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Mr. Lyndon L. Olson, Jr. 
Chairman 
State Board of Insurance 
1110 San Jacinto Boulevard 
Austin, Texas 78701 

Opinion No. m-734 

Re: Whether an insurance carrier 
m=Y consider completion of a 
defensive driving course under 
article 6701d, section 143A. 
V.T.C.S. 

Dear Mr. Olson: 

You ask several questions about the practice engaged in by some 
insurance companies of considering the completion of a defensive 
driving course as the equivalent of a conviction of certain mis- 
demeanor offenses under article 6701d, V.T.C.S., the Uniform Act 
Regulating Traffic on Highways. Your questions are: 

1. Does article 6701d, section 143A, prohibit 
insurers from considering completion of a defensive 
driving course for underwriting purposes or does it 
merely prohibit the charge from being considered by 
a court in assessing punishment for subsequent 
traffic citations? 

2. If the statute prohibits the consideration 
of completion of a defensive driving course for 
underwriting purposes, would an insurer's con- 
sideration of such completion violate the Deceptive 
Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act, Business 
and Commerce Code section 17.46 and thereby allow 
enforcement by the State Board of Insurance under 
article 21.21, section 7 of the Insurance Code? If 
not, would such an act violate other Insurance Code 
provisions? 

You advise that various insurance companies charge increased insurance 
prices when an insured or a person seeking insurance takes a defensive 
driving course in exchange for dismissal of a traffic citation under 
section 143A of article 6701d. 

Section 143A of article 6701d, V.T.C.S., provides: 
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(a) When a person is cherged with e mis- 
demeanor offense under this Act, other then a 
violation of Section 51. committed while operating 
a motor vehicle, the court: 

(1) in its discretion may defer proceedings 
end allow the person 90 days to present evidence 
that, subsequent to the alleged act, the person 
has successfully completed e defensive driver’s 
course approved by the Texas Department of Public 
Safety or other driving safety course approved by 
the court; or 

(2) shall defer proceedings end allow the 
person 90 days to present written evidence that, 
subsequent to the alleged act, the person has 
successfully completed a defensive driver’s course 
approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety 
or another driving safety course approved by the 
court, if: 

(A) the person presents to the court en 
oral request or written motion to take a 
course ; 

(B) the person has a valid Texas driver’s 
license or permit; end 

(C) the person’s driving record es main- 
tained by the Texas Department of Public Safety 
does not indicate successful completipn of a 
driving safety course under this subdivision 
within the two years immediately preceding the 
date of the alleged offense. 

(b) When the person complies with the pro- 
visions of Subsection (a) of this section and the 
evidence presented is eccepted by the court, the 
court shall dismiss the charge. 

When a charge is dismissed under this section, 
the charge may not be pert of the person’s driving 
record or used for any purpose, but the court 
shall report the fact that a person has success- 
fully completed a driving safety course and the 
date of completion to the Texas Department of 
Public Safety for inclusion in the person’s 
driving record. The court shall note in its 
report whether the course was taken under the 
procedure provided by Subdivision (2) of Sub- 
section (a) of this section for the purpose of 
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providing information necessary to determine 
eligibility to take a subsequent course under that 
subdivision. (Emphasis added). 

Resolution of your first question depends on whether the 
underscored language in section 143A applies to insurance companies. 
It has been suggested that the directive that “the charge may not be 
pert of the person’s driving record or used for any purpose” applies 
only to the courts. This language, however, is broad end is not, by 
its terms, limited to the courts. Because the prohibition is somewhat 
emb iguous, its scope depends on the legislative intent behind the 
phrase in question end behind the whole of section 143A. 

Legislative intent is derived from a general review of en entire 
enactment es well es from an examination of the circumstances existing 
at the time of enactment, any “evil” to be corrected by the statute, 
end the purpose to be accomplished by the statute. The legislature 
added section 143A to article 6701d in 1975. Acts 1975, 64th Leg., 
ch. 738, et 2406. As originally enacted, the provision applied only 
when the courts exercised their discretion to apply it. In 1979, the 
legislature emended section 143A to require the courts to apply the 
section to defendants who comply with the three requirements set forth 
in subsections (a)(2)(A), (B), and (C) of section 143A. Acts 1979, 
66th Leg., ch. 610, et 1359; see Attorney General Opinion NW-428 
(1982) . The bill analysis to thisamendment notes that 

[e]ven though [section 143A] is advantageous to 
people in that it gives them en alternative to 
traffic fines and raised insurance retes. the law 
is only applicable to those persons whom the court 
chooses to allow the benefit. (Emphasis added). 

This language indicates that one of the primary purposes for the 
alternative provided by section 143A is to prevent en increase of 
insurance premiums. 

