
TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
5805 N. LAMAR BLVD.-BOX 4087-AUSTIN, TEXAS 78773.0001 

5121465-2000 

The Honorable Dan Morales 
Attorney General of Texas : 

Price Daniel Sr. Building 
209 West 14th Street 
Austin, Texas 

. 
Re: Request for Attorney General Opinion-on Section 4A, Article 6701h, V.T.C.S. 

(Texas Safety Responsibility Act) 

Dear General Morales: 

The purpose of this letter is to request YOLK opinion as to the 
constitutionality and statutory construction of Section 4A, Article 6701h, 
V.T.C.S. (Texas Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility Act). That section provides 
for impoundment of a motor vehicle not registered in Texas which has been 
involved in an accident resulting in injury or death, or damage to property to 
an apparent extent of $500 or more, if the owner or operator of the vehicle 
fails to furnish evidence of financial responsibility or of exemption from that 
requirement. Pertinent portions of Section 4A, Article 6701h, are as follows: 

"(a) A person who is the owner or operator of a motor vehicle that is 
not registered in this state and that is involved in a motor vehicle 
accident in this state that results in injury to or death of any 
person, or damage to property of any one person to an apparent extent 
of $500 or more, shall furnish evidence of financial responsibility to 
a law enforcement officer of the state or a political subdivision of 
the state who is conducting an investigation of the accident. 

"(b) On failure to furnish evidence of financial responsibility to a 
law enforcement officer, the person shall be taken as soon as 
practicable before a magistrate. 

"CC) The magistrate shall conduct an inquiry on the issues of 
negligence and liability for any death, injury, or property damage 
sustained in the accident. 

"Cd) If the magistrate determines that there is a reasonable 
possibility of a judgment being rendered against the person for any 
death, inj my, or property damage sustained in the accident, the 
magistrate shall order the person to furnish evidence of financial 
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responsibility for the death, injury, or property damage, or evidence 
that the person is exempt from the requirement of Section lA(a) of 
this Act. 

"(e) On failure of the person to furnish evidence satisfactory to the 
magistrate of financial responsibility or of exemption from the 
requirements of Section lA(a) of this Act, the magistrate shall enter 
an order of directing the sheriff of the county or the chief of police 
of the municipality to impound the vehicle owned or operated by the 
person that was involved in the motor vehicle accident. 

"(f) A motor vehicle impounded under Subsection (e) of this section 
remains in impoundment until the owner or operator of the impounded 
vehicle or other person authorized by the owner obtains from the 
Department a certificate of release and presents to the person 
authorized to IXleSSe the motor vehicle from impoundment the 
certificate of release and payment for the cost of impoundment. 

"(9) The Department shall issue a certificate of release to the owner 
or operator of an impounded motor vehicle or a person authorized by 
the owner on submission to the Department of: 

"(1) evidence of financial responsibility as defined by Section lB(b) 
of this Act that reflects that at the time of the accident the motor 
vehicle was covered by a policy of liability insurance or was 
otherwise exempt as provided by Section IA of this Act; 

“(2) a release executed by each person damaged in the accident other 
than the operator of the motor vehicle for which the certificate of 
release is requested: or 

“(3) security in a form and amount determined by the Department to 
secure the payment of any damages for which the oeprator may be 
liable. 

"(h) A person may satisfy the requirement in Subsection (g)(l) or (2) 
of this section by submitting to the Department a photocopy of the 
item required. 

"(i) The Department shall determine and adopt the form, content, and 
procedures for issuance of a certificate of release. 

"(j) The owner of an impounded motor vehicle is liable for the 
payment of the cost of the impoundment. 

"(k) On presentation to the person authorized to release an impounded 
motor vehicle of a certificate of release and payment of the cost of 
impoundment by the owner or operator of the impounded motor vehicle or 
a person authorized by the owner, the person authorized to release the 
motor vehicle from impoundment shall release the vehicle. 

