
TEXAS ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE COMMISSION 
Pm, OJice Box 13127, Copirol Srorion. Austin, Terar 78711-3127 (Sl2) 4%25W Immcnr Fox, Acring A<b,,;,iis,n,,or 

The Honorable Dan Morales 
Attorney General < 
Supreme Court Building 
Austin, Texas 

November 27, 199 1 

Dear General Morales, 

Section 5.01 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code authorizes the Alcoholic Beverage Commission to 
“prescribe and publish rules necessary to carry out provisions of this code.” Section 1.03 of the 
code states that the public policy of the code is to be “an exercise of the police power of the 
state for the protection of the welfare, health, peace, temperance, and safety of the people of the 
state. It shall be liberally construed to accomplish this purpose.” Section 6.01(b) of the code 
further states that “A license or permit issued under this code is a purely personal privilege and 
is subject to revocation if the holder is found to have violated a provision of this code or a rule 
of the commission. ” 

Given these premises, the Commission is considering the promulgation of a rule to create a 
rebuttable presumption when a certain set of facts occur with regards to the sale of alcohol to 
a minor. Specifically, the Commission proposes that not withstanding Section 106.14 of the 
code, if a licensee or permittee or any manager, employee, agent or servant of any licensee or 
permittee, sells alcohol to a minor and refuses to ask the minor to show proof of age by 
displaying an apparently valid Texas Driver’s license or an identification card issued by the 
Texas Department of Public Safety, he is presumed to have done so with knowledge that the 
person is a minor. 

This presumption unless rebutted by credible evidence establishes a prima facie case of a 
violation under $61.71(a)(5) and $106.13(a). 

The question we have is: May the Commission by rule, create such a presumption? 

We believe the answer to this question to be YES. It is our opinion that licensees and permittee 
have a responsibility to not sell alcohol to any minor. This rule would simply create a rebuttable 
presumption that if the seller does not check for a persons age, that if that person indeed is a 
minor, he is guilty. The presumption of guilt may be rebutted under this rule by simply showing 
that an identification was requested and that the purchaser presented an apparently valid Texas 
Driver’s license or identification card issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety. It is 
further our opinion that, based on the Code read as a whole, this was the intent of the legislature 
when they enacted Section 1.03 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code. RECEIVED 

DEC 0 3, 1991 

DAN MORALES 

Rrncr Hisginbnrhn,n-Broo~r, Chairman 
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We appreciate your consideration of this request for opinion as we feel that this a matter that 
is in the interest of the citizens of the state as well as the mandate of public policy under the 
code. 

Sincerely, 

cting Administrator 
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