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Attention of Opinions Committee

Re: Maximum amount of costs for protective orders applied for
under Chapter 71 of the Texas Family Code, and

Proof of indigency pursuant to Rule 145 of the Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure

8ir:

Questions have arisen in our county regarding the amount that may
be charged for the filing fee and other costs for protective orders
applied for under Chapter 71 of the Texas Family Code. Sections
71.04 and 71.07 seem to be"in conflict regarding the maximum amount
that may ke.charged. '

Also, portions of Rule 145 of the Texas Rules of Civil Proéedure,
Affidavit of Inability, seem to conflict regarding the procedure
nececesary te prove inability to pay costs.

Therefore, I request an opinion on the following questions and have
provided a brief of the law.

QUESTIONS:

1. Is $36 the maximum fee that may be charged under any
circumstances to an applicant for a Chapter 71 protective
order, pursuant to subsection 71.04(e), or may the clerk of
the court charge additional fees for the cost of each service
of notice of an application (be it $20 or the cost of
postage), pursuant to subsections 71.07 (i) and (g) if:

a. service is attempted but not completed;
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b. there is more than one respondent requiring service; or

c. there are extensions or reschedulings which require
service on the respondent(s)?

2. Is such an applicant’s receiving government entitlement(s)
proof enough of inability to pay costs under Rule 145 of the
Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, or must the applicant provide
additional information in the affidavit such as nature and
amount of employment income, other income (interest,
dividends, etc.), spouse’s income if available to the
applicant, property owned other than homestead, cash or
checking account, dependents, debts, and monthly expenses?

BRIEF:

S8ection 71.04(e), Texas Family Code, Application for Protective
Order :

This section of the Texas Family Code relates to the f£iling fee for
an application for a protective order. The fee is $16 except for
service fees as provided in Section 71.07, and an applicant may not
be assessed any other fees, costs, charges, or expenses by the
clerk of the court or any other public official in connection with
the application. Under anv circumstances, the total fees relate

to_the filing of and service of notice of an application for a

protective order, including fees under Section 71.07, may not
exceed $36.. -An applicant who is not able to'pay the costs may file

an affidavit of inability as provided by the Texas Rules of; Civil
Procedure.

Bection 71.07(1), Texas Family Code, Fee for Service of Notice of
Application for .Protective Order

The fee for service of notice of an application for a protective
order charged to the applicant under this section may not be more
than $20 if delivered in person or the cost of postage if delivered
by mail.

Section 71.07(g), Texas Family Code, Manner of Service of Notice of
Application for Protective Order

The manner of service of notice of an application for protective
order shall be the same as a citation under the Texas Rules of
Civil Procedure, except that service by publication is not
authorized.
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Rule 106, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Method of Service of
Citation

This rule states that citation shall be served by delivering to the
defendant, in person, a true copy of the citation with a copy of
the petition attached thereto, or mailing to the defendant a true
copy of the citation with a copy of the petition attached thereto.

Rule 145, Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, Affidavit of Inability

In its initial paragraph, this rule states that a party who is
unable to pay costs is defined as a person who is presently
receiving a governmental entitlement based on indigency or any
other person who has no ability to pay costs. However, Section 2
states that the affidavit shall contain complete information as to,
among other things, the nature and amount of the party’s employment
income, other income, spouse’s income if available, property owned,
cash or checking account, dependents, debts, and monthly expenses.

Section 311, et seq. Government Code (Code Construction Act)

This section of the Government Code was enacted to aid in
construing and clarifying misunderstood language in codes adopted
by the State of Texas. e

Section 311.011, Confon and Technical Usage of Words

Words and phrases shall be read in context and conpstrued
according to the rules of grammar and common usage; those
words and phrases that have acquired a technical or particular
meaning, whether by legislative definiticn or otherwise, shall
be construed accordingly.

Section 311.021, Intention in Enactment of Statutes
In enacting a statute, it is presumed that:
(2) the entire statute is intended to be effective;
(3) a just and reasonable result is intended;
(5) public interest is favored over any private interest.
CONCLUSION:
Research of the issues posed by the afore-listed questions reveals

that case law which can shed any light on how to answer these
issues is nonexistent. The Code Construction Act also offers no
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assistance. Therefore, we have analyzed the issues using a "plain
meaning" analysis.

It is our conclusion that the answer to the first question
regarding filing fees and other costs is that under any
gircumstances, regardless of the number of attempts of service, the
number of respondents to be served, or whether there were
extensions granted by the Court requiring additional service, the
amount that can be charged for filing and service fees for an
application for protective order can never exceed $36.

As for the second question regarding affidavits of inability to pay
costs, we conclude that, pursuant to the definition in the initial
paragraph of Rule 145 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, a
person receiving governmental entitlements based on indigency is a
person who has no ability to pay costs. Therefore, other
information enumerated in Section 2 of the rule: "nature and
amount of employment income, other income, (interest, dividends,
etc.), spouse’s income if available to the party, property owned
(other than homestead), cash or checking account, dependents,
debts, and monthly expenses," is wholly unnecessary, the fact that
a person is receiving a government entitlement being sufficient
evidence of indigency.

Very truly yours,

David Motley i
County Attorney

/hh



