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July 30, 1991 

county attorney ’ 

CERTIFIED MAIL 
&ETURN RECEIPT REOUESTED RQ -1% 

Hon. Dan Morales 
Attorney General of Texas 
Supreme Court Building RECEIVED 
P-0. BOX 12.548 
Austin, Texas 78711-2548 4801Qi 
Attention: Madeleine B. Johnson Opinion Committee 

Chairman, Opinion Committee 

RE: 1. MAY THE COUNTY CLERK CHARGE A FILING 
FEE, AT THE TIME OF FILING, FOR THE RELEASE OF 
JUDGMENT THAT IS TO BE PREPARED AND EXECUTED 
PURSUANT TO H.B. 27587 

2. SHOULD THE RELEASE OF JUDGMENT CREATED 
UNDER H.B. 2758 BE FILED IN THE COURT FILE AS 
WELL AS THE REAL PROPERTY RECORDS? 

3. MAY THE COUNTY CLERX COLLECT A $50.00 
HANDLING FEE WHEN THE FUNDS TO SATISFY A 
JUDGMENT ARE DEPOSITED WITH THE REGISTRY OF THE 
COURT PURSUANT TO H.B. 2758? 

Dear Sir: 

The Act of May 17, 1991, H.B. 2758, 72nd Leg., R.S. (to be 
codified at Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code Ann. Section 31.008) 
authorizes a judgment debtor to pay then judgment owed to the court 
that rendered the judgment., in lieu of paying same to the judgment 
creditor, whose location 1s unknown to the judgment debtor. The 
County Clerk of Harris County has requested advice on the above- 
referenced questions which deal with the implementation of this new 
statutory provision. 

Please furnish us with your opinion on the questions presented. 
A Memorandum Brief is enclosed. In that this statute 
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becomes effective on September 1, 1991, we would appreciate your 
replying before that date. 

Sincerely, 

MIRE DRISCOLL 

MD:RLF 
Enclosure 

Assistant County Attorney 
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MEMORANDUM BRIEF 

RE: 1. MAY THE COUNTY CLERK CHARGE A FILING 
FEE, AT THE TIME OF FILING, FOR THE RELEASE OF 
JUDGMENT THAT IS TO BE PREPARED AND EXECUTED 
PURSUANT TO H.B. 2758? 

2. SHOULD THE RELEASE OF JUDGMENT CREATED UNDER 
H.B. 2758 BE FILED IN THE COURT FILE AS WELL AS 
THE REAL PROPERTY RECORDS? 

3. MAY THE COUNTY CLERK COLLECT A $50.00 
HANDLING FEE WHEN THE FUNDS TO SATISFY A 
JUDGMENT ARE DEPOSITED WITH THE REGISTRY OF THE 
COURT PURSUANT TO H.B. 2758? 

H.B. 2750, which is to be codified as Section 31.008, Tex. Civ. 
Prac. h Rem. Code Ann., sets forth a procedure whereby a judgment 
debtor, who does not know the location of his judgment creditor, may 
pay the entire amount of the judgment he owes into the Court 
Registry. In return, the judge or the clerk of the court shall 
execute a recordable release of judgment on behalf of the judgment 
creditor and issue the release to the judgment debtor. However, 
prior to being able to afford himself of this process of paying the 
judgment directly to the court, the judgment debtor must attempt to 
give the judgment creditor notice at his last address and only upon 
the judgment creditor failing to respond to said notice, may the 
judgment debtor proceed to pay the court the entire amount of .the 
judgment. 

Subsection (c) of H.B. 2758 provides that the court shall hold 
the amount paid by the judgment debtor and interest earned thereon 
in trust for the judgment creditor. 

Subsection (d) of H.B. 2758 provides that the clerk of the 
court shall deposit the trust funds and any interest earned by the 
funds in the clerk's trust fund account and shall pay the funds and 
any interest earned by the funds to the judgment creditor or to the 
successors to the rights of the judgment creditor. 

1. MAY THE COUNTY CLERK CHARGE A FILINQ 
FEE, AT THE TIME OF FILING, FOR THE RELEASE OF 
JUDQMRNT THAT 18 TO BE PREPARED AND EXRCUTED 
PURSUANT TO H.B. 27587 

H.B. 2758 does not mention the filing of the release of 
judgment: rather, if merely states that the judgment debtor shall 
prepare the release of judgment and, upon payment by the judgment 



debtor into the court registry of the entire amount owed, the judge 
or the clerk of the court is directed to execute said release on 
behalf of the judgment creditor and issue it to the judgment debtor. 
Thus, it would appear that the release of judgment envisioned by 
H.B. 2758 is a document that is part of the underlying action and is 
created by the judgment debtor. There does not appear to be any 
responsibility on the part of the county clerk with regard to the 
release for either its creation or its filing. 

Assuming arguendo, that a copy of the release of judgment is 
filed in the court file [based on the fact that it memorializes an 
action taken by the judge (or the clerk of the court, on the judge's 
behalf)], Section 118.052, Tex. Lot. Gov't. Code Ann. (Vernon 1988) 
sets forth those fees that a county clerk shall collect for services 
rendered in a civil court action. A review of same does not present 
any fees that would appear to be applicable to the release, were it 
to be filed in the court file, insomuch as it is neither an original 
action nor an action other than an, original action nor a service 
rendered after judgment in an original action, as delineated in 
Section 118.052. Further, those fees set forth in subsection (3) 
of Section 118.052, titled "Other Fees", do not appear to be 
applicable to the release either. Finally, the fees set forth in 
Sections 118.053, 118.056 and 191.007, Tex. Lot. Gov't. Code Ann. 
(Vernon 1988) do not appear to be applicable to the release of 
judgment created under H.B. 2758. Consequently, it appears the 
county clerk is not entitled to a filing fee for the release of 
judgment, as set forth in H.B. 2758. Further, even if a copy of the 
release of judgment is ultimately filed in the court file, there is 
no apparent authority for the county clerk to assess a fee for the 
inclusion of a copy of this document in the court file. 

