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Dear Mr. Bradley: 

you request our opinion concerning the interpretation 
of section 31 of the Public Accountancy Act of 1979, 
article 41a-1, V.T.C.S. Section 31 was added to the act 
during the second called session of the 70th Legislature. 
Acts 1987, 70th Leg., 2nd C.S., ch. 5, art. 9, §6, at 
68-69. The pertinent part of.the new provision imposes a 
temporary increase in the fees required by the act: 

(a) Each of the following fees imposed by or 
under another section of this Act that first 
becomes due on or after the effective date of 
Article 9, H.B. 61, Acts of the 70th 
Legislature, 2nd Called Session, 1987, but. 
before August 31, 1989, is increased by $110: 

(1) annual license fee under Section 9(a) 
of this Act for Certified Public Accountants: 

(2) renewal fee under Section 9(a) of 
this Act for Certified Public Accountants: 
and 

(3) fee for issuance of a certificate of 
Certified Public Accountants under Section 13 
of this Act. 

V.T.C.S. art. 41a-1, 531(a). Section 9(a) imposes an 
annual license fee of not more than $60 and an annual 
license renewal fee of not more than $60. An additional 
penalty of $20 is charged for reinstatement of licenses 
cancelled because of failure to pay the renewal fee; a 
license may be reinstated upon payment of this penalty 
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only during the licensing year for which the fee was 
unpaid. These fees must be paid by the following persons 
prior to the issuance of a license: 

(1) holders of the certificate of 'Certi- 
fied"Public Accountant' issued under this or 
prior Acts: and 

(2) such persons as are registered with 
the board under the provisions of this or 
prior Acts. 

V.T.C.S. art. 41a-1, 59(a). Section 13 of the act imposes 
a fee of not more than $100 for the issuance of a certifi- 
cate of "Certified Public Accountant8* by reciprocity. 

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy has 
adopted three interpretations of section 31. The first 
interpretation and the board's reasoning follows: 

It is the int'erpretation of the Texas State 
Board of public Accountancy (the Board) that 
the $110 fee increases identified in [sub- 
divisions] (l), (2) 8 and (3) [of section 
31(a)] are restricted to certified vublic 
gccountants only rather than all license 
fees prescribed in Section 9(a) of the Act. 
The Board came to this conclusion by the 
following deductions: 

Section 9(a) of the Act specifies that 
licenses shall be issued to '(1) the 
holders of the certificate of "Certified 
Public Accountant" issued under this or 
prior Acts; and (2) such persons as 'are 
registered with the Board under the 
provisions of this or prior Acts.' 

Had the Legislature intended to impose 
the temporary $110 fee on &A&. licenses, 
it would have done so without the in- 
clusion of the language 'for certified 
public accountants.* The Board feels 
that the addition of this language 
clearly restricts the temporary $110 
fee increase to those identified ' 
Section 9(a)(l) of the Act. (Emphasis ii 
original.) 
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In another context, this office advised the board that a 
professional corporation cannot be issued a certificate of 
**Certified Public Accountant.nl Acting upon this advice, 
the board has concluded that the temporary fee increase 
imposed by section 31 does not 
corporations 

apply to professional 
or partnerships registered under section 

9(a)(2) of the act. 

The cardinal rule of statutory interpretation is to 
ascertain legislative intent. Winton v, Frank, 545 S.W.2d 
442 (Tex. 1976). Whenever possible, legislative intent is' 
determined from the language of the statute. Crimmins v. 
&ygy, 691 S.W.Zd 582 (Tex. 1985). If the intent of the 
legislature is apparent from the words of the statute, 
there is no need to consult extrinsic sources for evidence 
of such intent. Winton v. Frank suvra. Therefore, 
unless a statute is ambiguous, we ar; compelled to follow 
the clear language of the statute. RevublicBank Dallas, 
N.A. v. Interkal. Inc., 691 S.W.2d 605 (Tex. 1985). 

If the meaning of a statute is doubtful or ambiguous, 
the contemporaneous construction of the statute by the 
agency charged with its administration is given weight. 
See Calvert v. Kadane, 427 S.W.Zd 605 (Tex. 1968). An 
administrative agency's construction of a statute is not 
controlling, however. Bullock v. Ramada Texas, Inc., 609 
S.W.Zd 537 (Tex. 1980). It is valid only insofar as it is 
consistent with statutory language and will not be allowed 
the effect of expanding or contracting the language of the 
statute. See Firestone Tire and Rubber co. v. Bullock, 
573 S.W.Zd 498, 500 (Tex. 1978). 

We conclude that the board's first interpretation of 
section 31 reflects the plain language of that provision. 
By the terms of section 31, the temporary fee increase is 
to be collected for licenses issued for certified public 
accountants under section 9(a) or section 13. Under 
section 9(a), licenses are issued to "holders of the 
certificate of 'Certified Public Accountant"' and to "such 

1. you have not asked us to reconsider this advice. 
We believe, however, that the language of article 41a-1 
clearly supports the conclusion. See V.T.C.S. art. 41a-1, 
§§8, 12. Therefore, it is unnecessary to reexamine in 
this opinion the cogent analysis of the issue provided 
therein. 
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persons [including partnerships and corporations] as are 
registered with the board.n Because only natural persons 
may hold a certificate of "Certified Public Accountant," 
the reference to certified public accountants in section 
31 necessarily excludes corporations and partnerships from 
its coverage. Therefore, we believe the board's interpre- 
tation of section 31 with respect to corporations and 
partnerships registered with the board under section 
9(a)(2) is reasonable. 

