State of Texas

DAN MORALES

ATTORNEY GENERAL November 23, 1993
Honorable Mike Driscoll Letter Opinion No. 93-102
Harris County Attorney
1001 Preston, Suite 634 Re: Clarification of Letter Opinion No. 92-7
Houston, Texas 77002-1891 (1992) (ID# 22015)
Dear Mr. Driscoll:

You have asked us to clarify Letter Opinion 92-7 (1992) with regard to the
following questions:

1. Whether the County Clerk is authorized to collect a Records
Management and Preservation Fee, pursuant to TEX. LOC. GOV'T
CODE ANN. § 118.011(b)}(2) (Vernon 1988), on all documents filed
in her office? If not, then on which documents is the County Clerk
authorized to collect said fee?

2.  Whether the County Clerk may impose a Records Management
and Preservation Fee, pursuant to TEX. LOC. GOV'T CODE ANN.
§ 118.011(b)}2) (Vernon 1988), on certain documents filed in her
office while choosing to exempt other documents from such fee?

3. Whether the County Clerk may impose a Records Management
and Preservation Fee, pursuant to TEX. LOC. GOV'T CODE ANN,
§ 118.011(b)(2) (Vernon 1988), at differing rates, up to the $5
statutory limit, for different types of documents filed in her office?

Section 118.011 of the Local Government Code, the section about which you
specifically ask, articulates a fee schedule for services a county clerk renders. Subsection
(a) of section 118.011 lists fees that a county clerk is required to collect; subsection (b)
lists fees that a clerk is authorized, but not required, to collect, including a "Records
Management and Preservation Fee" of "not more than $5." Section 118.0216 provides
that the records management and preservation fee shall be used "for the records
management and preservation services performed by the county clerk after the filing and
recording of a document in the records of the office of the clerk. . . . The fee may be used
only to provide funds for specific records preservation and automation projects."

We examined these two provisions in Letter Opinion No. 92-7 (1992) in response
to a series of questions about the use of the records management and preservation fee that
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section 118.011(b){2) of the Local Government Code authorizes a county clerk to collect.
We stated in pertinent part as follows:

[You ask] whether the charging of a records management fee is
completely discretionary with the county clerk. Section 118.011(b)
of the Local Government Code states that the clerk "may set and
collect the following fee.” (Emphasis added.) Thus, whether the fee
is to be collected is within the county clerk's discretion. The clerk
may also fix the amount of the fee, so long as it does not exceed
$5.00. You also inquire whether the fee may be collected for
"probate and civil cases” and "in probate proceedings where
instruments are filed after the 90 day filing deadiine.” In accordance
with section 118.0216, the records management fee may be collected
upon the "filing and recording” of any document. The statute
requires neither the type of proceeding nor the timeliness of filing to
be considered in collecting the fee.

For another letter opinion construing sections 118.011(b)}2) and 118.0216 of the Local
Government Code, see Letter Opinion No. 92-81 (1992).

Since this office issued Letter Opinion No. 92-7, the legislature has amended
chapter 118 of the Local Government Code to make further provisions for records
management and preservation fees. See Acts 1993, 73d Leg., ch. 675, §§ 1-6, at 2509-11
(S.B. 1058). The legislature revised section 118.052, which articulates a fee schedule for
services a county clerk renders in civil court actions and probate court actions, as well as
miscellaneous fees that a county clerk is required to charge. In particular, the legislature
added to the list of miscellaneous fees a records management and preservation fee of
$5.00. See id. § 1, at 2510 (adding subsection (3)(F) to Local Gov't Code § 118.052).
The legislature also added to subchapter C, chapter 118 of the Local Government Code
sections 118.0546 and 118.0645, which state as follows:

Sec. 118.0546. RECORDS MANAGEMENT AND PRESER-
VATION FEE--CIVIL. CASES. (a) The fee for "Records
Management and Preservation” under Section 118.052 is for the
records management and preservation services performed by the
county as required by Chapter 203.

(b) The fee shall be assessed as cost and must be paid at the
time of filing any civil case or ancillary pleading thereto.

(c) The fee shall be placed in a special fund to be called the
records management and preservation fund.

(d) The fee shall be used only for records management and
preservation purposes in the county. No expenditure may be made
from this fund without prior approval of the commissioners court.
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VATION FEE--PROBATE CASES. (a) The fee for "Records
Management and Preservation" under Section 118.052 is for the
records management and preservation services performed by the
county as required by Chapter 203.