H.B. 2758 does provide that either the judge or the clerk of 
the court shall execute the release of judgment on behalf of the 
judgment creditor and issue the release to the judgment debtor. 
Arguably, the clerk of the court that indeed executes a release of 
judgment is entitled to a fee for said execution. In that such fee 
is neither prescribed by H.B. 2758 nor the above-mentioned sections, 
it would appear that the clerk of the court is authorized to charge 
a "reasonable fee" for this service, pursuant to Section 118.011, 
Tex. Lot. Gov't. Code Ann. (Vernon 1988). 

2. BROULD THE RELEABD OF JUDGMENT CREATED 
UNDER B.B. 2758 BE FILED IN THE COURT PILE A8 
WRLL A8 TliE REAL PROPERTY RECORDS? 

As stated above, a review of H.B. 2758 does not indicate any 
requirement that the release of judgment be filed in either the 
court file or the Real Property records. Further, insomuch as the 
release is issued directly to the judgment debtor, it would appear 
that it is in his discretion whether the release is filed in the 
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court file of the underlying case, the Real Property records of any 
particular county or in either place(s). There does not appear to 
be any responsibility on the part of the clerk of the court to make 
this determination nor any requirement that the clerk of the court 
take any affirmative action whatsoever with regard to the release of 
judgment. However, should a copy of the release of judgment be, in 
fact, filed in the court file as a memorialization of the act of 
execution and issuance taken by the judge (or the clerk of court), 
this would not automatically require the clerk of the court to file 
the release of judgment in the Real Property records of the county 
where the release was issued or any other' county for that matter. 

As an analogy to this situation, let us assume that the 
judgment creditor in the underlying case had obtained an abstract of 
judgment from the clerk of the particular court wherein the 
underlying debt was established. This abstract of judgment could be 
obtained from the justice of the peace court, the clerk of the 
county court or the clerk of the district court. If said abstract 
had not been filed in the Real Property records of any county, then 
there would be no reason to file the release of judgment in the Real 
Property records of any county. Conversely, since an abstract of 
judgment may be filed in any county of the state, if the judgment 
creditor had obtained an abstract of judgment for the underlying 
debt, it would be the responsibility of the judgment creditor to 
determine which counties, if any, the abstract of judgment should be 
filed in as well as the judgment creditor's responsibility to take 
the necessary steps to effectuate such filing(s). Likewise, it 
would be the responsibility of the judgment debtor to ascertain in 
which counties, if any, the release of judgment should be filed to 
counteract the previous filing(s) of the abstract of judgment by the 
judgment creditor. Certainly, it is not the responsibility of the 
clerk of the court issuing the abstract of judgment or the release 
of judgment to make such a filing decision(s) on behalf of either 
the judgment creditor or the judgment debtor. 

3. NAY THE COUNTY CLERK COLLECT A $50.00 
RANDLING PEE WREN THE FUNDS TO SATISFY A 
JUDGMENT ARE DEWSITED WITH THE REGISTRY OF TEE 
COURT PURSUANT TO H.B. 2758? 

H.B. 2758 does not make any specific provision for the clerk of 
the court to receive a fee for the retention of the deposited 
judgment monies until such time as they are paid out to the judgment 
creditor or his successors. However, since H.B. 2758 does refer to 
the judgment monies deposited as "trust funds", it would appear that 
Attorney General Opinion JM-434 would be applicable to this 
situation. 

In Attorney General Opinion JM-434, the former Attorney General 
responded to a request from Harris County concerning the collection 
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of a fee by the county clerk for the administration of trust funds 
under former art. 2558(a), V.T.C.S., now, Section 117.055, Tex. I&c. 
Gov't. Code Ann. (Vernon 1988). The Attorney General opined that 
the $50.00 fee provided for the handling of County Clerk Trust Funds 
could not be collected until such time as the expense of handling 
the trust funds had been incurred. As stated in the opinion, this 
required that the county clerk wait until such time as the 
litigation involved was completed before assessing the 
administration fee .as the clerk of court's services in administering 
the funds would be completed at that time and, further, the party 
responsible for the payment of the fee would have then been 
designated by the court hearing the matter. 

Applying this to the factual situation created by H.B. 2758, 
while apparently the clerk of the court holding the deposited funds 
in entitled to collect a fee for the administration of the judgment 
funds while they are on deposit in the court registry, such fee 
would not be due and owing until such time as the funds are released 
from the registry of the court, i.e., at that time when the clerk of 
the court has completed the performance of the services of 
administering the judgment funds that underlie the imposition of 
such a fee. 

CONCLUSION 

H.B. 2758 does not appear to require the release of judgment ' 
created therein to be filed in the court file from which it arises. 
Should same be filed in the court file as a result of the fact that 
it memorializes an action taken by the judge (or the clerk of the 
court in his place), there is no apparent statutory authority for 
the county clerk to collect a fee for such a filing. Further, the 
question of whether the release of judgment should be filed in the 
court file and the Real Property records as well is a determination 
that is the responsibility of the judgment debtor and is not the 
responsibility of the county clerk. Finally, it would appear that 
the county clerk is entitled to a fee for the administration of the 
judgment monies that are placed in the registry of the court as 
"trust funds", but said fee is not owed to the county clerk until 
such time as the services that the fee is based upon have been 
provided by the county clerk. 

,- 
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