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Opinion No. JR-948 

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission Re: Authority of the 
P. 0. Box 13127, Capitol Station Alcoholic Beverage Com- 
Austin, Texas 78711 mission to prorate club 

membership for purposes 
of determining permit 
fees for a private club 
registration permit 
(RQ-1432) 

Dear Mr. McBeath: 

Your request letter describes the along-standing 
practice of the Alcoholic Beverage Commission of 
"prorat[ing] each member's membership for that portion of 
the year during which he or she was a member" for purposes 
of calculating the permit fee due from private clubs ~issued 
permits under chapter 32 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code. 
you ask whether the Commission is "presently authorized or 
required to continue" this practice. 

Section 32.02 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code provides 
in part: 

. 
(b) The permit fee shall be based on the 

hiuhest number f m mbers in good standing 
during the year Tar zhich permit fee is to be 
paid according to the following rates: 

0 to 250--$ 750 651 to 750--82,250 
251 to 350--$1,050 751 to 850--$2,550 
351 to 450--$1,350 051 to 950--$2,850 
451 to 550--$1,650 951 to l,OOO--$3,000 
551 to 650--$1,950 Over l,OOO--$3 per member. 

(c) All fees collected pursuant to this 
section shall be deposited in the general 
revenue fund. 
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(d) No later than 90 days before the 
expiration of the year for which the permit 
fee is paid, the permit holder may submit an 
amended application with as much additional 
fee as is required under the amended return. 
(Emphasis added.) 

The commission's request as to the propriety of contin- 
uing its practice of prorating membership for determining 
permit fees was apparently prompted by arguments of persons 
in the State Auditor's office that permit fees should be 
based on the hiahe t n mber 
pursuant to subsectik (E) 

of members during the year 
of section 32.02, and not on a 

DrOrated UM3mberShi.D ficure, the latter method possibly 
venue legally due to the state from resulting in a loss-of rG 

the permitting process. 

its request letter has advanced 
its continuing the proration of 
calculation, which arguments we 

The commission in 
arguments in support of 
membership method of fee 
summarize as follows: 

Prior to 1971, and prior to the codification in 1977 of 
the Alcoholic Beverage Coded,. the Texas Liquor Control Act 
provided that permits of the sort issued to private clubs 
expired on the next August 31 following the dates of 
issuance. Penal Code art. 666-13(a), (repealed); art. 
666-15e(6), (repealed). At that time, article 666-15(b) 
provided that if a fee was %ollected for a portion of the 
year" . . . "only the proportionate part of the fee levied 
for such permit shall be collected.*q Also, article 666-15e, 
applying specifically to private club permits, required 
proration of private club permit fees pursuant to article 
666-15(b). 

In 1971, article 666-13(a) was amended to provide that 
all permits expired one year from the date of issuance. 
Acts 1971, 62d Leg., ch. 65, 5 7, at 686. But the proration 
provisions of articles 666-15(b) and 666-15e, cited above, 
were not amended or repealed at that time. 

In 1977, the provisions of the Texas Liquor Control Act 
were repealed and many of its provisions codified as the 
Alcoholic Beverage Code. Acts 1977, 65th Leg., ch. 194. 
The provision that all permits expire one year from the date 
of issuance became, at that time, section 11.09 of the 
Alcoholic Beverage Code. The' proration provisions of former 
articles 666-15(b) and 666-15e were, however, omitted from 
the new code. The revisor's note, appearing after section 
11.71 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code, states that the 
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proration provisions were omitted in the code because the 
1971 amendment providing that permits expire one year from 
the date of issuance made the proration provisions obsolete. 

The commission argues that "since 1962, some nine years 
prior to the 1971 amendments and fifteen years before the 
codification of the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code," it has 
followed the practice of prorating memberships for fee 
determination purposes. It argues, in effect, that the 
proration provisions, which were not repealed until 1977 
with the adoption of the Alcoholic Beverage Code, have auth- 
orized its practice of prorating membership and that since 
those provisions were *'substantive," their omission from the 
Alcoholic Beverage Code was due to an error of the revisors. 
In light of provisions in the code, in the act adopting it, 
and in the Government Code, to the effect that the Alcoholic 
Beverage Code was only non-substantive revision of prior 
law, the commission argues, in effect, that the proration 
provisions, being substantive, constitute still subsisting 
law authorizing the commission*s membership proration 
practice. See, Alto. Bev. Code 5 1.01(a); Acts 1977, 65th 
Leg., ch. 194, 5 7, at 558; Gov't Code g 323.007(b). The 
commission also argues that the long-standing practice of 
the commission, based on its construction of the provisions 
discussed above, supports such construction, particularly in 
view of the non-intervention of the legislature over that 
time, citing, inter alia Stenhens COUntv v. Hefner, 
Tex. 397, 
adopted).1 

16 S.W.2d 804'(Tex. 
118 

Comm'n App. 1929, opinion 

We disagree with the commission's position. "The rule 
that a departmental ruling adhered to through years of 
administering a statute will be given weight, only applies 
to statutes of doubtful construction.l' ~A11 
Associated Retail Credit Men of Austin, 41 S.W.!d 45Um(Tez: 
Comm'n App. 1931). We do not find that the provisions 
governing calculation of club membership for purposes of 
assessing a permit fee have ever supported the construction 
placed on them by the commission in adopting its proration 
method of calculating the number of members, and thus, the 
amount due for the permit fee. 