(b) The fee shall be assessed as cost and must be paid at the
time of filing any probate case or adverse probate action.

(c) The fee shall be placed in a special fund entitled records
management and preservation fund.

(d) The fee shall be used only for records management and
preservation purposes in the county as required by Chapter 203. No
expenditure may be made from this fund without prior approval of
the commissioners court.

See id. §§ 2, 3, at 2510. In addition, the legislature amended article 102.005 of the Code
of Criminal Procedure by adding subsection (d), which requires a defendant convicted of
an offense in a county court to "pay a fee of $10 for records management and preservation
services performed by the county.” See id. § 6, at 2511.

The House of Representatives added these amendments into Senate Bill 1058 on
the floor of the house during the bill's second reading. See Debate on C.S.S.B. 1058 on
the Floor of the House, 73d Leg. (May 24, 1993) (tape available from House Committee
Services Office). As introduced by Representative Eckels, the amendment proposed
revisions not only to the provisions in chapter 118 relating to civil court actions and
probate court actions, but also to section 118.0216 of the Local Government Code
explicitly enumerating types of records that are subject to the imposition of the records
management and preservation fee that section 118.011(b)(2) authorizes a county clerk to
collect. The proposed amendment also listed types of records that are not subject to the
imposition of the fee.! See H.J. of Tex., 73d Leg., at 3322-26 (1993). The legislature did

1As proposed, Representative Eckels' amendment to C.5.S.B. 1058 would have modified section
118.0216 of the Locat Government Code to provide in pertinent part as follows:

The fee for "Records Management and Preservation™ under Section 118.011
is for the records management and preservation services performed by the county

nmmm_w_mmu_ [elerk] aﬂer the ﬁlms of a docyment that is required
fil foll :
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not incorporate into the enrolled bill the proposed amendments to section 118.0216 of the
Local Government Code.

You first ask whether a county clerk may collect a records management and
preservation fee on all documents filed in the clerk's office. Letter Opinion No. 92-7
stated that the clerk may collect the records management and preservation fee "upon the
filing and recording’ of any document." (Emphasis in original.) In light of the legislature's
recent actions on this matter, we are able to clarify our previous answer. Pursuant to
sections 118.052(3)X(F), 118.0546, and 118.0645 of the Local Government Code, a county
clerk is required, not merely authorized, to collect a records management and preservation
fee in the amount of $5.00 upon the "filing of any civil case or ancillary pleading thereto"?
and upon the "filing of any probate case or adverse probate action.” Thus, a document
relating to a civil case or a probate case is subject to the mandatory $5.00 records
- management and preservation fee only if the document initiates the case; if the document
is an "ancillary pleading” to a civil case; or if the document initiates an adverse probate
action, see Letter Opinion No. 93-78 (1993) at 2. A county clerk may not impose a

H.J. of Tex., 73d Leg., at 3322-23 (1993).

The amendments that Representative Eckels proposed to add to C.S.S.B. 1058 came from another
bill that he had introduced in the Seventy-Third Legislature which did not make it to the floor of the
house. That bill, H.B. 2215, related only “to records management and preservation fees used by counties”;
it did not pertain to various other fees that local governments and state agencies impose and collect, as did
C.S.S.B. 1058. Because "[nJumerous requests for Attorney General opinions have been made in relation
10 [sections 118.011(b)X2) and 118.0216 of the Local Government Code, which the Seventy-Second
Legislature added], resulting finally in a recommendation by the Attorney General that the legislature
clarify the law on the [records management and preservation fee),” the bifl was designed *[t]o clarify the
provisions of the Local Government Code relating to records management and preservation fees." House
Comm. on County Affairs, Bill Analysis, HB. 2215, 73d Leg. (1993).

2During the third reading of C.S.5.B. 1058 on the floor of the house, Representative Cook

to amend the bill by deleting “or ancillary pleading thereto” "because there's really not a

definition of what that is." Debate on C.5.5.B. 1058 on the Floor of the House, 73d Leg. (May 25, 1993)

(tape available from House Committee Services Office). Obviously, Representative Cook's proposed
amendment failed.
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records management and preservation fee in any amount upon the filing of any other
document relating to a civil case or probate case.

