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The Honorable Dan Morales
Attorney General of Texas

Supreme Court Building < q i ;

Austin, Texas 78711-2548

P. O. Box 12548

Dear Dan:

Enclosed is 2 memorandum and several questions regarding the treatment of driver safety courses
and several statutes that govern traffic regulations.

Please consider this leiter 2 request for an opinion letter in response to the questions noted in the
memorandum. Should you have any guestions in reference to this request, please do not hesitate
to contact Joe Mortis of my staff at 463-0390. Your attention to this matter will be most

appreciated.

Thank you very much for your assistance.

Sincerely yours,

Zkg/h

Bill Sims

BS/jm
Enclosure

907 SAM HOUSTON BUILDING. P.O. BOX 12068, AUSTIN. TEXAS 78711, 512'483-C33%0



MEMORANDUM
1) Is a plea entered or taken in a case handled under Section 143A, subsection (a){(1)?

2) Is a judgment entered at the time the proceedings are deferred under Section 143A,
subsection (a)(1)?

3) Is the deferral considered a final conviction for the purpose of assessing court costs
under subsection (a)(1), and if so, then under what statutory authority?

In Texas, a substantial number of traffic ticket cases are dismissed in municipal and
Justice of the Peace courts through the completion of a driving safety course. The statutory
authority allowing this disposition is found in Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes Ann. Article 6701d,
Section 143A, subsections (a)(1), (a)(2) and Texas Code of Criminal Procedure Article 45.54.
There is a great dispute concerning subsection (a)(1) as to the necessity of an actual plea,
rendition of judgment, and payment of court costs. Prior Opinion No. JM-1124 (1989) addresses
the issue in part but assumes no plea is taken under subsection (a)(i), and develops its
conclusions accordingly.

A careful reading of the statute indicates that subsection (a)(2) requfires several elements,
one of which is entering a plea prior to the taking of the driver safety course. Subsection (a)(1)
does not have strict elements and appears to offer much more latitude. Reading subsection (a)(1)
in conjunction with Tex. Code Crim. Pro. Arts. 102.015(d) and 102.051(f), and 102.081(d) leaves
some question as to whether or not the deferral is a conviction for the purpose of assessing court
costs. All three sections state, “In this article, a person is considered to have been convicted in
a case ifi... (3) the court defers final disposition of the case." Paying proper regard to these
sections would mandate the assessment of court costs.

Subsection (b) of Section 143A modifies both (a)(1) and (a)(2) stating:

"When the person complies with the provisions of subsection (a) of this section...the court
shall remove the judgment and dismiss the charge..."[emphasis added]

Subsection (b) assumes the judgment is rendered in both discretionary (a)(1) dismissal,
and the mandatory (a)(2) dismissal. The actual wording of (a)(1) does not, however, necessitate
the acceptance of a plea. If there is no plea, or no judgment, then the defendant has not received
a conviction capable of supporting the imposition of court costs.

Herein lies the rub. Subsection (¢), which further modifies both (2)(1) and (a)(2),
provides for a special expense fee of up to $10.00 to be paid to the court by the person
requesting a driving safety course. As discussed in JM-1124 (1989), it would be unconstitutional
to require the fee to be paid by a person who had not been adjudicated to be guilty. Hence, the
assumption of subsection (c) is that a plea is required from both the mandatory and discretionary
sections to allow the option of assessing the special fee. The corresponding argument is that
under subsection (a)(1), the court is not entitled to collect any fee whatsoever, and must dismiss
the cause upon presentation of proof of completion of the defensive driving course.



The author of Opinion JM-1124 (1989) assumed for the purpose of that opinion that
subsection (a)(1) does not require a plea, and that subsection (a)(2) does, therefore the legislature
intended that there not be a plea in subsection (a)(1). Unfortunately, we can not reconcile that
finding with Articles 102.015(d), 102.051(f), and 102.081(d) of the Tex. Code Crim. Pro., and
subsection (¢) of Article 6701d, Section 143A, V.T.C.A., and the resulting unconstitutional
requirement of payment of fees by persons who have not entered a plea of guilty or no contest.
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