1. The commission notes that separate substantive 
amendments to the Liquor Control Act in 1977 left the 
proration provisions unchanged. Acts 1977, 65th Leg., ch. 
453. 
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The provisions for issuance of private club permits 
were first adopted in 1961, and that legislation made the 
substantially identical provision, that calculation of the 
fee is based on "the highest number of members in good 
standing during the year," as is currently made in section 
32.02 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code. Acts 1961, 57th Leg., 
ch. 262, § 1, at 560. We believe that even in 1961, when 
the proration provision of repealed article 666-15(b) was in 
effect, the proration provision had no applicability to the 
calculation of a club's membership. Article 666-15(b) on 
its face provided only for proration of the fee where a fee 
was collected for a portion of a year. We believe the 
commission's adoption of a practice in 1962 of proratina the 
nEmberShiD was unwarranted by any logical reading of the 
controlling provisions, particularly since the provision 
which is now section 32.02 cf the code has provided since 
its inception in 1961 that the fee "shall be based on the 
hiahest number of members." 

We do concede that not all of the provisions of the 
Alcoholic Beverage Code are models of clarity. Section 
32.16 provides, for example: 

No private club registration permittee may 
allow its averaae membership to exceed that 
authorized by its permit. (Emphasis added.) 

It would appear somewhat anomalous to have provided in 
section 32.02 that the permit fee is based on the hiahest 
number of members, but in section 32.16 that a permittee may 
not allow its averaae membership to exceed that authorized 
by the permit. However, section 32.16 is not applicable to 
the fee calculation under section 32.02. It appears, rath- 
er, to operate in conjunction with section 32.17, subsection 
(a)(S), which provides that a permit may be cancelled or 
suspended on a finding that the permittee club has violated 
any provision of the code. EiSSalso section 1.05 of the 
code providing criminal penalties for a violation of a pro- 
vision of the code.) 

We also concede that the fee assessment provisions 
themselves present certain administrative difficulties for 
the commission.. Subsection (b) of section 32.02 indicates 
on its face that "[t]he permit fee shall be based on the 
hiahest number of members in good standing during the year 
for which the permit fee is to be paid." A permit expires 
one year after the date it issued. Alto. Bev. Code 5 11.09. 
However, since the fee is payable in advance at the time of 
the application for a permit or renewal permit (section 
11.35), the calculation of the fee "based on the highest 
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number of members . . . during the year for which the permit 
fee is to be paid" is necessarily only an estimate. 
Subsection (d) of section 32.02, providing for "amended 
applications" no later than ninety days before a permit's 
expiration, somewhat but not entirely mitigates the problem 
of assessing a fee based on the highest number of members 
during the year since the membership cannot be ascertained 
with certainty until the nn8 of the year in question. The 
commission has informed us that it has found the subsection 
(d) amendment procedure insufficient for determining actual 
amounts due on permit fees under subsection (a), because the 
membership might change after submission of the amended 
application, and because the procedure led to frequent 
overpayment of fees. Amounts overpaid, once deposited in 
the general revenue fund, could not be reimbursed without 
legislative action. Tex. Const. art. VIII, 9 6. Similar 
administrative problems exist under the present procedure. 

The commission informs us that, instead of following 
the subsection (d) amendment procedure, it has relied on 
routine audits of licensees once accurate membership figures 
are available at the end of the permit year. However, the 
method of calculation used, even in such audits, for 
determining club membership for purposes of fee assessment 
has apparently been the membership proration method referred 
to above rather than one determining the hiahest number of 
members during the year pursuant to the language in 
subsection (b).2 

But again, even granting that the fee assessment 
provisions present administrative difficulties, we do not 
believe that those provisions are or have been ambiguous 
such that the board was warranted in construing the 
requirement of section 32.02(b), that the fee "shall be 
based on the highest number of members," as authority to 
base the fee determination on a prorated membership figure. 

2. Please note that we do not address, because you do 
not raise, any issues with respect to the operation of the 
amendment procedure provided for in subsection (d) of 
section 32.02 or with respect to the commission's practice 
of determining additional fees due by use of a routine audit 
rather than the amendment procedure. 

~7.4788 



Honorable W. S. McBeath - Page 6 (JM-948) 

.-, 

SUMMARY 

The Alcoholic Beverage Commission is not 
authorized to prorate private club membership 
for purposes of determining the permit fee 
under Alcoholic Beverage Code section 32.02. 
Under section 32.02, the permit fee is based 
on the hj,g&& number of members in good 
standing during the year for which the permit 
fee is to be paid, rather than on a prorated 
membership figure. . 

JIM MATTOX 
Attorney General of Texas 

MARY KELLER 
First Assistant Attorney General 

LCUMCCREARY 
Executive Assistant Attorney General 

JUDGE ZOLLIE STEAELBY 
Special Assistant Attorney General 

RICK GILPIN 
Chairman, Opinion Committee 

Prepared by William Walker 
Assistant Attorney General 
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