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enclosed. 
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MEMORANDUM BRIEF 

RE: Can the appraisal review board, under section 25.25(d) Texas 
Tax Code, correct the market value of a property that 
receives productivity valuation under chapter 23 of the Texas 
Tax Code? 

Section 25.25(d) is titled “Correction of Appraisal Roll” and states in part: 

(d) At any time prior to the date the taxes become delinquent, a property owner or the 
chief appraiser may file a motion with the appraisal review board to change the appraisal 
roll to correct an error that resulted in an incorrect aouraised value for the owner’s 
property. 

However, the error may not be corrected unless it resulted in an amraised value that 
exceeds by more than one-third the correct aDDraiSt?d value. 

If the appraisal roll is changed under this subsection, the property owner muSf pay to 
each affected taxing unit a late-correction penalty equal to 10 percent of the amount of 
taxes as calculated on the basis of the correct amraised value. 

The roll may not be changed under this subsection if the property was the subject of a 
protest brought by the property owner under Chapter 41 or if the amraised value of the 
property was established as a result of a written agreement between the property owner 
or his agent and the appraisal district. (emphasis and formarring ours) 

This section does not require that the error be clerical in nature and is generally utilized by 

property owners who did not tile a timely protest after receiving a notice of appraised value under 

Section 25.19, Tax Code. Section 25.25(d) further mandates that the property owner pay a 10% 

penalty based on the corrected appraised value. 

The Tax Code at section 1.04(S) defines “appraised value” as the value which was determined 

under Chapter 23 of the Tax Code. Chapter 23, subchapters C, D, and E provide that the “appraised 

value” of property appraised under those subchapters is its productivity value, although the chief 

appraiser is also required to determine and record the market value of the property. See subchapter 

C, $23,46(a), subchapter D, $23.52(e), and subchapter E, $23.76(c). Those subchapters further 

provide that the chief appraiser determine the market value for roll back purposes. See subchapter C, 

$23.46(c), subchapter D, $23.55(a), and subchapter E, $23.76(a). 
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Thus, in the context of Chapter 23, Section 25.25(d) appears to provide only for correction of 

the productivity value, as that is the value upon which taxes are based. Section 41.41(i), titled “Right 

of Protest”, provides that a property owner has the right to file a timely protest of the determination 

of the appraised value or market value as determined under subchapters C (land designated for 

agricultural use), D (agricultural land) and E (timber land) of chapter 23. Thus, under chapter 41, 

Texas Tax Code, a property owner can protest the market value together with the appraised value of 

his land pursuant to a notice of appraised value. These sections make it appear that the market value 

of the property can only be changed pursuant to a timely tiled protest. 

Section 25.25(d) mandates that a 10% penalty be assessed to the property owner. As changing 

the market value under this section of the code results in no change of current tax liability, it would be 

impossible for the taxing units to calculate the 10% penalty. This supports a construction that a 

change in market value is not permitted. While appearing to be an unjust result, we think that by the 

overall scheme of Section 25.25(d) the legislature has properly distributed the burden or 

inconvenience that would otherwise result. As a matter of public policy, the~law favors that property 

owners be prudent in the management of their affairs with government agencies. Op.Tex.Att’y Gen. 

No. hIW-146 (1980). A property owner who believes his appraised productivity value is excessive 

may invoke the provisions of 25.25(d). 

Consequently, for property appraised under subchapters C, D, or E, Chapter 23, section 

25.25(d) can only be invoked by a property owner who meets four conditions: 

1. the appraised productivity value of the property must have been over 
appraised by at least one third; 

2. taxes must have been paid prior to the delinquency date; 
3. the property must not have been the subject of a chapter 41 protest (timely 

protest) or the value contested must not have been the subject of an 
agreement between the property owner and the district; and 

4. the property owner must pay to the affected taxing units a 10% penalty 
based on the corrected appraised value. 

If the appraised value is corrected under this section and the property owner has already paid 

taxes, the property owner is entitled to a refund from each taxing unit which the section required him 

to pay. The processing of the refund is an inconvenience on the taxing units which can only be offset 

by the 10% penalty assessed the property owner. 
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- 
Even if the property owner is able to obtain a correction under this section prior to the 

delinquency date (and thus avoid paying taxes), the taxing units are still inconvenienced since they 

have already set a tax rate and cannot increase the rate to offset the reduction in their tax base. This 

inconvenience to the taxing units can only be offset by the 10% penalty assessed the property owner. 

Finally, the penalty serves to encourage property owners to bring their concerns to the appraisal 

review board in a timely manner. 

It should be noted that section 25.25(e) provides that taxing units in which the property is 

located are entitled to: 

1. notice of the time and date of hearing; 
2. present evidence before the review board; 
3. make arguments to the review board; and 
4. receive written notice of the review board’s determination. 

This is the only time that a taxing. unit is provided with the opportunity to challenge the 

appraised value of a single taxpayer’s property. This section overrides the otherwise explicit 

provision of Section 41.03 that prevents taxing units from participating in all of the above. It thus 

appears that the overall scheme of 25.25(d) was to burden property owners who failed to tile a timely 

protest. 

In conclusion, it appears that section 25.25(d) of the Texas Tax Code prohibits the correction 

of only the market value of property with an appraised value based on the agricultural productivity of 

the property as determined under chapter 23. Section 25.25(d) would further prohibit any correction 

which would negate the assessment of a 10% percent penalty against the property owner. 

3of3 