The board has also interpreted section 31 to' require 
payment of the temporary fee increase only twice during 
the .period in which the fee increase is in effect. 

The Board has also concluded that the 
temporary license fee increase applies to 
the annual licenses (January 1, through 
December 31) for a CPA and does not apply in 
those situations where an initial licensee 
paw a prorated portion of the annual 
license fee and is licensed for less than 
365 days. It is the Board's understanding 
that the legislative 'intent of HB 531 [sic] 
was for the Board to collect the temporary 
increase for the 1988 and 1989 license years 
(two years only), and the imposition of the 
$110 temporary increase in the remaining 
months of 1987 would cause an initial 
licensee to pay the fee three times. 

The board has put in place a licensing program that runs 
from January 1 to December 31 of each year. Fees for 
licenses issued during a license year are prorated and 
expire on December 31 of the license year. 

Section 31 of the act states that the temporary fee 
increase applies to annual license fees and renewal fees 
that "first become due on or after the effective date of 
Article 9, Ii. B. No. 61, Acts of the 70th Legislature, 2nd 
Called Session, 1987, but before August 31, 1989." 
Article 9 of House Bill No. 61 became effective September 
1, 1987. m Acts 1987, 70th Leg., 2nd C.S., ch. 5, art. 
9, 914(a), at 74; Acts 1987, 70th Leg., 2nd C.S., ch. 8, 
at 88-89 (supplying two-thirds vote of both houses of the 
legislature required to satisfy article III, section 39 of 
the Texas Constitution). Subsection (c) of section 31 
requires payment of the entire $110 amount even if the 
license fee or renewal fee covers a period that extends 
beyond the August 31, 1989, expiration date. 
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We believe that the language of section 31 is un- 
equivocal and requires the $110 fee increase to be added 
to all designated license or renewal fees that first 
become due between September 1, 1987 and August 31, 1989. 
This would include initial license fees collected by the 
board for that portion of the 1987 license year following 
September 1, 1987. There are two reasons for our 
conclusion. First, initial licenses, like all licenses 
issued by the board, are issued pursuant to section 9. 
Section 31 states clearly that each annual license fee 
issued under section 9(a) that first becomes due between 
the relevant dates must be increased by $110. It makes no 
exception for initial licensees. The board may not read 
into the statute exceptions that are not embodied therein 
Stubbs v. Lowrev's Heirs, 253 S.W.2d 312 (Tex. Civ. App. - 
Eastland 1952, writ ref'd n.r.e.). Second, if the legis- 
lature had intended the fee increase to be charged only 
twice during the period in which it is in effect, it could 
plainly have stated so. The legislature could also have 
expressed such intent by simply making the act effective 
on January 1; 1988. It did neither. Furthermore, we are 
obliged to give effect to acts of the legislature. We 
must therefore presume that the legislature had a definite 
purpose in mind when it provided for the September 1, 
1987, effective date. To read section 1 as the board has 
is to effectively nullify section 31 for four months and 
make it effective on January 1, 1988, a result the 
legislature took great pains to avoid. Accordingly, we 
disagree with the board's interpretation of section 31 
with respect to initial licensees. 

your third question is whether the board may reduce 
the $110 temporary fee increase for VetiredV1 licensees. 
Section 9(c) of article 41a-1 authorizes the board to 
"adopt a system by which individual licensees over age 65 
may qualify for a reduced license fee." Pursuant to 
that provision, the board has adopted a rule that sets a 
reduced fee for licensees over age 65. 22 T.A.C. 3515.8. 
you ask whether section 9(c) allows the board to reduce 
the temporary $110 license fee set out in section 31 of 
article 41a-1 as well as the annual fee provided for in 
section 9(a). Section 31 provides that the "annual 
license fee under Section 9(a)" iS increased by $110. 
Thus, section 31 temporarily increases the license fee 
under section 9(a): it does not impose a different fee or 
tax. Section 9(c) gives the board authority to reduce the 
"license fee" for licensees over age 65. We think that 
“license fee" in section 9(c) must be read to include the 
entire license fee: i.e., the annual fee as well as the 
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temporary $110 increase. Therefore, we think that section 
9(c) gives the board authority to reduce the total fee for 
qualified licensees over age 65. 

SUMMARY 

Professional corporations and partner- 
ships licensed pursuant to section 9(a)(2) 
of article 41a-1, V.T.C.S., are not required 
to pay the $110 temporary fee increase 
imposed by section 31 of the act; Initial 
licensees are required to pay the fee 
increase. The Texas State Board of Public 
Accountancy may reduce the license fee for 
qualified licensees over the age of 65. 

Very truly yo r , 

J AJdk A 
JIM MATTOX 
Attorney General of Texas 

MARY KELLER 
First Assistant Attorney General 

Lou MCCREARY 
Executive Assistant Attorney General 

JUDGE ZOLLJE STEAKLBY 
Special Assistant Attorney General 

RICK GILPIN 
Chairman, Opinion Committee 

Prepared by Steve Aragon 
Assistant Attorney General 
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