It is significant that the bill also emended subsection (f) of 
section 21 of article 6687b, V.T.C.S., the statute governing the 
department’s jurisdiction over Texas drivers’ licenses, to provide 
that the department may not release the reasons for the completion of 
a driving safety course. The department may only release this 
information to the courts for the purpose of determining eligibility 
to take a subsequent course uuder section 143A. The fact that the 
legislature restricted the access of all persons except. the courts to 
the information indicates chat the legislature intended the 
prohibition to apply broadly. Consequently, section 143A prohibits 
insurers from considering a charge that is dismissed pursuant to 
section 143A as pert of a person’s driving record and from using the 
dismissal of the charge for “any purpose.” 
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You also ask whether, if section 143A prohibits the consideration 
of the completion of a defensive driving course under section 143A for 
insurance purposes, such consideration violates the Texas Deceptive 
Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act, Business end Commerce Code 
section 17.46, thereby allowing the board to prohibit the conduct 
under article 21.21, section 7, of the Insurance Code. Secrion 7 
authorizes the board to issue a cease end desist order against: persons 
found , after a board hearing, to have violeted the unfair 
competition/deceptive acts provisions of the Insurance Code or the 
Deceptive Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act. It should be 
noted that the board does not hold the exclusive means to regulate the 
legality of insurance practices. See Attorney General of Texas v. 
Allstate Insurance Company, 687 S.Wx 803 (Tex. App. - Dallas 1985, 
writ ref’d n.r.e.). Additionally, section 16 of article 21.21 of the 
Insurance Code creates a private cause of action for treble damages 
for injury from unfair or deceptive insurance practices (1) prohibited 
in section 4 of article 21.21, or (2) rules lawfully adopted by the 
Insurance Board under article 21.21, or (3) described in the Deceptive 
Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act as unlawful. See Royal 
Globe Insurance Company v. Bar Consultants, Inc., 577 S.W.2d688, 691 
(Tex. 1979). 

Subsection (b) (12) of section 17.46 of the Business end Commerce 
Code, the Deceptive Trade Practices Act, provides that the term 
“f else, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices includes . . . 
representing that en agreement confers or involves rights, remedies, 
or obligations which it does not have or involve, or which are 
prohibited by law.” (Emphasis added). As indicated, section 143A of 
article 6701d, V.T.C.S.. prohibits insurers from considering the 
completion of a defensive driving course under section 143A as pert of 
a person’s driving record or for any other purpose. Consequently, the 
practice could fell within et least one express prohibition of the 
Deceptive Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act. A violation of 
the act necessarily depends on the facts in each case. Royal See 
Globe Insurance Co. v. Bar Consultants, Inc., supra; Attorney General 
Opinion JK-218 (1984). 

Your final question is whether, if the practice in question does 
not violate the Deceptive Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act, 
the practice violates other Insurance Code provisions. Because your 
question is premised on a negative response to your inquiry about the 
Deceptive Trade Practices - Consumer Protection Act, it is not 
necessary to address it in full in this opinion. You should be aware, 
however, that a number of Insurance Code provisions are implicated. 
For example, article 5.09 of the code prohibits distinctions or 
discrimination between insureds having like hazards. See also Ins. 
Code art. 21.21, §4(7). Considering the completion of a defensive 
driving course as the equivalent of a conviction for insurance 
purposes raises discrimination questions. 
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Moreover, article 5.01-l of the Insurance Code provides: 

A rating plan promulgated by the State Board of 
Insurance respecting the writing of motor vehicle 
insurance, other than insurance written pursuant 
to Section 35 [assigned risk plans] of the Texas 
Motor Vehicle Safety-Responsibility Act (Article 
6701h. Vernon's Texas Civil Statutes), may not 
assign any rate consequence to a charge or convic- 
tion, or otherwise cause premiums for motor 
vehicle insurance to be increased because of a 
charge or conviction for a violation of the 
Uniform Act Regulating Traffic on Highways, as 
amended (article 6701d. Vernon's Texas Civil 
Statutes) . . (Emphasis added). 

A full discussion of these provisions is beyond the scope of your 
opinion request. 

SUMMARY 

Section 143A of article 6701d. V.T.C.S.. the 
Uniform Act Regulating Traffic on Highways, pro- 
hibits insurers from considering the completion of 
a defensive driving course under section 143A for 
the dismissal of a traffic citation as part of a 
person's driving record for insurance purposes. 
Subsection (b)(12) of section 17.46 of the Texas 
Business and Commerce Code (the Deceptive Trade 
Practices - Consumer Protection Act) defines as 
unlawful an agreement that "confers or involves 
rights, remedies, or obligations which it does not 
have or involve, or which are prohibited by law." 
Consequently, because consideration of a defensive 
driving course is prohibited by section 143A of 
article 6701d, V.T.C.S., it Is prohibited by 
subsection (b)(12) of section 17.46 of the 
Business and Commerce Code. Additionally, 
considering the completion of a defensive driving 
course under section 143A as the equivalent of a 
conviction for insurance purposes raises dis- 
crimination questions which implicate other 
orovisions of the Insurance Code. 

JIM MATTOX 
Attorney General of Texas 
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NARY KELLER 
Executive Assistant Attorney General 

JUDGE ZOLLIE STJUKLEY 
Special Assistant Attorney General 

RICK GILPIN 
Chairman, Opinion Cormnittee 

Prepared by Jennifer Riggs 
Assistant Attorney General 
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