '[tlhe district clerk 
shall collect at the time the suit or action is 
filed the fees provided by Subsection (b) of the 
section for services performed by the clerk. . . . 
(b) The fees are . . . motion for new trial . . . 
$15.' Art. 3927, as amended, reads, in relevant 
portions, as follows: 'The clerks of the district 
courts shall receive the following fees for their 
services: (1) the fees shall be due and payable, 
and shall be paid at the time the suit or action 
is filed . . . motion for new trial . . . $15.' 
Art. 3927 has had that same wording since 1969. 

It is apparently the attempted change from the 
passive to active voice in the statute -- from 
'shall receive . . . the fees . . . [which] shall 
be paid' to 'shall collect . . . the fees' -- that 
has led to the practice in at least one district 
of refusing to filestamp documents until fees are 
tendered. 

We note, however, the time limit when fees are 
due is unchanged. They are due 'at the time 
the suit or action is filed,' a phrase not 
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particularly meaningful to a motion for new trial. 
While we firmly believe fees due to a clerk should 
be paid promptly, we nonetheless are reluctant to 
change a long-standing rule without a clearly 
worded statute, unhampered by a preserved amend- 
ment , mandating such a change. We, accordingly, 
decline to do so, even though the legislature by 
its enactment of §51.317 may have intended to 
assist court clerks in the sometimes onerous task 
of fee collection. (Emphasis in original). 

709 S.W.2d at 282. 

Accordingly, it is our opinion that documents are filed with the 
district clerk when they are tendered. 

6. Where the pleadings or instruments tendered 
for filing have sufficient fees, is the district 
clerk required to file such documents if no 
signature of the attorney/pro se is on the 
pleading or instrument as required under Tex. R. 
Civ. Proc. 45(d), 57, 78 and 83? 

Rule 45 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, provides: 

Pleadings in the district and county courts shall 

(d) Be in writing, signed by the party or his 
attorney, and be filed with the clerk. 

Rule 57 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure states: 

Every pleading of a party represented by an 
attorney shall be signed by at least one attorney 
of record in his individual name, whose address 
shall be stated. A party who is not represented 
by an attorney shall sign his pleading and state 
his address. 

In Frank 'I. Corbett. 682 S.W.2d 587 (Tex. App. - Waco 1984, no 
writ), the court said: 

The answer should have been signed by appellant or 
his attorney, Rules 45 and 57, Vernon's Tex. Rules 
CiV. Proc., but this signing is only a formal 
requisite and the lack of it did not affect the 
efficacy of the answer as a contest of appellee's suit. -w-c. Turnbow Petroleum Corporation V. 
Fulton, 194 S.W.2d 256, 257 (1946). 
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682 S.W.2d at 588. The courts and this office have repeatedly 
characterized the powers and duties of the district clerk and county 
clerk as ministerial functions. See Benge V. Foster, 47 S.W.2d 862 
(Tex. Civ. App. - Amarillo 1932. wrx ref'd); Attorney General Opinion 
Nos. JM-694 (1987); m-166 (1984); cf. Attorney General Opinion JM-533 
(1986). It is our opinion that theclerk should file the pleading 
even though the signature of the attorney (or the party not 
represented by an attorney) is not on the pleading. 

8. Where a signature appears on the original 
or responsive pleading, and a copy of the said 
pleading without a signature is filed by the party 
to be sent with citation, is the district clerk 
required to conform the unsigned copy before 
sending citation for service by a constable or 
sheriff? 

Rule 101 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure provides: 

The party filing any pleading upon which citation 
is to be had shall furnish the clerk with a 
sufficient number of copies thereof for use in 
serving the parties to be served, and when the 
copies are so furnished the clerk shall make no 
charge therefor. 

Rule 101 provides that the party filing the pleading "shall 
furnish the clerk with a sufficient number of copies thereof for use 
in serving the parties." We believe that it is not the function of 
the clerk to add to or delete anything from the copies of petitions 
furnished by the party pursuant to Rule 101. We believe our answer to 
this query is dispositive of your questions numbered 10 and 11 in 
which you ask: 

10. Where documents are presented for filing 
with sufficient fees, is the district clerk 
required to file them if a signature, required to 
be verified or sworn to, is not so verified or 
sworn to? 

11. Where documents are presented for filing 
with proper fees, is the district clerk required 
to accept for filing the same where an exhibit, 
affidavit or other instrument filed under Rule 59 
of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure is stated as 
being attached but is not in fact attached? 

An exception to our foregoing conclusion occurs when pleadings 
are misnumbered. See also Prop. Code 011.004 (county clerk must 
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record instruments that are properly acknowledged according to law). 
The Texas Rules of Civil Procedure state: 

Rule 23. 

It shall be the duty of the clerk to designate 
the suits by regular consecutive numbers, called 
file numbers, and he shall mark on each paper in 
every case the file number of the cause. 

Rule 24. 

When a petition is filed with the clerk he 
shall indorse thereon the file number, the day on 
which it was filed and the time of filing, and 
sign his name officially thereto. 

We believe these rules provide the answer to the following 
question: 

12. Where documents are presented for filing 
with proper filing fees, or where no fee is 
required, and where the case number is mis- 
numbered. which misnumber may be the case number 
of another unrelated case, 

(a) What duty, if any, does the district 
clerk have in identifying the proper case 
number? 

In your last question you ask: 

14. Where no copies or an insufficient number 
of copies are furnished at the time a request for 
service of citation occurs, may the district clerk 
make the necessary copies, issue process, and send 
a fee bill at the time the service is performed to 
the requesting party? 

Rule 101 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure in setting forth the 
requisites of a citation states: 

It shall state the date of the filing of the 
petition, its file number and the style of the case, 
and the date of issuance of the citation, be signed 
and sealed by the clerk, and shall be accompanied by 
a copy of plaintiff's petition. . . . The party 
filing any pleading upon which citation is to be had 
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shall furnish the clerk with a sufficient number of 
copies thereof for use in serving the parties to be 
served, and when the copies are so furnished the 
clerk shall make no charge therefor. (Emphasis 
added). 

We are of the opinion that when no copies or insufficient numbers 
of copies of the petition are furnished by the party, the clerk may 
make the necessary copies and make a charge therefor. 

SUMMARY 

Documents are filed when they are tendered to 
the district clerk. Arndt v. Arndt, 709 S.W.2d 
281 (Tex. App. - Houston [14th Disc] 1986, no 
writ). The clerk should file the pleading even 
though the signature of the attorney (or the party 
not represented by an attorney) is not on the 
pleadings. See Frank v. Corbett, 682 S.W.2d 587 
(Tex. App. -Waco 1984, no writ). The district 
clerk should not add to nor delete anything from 
the copies of documents furnished by a party 
except that the clerk should endorse the correct 
file number thereon. Rules 101, 23 and 24 of the 
Texas Rules of Civil Procedure. When no copies or 
insufficient copies of the petition are furnished 
by a party. the clerk may make the copies and make 
a charge therefor. Tex. R. Civ. Proc. 101. 

Very truly your J NJ& A 
JIM MATTOX 
Attorney General of Texas 

MARY KELLER 
Executive Assistant Attorney General 

JUDGE ZOLLIE STEAKLEY 
Special Assistant Attorney General 

RICK GILPIN 
Chairman, Opinion Committee 

Prepared by Tom G. Davis 
Assistant Attorney General 
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