State of Texas

DAN MORALES

ATTORNEY GENERAL September 22, 1998
The Honorable Rodney Ellis Letter Opinion No. 98-076
Chair, Jurisprudence Committee
Texas State Senate Re: Clarification of Attorney General Opinion
P.O. Box 12068 DM-464 (1997): Time Payment Fee imposed by
Austin, Texas 78711 section 51.921, Government Code )

Dear Senator Ellis:

You have requested our opinion regarding Attorney General Opinion (1 997), in
which we addressed questions about the time payment fee imposed by section 51.921 of the
Government Code. A question has arisen as to whether the $25.00 fee may be assessed more than

- once i)er court order if a defendant initially defaults on a payment plan and the court later agrees to
r@instate the payment plan.

Section 51.921 of the Government Code provides:

In addition to other fees authorized or required by law, the clerk of each
district court, statutory county court, county court of law, justice court, and
municipal court shall collect a fee of $25 from a person who:

(1) has been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor;

(2) has been ordered to pay a fine, court costs, or restitution
by the court; and

(3) seeks to pay the fine, court costs, or restitution over a
period of time rather than immediately.

Section 51.921 allows the collection of a fee of $25 when a convicted defendant opts not to pay his
fine, court costs, or restitution immediately. A court is authorized to reinstate a payment plan after
a defendant has defaulted on payment, but not to impose a second time payment fee on the same
judgment of conviction.

A court must impose a separate time payment fee for each separate conviction for which
payment is not immediate. If, for example, a court finds a defendant guilty of three separate
offenses, the court is required to enter a judgment of conviction on each charge. If the defendant
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chooses not to pay the fine and court costs immediately, each judgment of conviction will carry a
separate time payment fee. Although the court has the discretion to order a consolidated payment
plan incorporating all three convictions, each judgment of conviction will nonetheless require the
payment of a separate $25 time payment fee.

You also ask whether “local governments retain their statutory authority to enforce fine
payment, as they would had the $25.00 time payment fee never been assessed.” Section 51.921 does
not purport to alter a court’s authority to enforce payment of fines. Article 43.03 of the Code of
Criminal Procedure provides:

(a) If a defendant is sentenced to pay a fine or costs or both and he
defaults in payment, the court after a hearing under Subsection (d) of this
article may order him confined in jail until discharged as provided by law or
may order him to discharge the fines and costs in any other manner provided
by Article 43.09 of this code. . . .

A hearing under subsection (d) of article 43.03 requires that the court make a determination that the
~ defendant either is not indigent or has wilfully refused to pay the fine, and that no alternative method
of discharging the fine and costs is appropriate. Thus, in answer to your second question, local
governments retain the statutory authority to enforce payment of fines.

SUMMARY

The $25.00 time payment fee authorized by section 51.921 of the
Government Code must be assessed once per judgment of conviction when
a defendant opts not to pay a fine, court costs, or restitution immediately. A
court may not assess a second time payment fee when a payment plan is
reinstated after default. Local governments retain their statutory authority to
enforce payment of fines.

Yours very truly,

Rick Gilpin ’
Deputy Chief
Opinion Committee