"(1) A determination of negligence or liability by a magistrate under 
Subsection (d) of this section is independent of and has no effect 
under the doctrine of collateral estoppel on any issue in =*Y 



The Honorable Dan Morales 
Page 3 
July 6, 1992 

adjudication, criminal or civil, arising from the motor vehicle 
accident." 

In preparing to implement Section 4A, Article 6701h, the Department has 
identified the following questions which need to be answered. 

1. Does Section 4A, Article 6701h, V.T.C.S., violate the 
constitutional provisions relating to equal protection or the 
commerce clause? 

2. Does the duty of the Department of Public Safety under Section 
LA, Article 6701h, to issue a certificate of release and to 
determine the amount of security to be posted by a vehicle owner 
or operator require a prior hearing under Article 6252-13~1, 
V.T.C.S. (Administrative Procedure and Texas Register Act)? 

3. What is the minimum amount of security which the Department may 
require in order to issue a certificate of release under Section 
4A, Article 6701h? 

4. What standards should the Department apply in determining the 
amount of security that is required by the Department? 

In preparing to implement this statutory provision, the Department anticipates 
that it would apply to a" out-of-state family traveling through Texas on 
vacation, as well as to a commercial vehicle registered in another state which 
is operating in interstate commerce on the highways of this state. If, for some 
reason, either of those vehicles was not covered by insurance in the minimum 
amounts required by Article 6701h, V.T.C.S., at the time the vehicle was 
involved in a" accident in this state, the provisions of Section 4A, Article 
6701h, would apply. A peace officer would be required, upon failure of the 
owner or operator of the vehicle to produce evidence of financial 
responsibility, to take the person as soon as practicable before a magistrate. 
The magistrate is required under the provision of Section 4A(c) to conduct a" 
inquiry on the issues of negligence and liability for any death, injury, or 
property damage sustained in the accident. If the magistrate determined that 
there was a reasonable possibility of a judgment being rendered against the 
person arising out of the accident, the magistrate would be required to order 
the person to furnish evidence of financial responsibility, or evidence of 
exemption from that requirement. If either the vacationing owner/operator or 
the commercial vehicle owner/operator was unable to furnish evidence of 
financial responsibility, or of exemption, the magistrate would be required to 
order the sheriff or chief of police to impound the vehicle. 

The only way to obtain release sf the vehicle from impoundment is for the owner 
or operator to obtain a certificate of release from the Department of Public 
Safety. The Department may only issue the certificate of release if the person 
submits evidence of financial responsibility that reflects that at the time of 
the accident the motor vehicle was covered by a policy of liability insurance or 
was otherwise exempt, a release executed by each person damaged in the accident, 
or security in a form and amount determined by the Department to secure the 
payment of any damages for which the operator may be liable. It is clear that 
the procedures set forth in Section 4A could present a lengthy delay and 
possibly great expense on the owner or operator of the vehicle which is not 
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registered in Texas, depending upon the circumstances. The vacationing family 
could be without the use of its vehicle for an extended period of time. If a 
commercial motor vehicle was carrying a load of perishable goods, a potentially 
even greater financial burden might be imposed upon the owner or operator of the 
vehicle registered in a foreign state. None of these provisions would apply to 
a vehicle registered in Texas. 

As to the first question in Attorney General Opinion No. JM-826 (1987), the 
Attorney General addressed the issue of whether requiring mandatory liability 
insurance for vehicles operated in Texas by non-residents was an impermissible 
burden on foreign or interstate commerce, and thus a violation of the United 
States Constitution. LJ.S.Const., art. I, 58, ~1.3. That opinion concluded that 
the application of the Safety-Responsibility Act to all vehicles operated on the 
highways of Texas, whether by a resident or a non-resident, could not be 
considered to be an unconstitutional burden on foreign and interstate commerce. 