Additionally, pursuant to article 102.005(d) of the Code of Criminal Procedure, a
county clerk must charge a defendant convicted of an offense "a fee of $10 for records
management and preservation services performed by the county." In our opinion, the
clerk may not charge a records management and preservation fee upon the filing of any
individual document in connection with a criminal case; the $10.00 fee that the defendant
pays upon conviction is meant to cover the handling of all documents filed in relation to
the case. If the defendant is not convicted, the county clerk will not collect a records
management and preservation fee. Finally, as to any document that is filed and recorded
in the records of a county clerk but that is not related to a civil case, a probate case, or a
criminal case, the clerk is authorized, but not required, to impose a records management
and preservation fee of “not more than $5." See Local Gov't Code § 118.011(b}2). In
our opinion, the fact that the legislature rejected Representative Eckels' proposal to amend
section 118.0216 of the Local Government Code explicitly to list types of records that are
not subject to the imposition of the discretionary records management and preservation
fee, see supra note 1 and accompanying text, indicates that the legislature intended every
document which is unrelated to a civil case, probate case, or criminal case to be subject to
the fee (unless another statute expressly forbids the imposition of such a fee on a particular
type of document, see Elec. Code §§ 1.002(b), 12.003 (prohibiting registrar from charging
fee for performing function related to voter registration)).

You ask whether a county clerk may impose the records management and
preservation fee on certain documents filed in the clerk's office while choosing to exempt
other documents from the fee. We understand you to ask only about those documents
subject to the discretionary records management and preservation fee pursuant to section
118.011(b)X2) of the Local Government Code. In our opinion, the legisiature intended
that a county clerk who chooses to impose the records management and preservation fee
would impose the fee "across the board"; thus, if the clerk chooses to impose the fee, he
or she must collect the fee on all documents unrelated to a civil case, probate case, or
criminal case (unless, again, another statute expressly forbids the imposition of such a fee
on a particular type of document). Consequently, we conclude that, in regard to
documents subject to the discretionary record management and preservation fee pursuant
to section 118.011(b){2) of the Local Government Code, a county clerk generally may not
impose a records management and preservation fee on certain documents filed in the
clerk's office while choosing to exempt other documents from the fee.

Finally, you ask whether the county clerk may impose a records management and
preservation fee that is not more than $5.00, but that varies, depending on the type of
document filed. Again, we understand you to ask only about those documents subject to
the discretionary records management and preservation fee that a county clerk collects
pursuant to section 118.011(b){(2). We believe the legislature intended that a county clerk
who chooses to impose the records management and preservation fee would impose the
same fee on all documents unrelated to a civil case, probate case, or criminal case.
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Consequently, we conclude that a county clerk may not impose a records management and
preservation fee that varies depending on the type of document filed.

SUMMARY

Pursuant to sections 118.052(3)(F), 118.0546, and 118.0645 of
the Local Government Code, a county clerk is required to collect a
records management and preservation fee in the amount of $5.00
upon the filing of any document relating to a civil case or a probate
case if the document initiates the case, is an "ancillary pleading” to a
civil case, or initiates an adverse probate action. A county clerk may
not impose a records management and preservation fee upon the
filing of any other document relating to a civil case or probate case.
Additionally, pursuant to article 102.005(d) of the Code of Criminal
Procedure, a county clerk must charge a defendant convicted of an
offense a records management and preservation fee of $10.00. The
clerk may not charge a records management and preservation fee on
any of the individual documents filed in connection with a criminal
case. Asto any document that is filed and recorded in the records of
a county clerk but that is not related to a civil case, a probate case, or
a criminal case, section 118.011(b}(2) of the Local Government
Code authorizes, but does not require, a county clerk to impose a
records management and preservation fee of "not more than $5"
(unless another statute expressly forbids the imposition of such a fee
on a particular type of document).

In regard to documents subject to the discretionary record
management and preservation fee pursuant to section 118.011(b)(2)
of the Local Government Code, a county clerk generally may not
impose a records management and preservation fee on certain
documents filed in the clerk's office while choosing to exempt other
documents from the fee. Furthermore, a county clerk may not
impose a records management and preservation fee that varies
depending on the type of document filed.

Yours very truly,

ety Uhy—

Assistant Attoney General
Opinion Committee