The situation under Section 4A, Article 6701h, is somewhat different in that a 
significantly more onerous burden is placed upon owners and operators of 
vehicles not registered in Texas which become involved in traffic accidents for 
which there is a reasonable probability of judgment against that owner or 
operator. Section 4A authorizes a magistrate to order the sheriff or chief of 
police to impound the vehicle upon the owner or operator's failure to furnish 
evidence of financial responsibility or an exemption from the requirements of 
Section lA(a) of the Act. To obtain release from impoundment, the person must 
submit to the Department one of the three methods of obtaining a certificate of 
release. Failure to do so would result in the vehicle continuing to be 
impounded. 

The cases cited in Attorney General Opinion No. JM-826 indicate that a state may 
impose on vehicles using its highways in interstate and foreign commerce 
nondiscriminatory regulations to protect the public. Bibb v. Navaio Freieht 
Lines, Inc., 359 U.S. 520 (1959). Under Section 4A, however, owners and 
operators of vehicles not registered in Texas are not treated in the same manner 
as those whose vehicles are registered in this state. Section 4A would also, 
obviously, impact foreign nationals operating vehicles in this state. 

The United States Supreme Court has addressed the issue of aliens and the equal 
protection clause in Plvler v. Doe, 102 S.Ct. 2382 (1982). The court in Plvler 
held that the illegal aliens who were plaintiffs in that case challenging a 
Texas statute could claim the benefit of the equal protection clause, which 
provides that no state shall deny to any person within its jurisdiction the 
equal protection of the laws. 

The second question concerns whether the Department would be required to conduct 
a hearing under Article 6252-13a, V.T.C.S. (APTRA), prior to issuing a 
certificate of release. In Wright v. Malloy, 373 F.Supp. 1011 (D.Vt. 1974), the 
court held unconstitutional a financial responsibility statute which permitted 
the setting of security without a hearing to determine the amount of security. 
WriPht, at 1021. The provisions of Section 4A, Article 6701h, do not provide 
for a hearing by the Department of Public Safety prior to issuing a certificate 
of release. The Department requests your opinion with regard to whether a prior 
hearing is required to be conducted under Article 6252-13a, V.T.C.S. It should 
be noted that Article 6252-13f, V.T.C.S., now requires the Department of Public 
Safety to conduct all of its APTRA hearings before a hearing officer employed by 
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the State Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAU). If your determination is 
that the Department's issuance of a certificate of release is required to be 
preceded by notice and an opportunity for hearing, and that such a certificate 
falls under the definition of "license" in Section 3(3), Article 6252-13a, then 
the contested ca*e provisions of APTRA would apply, and any hearing would have 
to be conducted by the SOAH, probably in Austin, Texas. 

The third question concern* the minimum amount of security which the Department 
may require a person to post in order to obtain a certificate of release under 
Section 4A, Article 6701h. In Section 4A(a), it is apparent in an accident 
involving only property damage, the impoundment provisions would not apply if 
the damage caused was less than $500. In Section 9, Article 6701h, it is 
provided that the Department may require no less than $1,000 security under that 
article. This $1,000 minimum security amount is consistent with the threshold 
damage amount contained in a separate provision relating to driver's license 
suspensions following accident*. Section 5, Article 6701h. It is likely thar 
accident* will occur, which otherwise come under the provisions of Section 4A, 
but which involve property damage in between $500 and $1,000. In such a case, 
there appears to be a conflict between the jurisdictional requirement that at 
least $500 in property damage must have occurred, and the minimum $1,000 
security requirement. Your opinion is requested a* to whether the Department 
may require security to be posted in an amount less than $1,000. 

Lastly, the Department requests your opinion as to what standard* should the 
Department apply in making this determination as to the amount of security to 
require? For example, is a repair estimate enough or should actual testimony of 
some competent witness be require. Could an affidavit be used to satisfy those 
standards? We seek your advise and guidance on this issue also. 

Your opinion is respectfully requested on these issues which we believe to be of 
significance. 

James R. Wilson 
Director 


