
JAMES M. KUBOVIAK 
COUNTY ATTORNEY 

BRAZOS COUNTY, TEXAS 

TELEPHONE 
409/301+?03 

The Honorable Dan Morales 
Attorney General 
Opinions Committee 
P.O. Box 12548 
Austin. Texas 787 11 

August 7,1997 

Dear General Morales, 

- 

Tax Assessor-Collector Buddy Winn has asked for an opinion Cformal or [crier) on the following questions: 

l When does the penalty allowed pursuant to 33.07 become effective on taxes paid under sections 3 1.03, 
3 1.03 1, 3 1.032, and 3 1.04 of the tax code, since they are not delinquent until or after July l? 

. When should the 33.07 (d) notice be sent by the Tax Collector to invoke 33.07 (a) penalty? 

SECTION 33.07 STATES IN PART: 

(a) A taxing unit or Appraisal District may provide, in the manner required by law for official action by the 
body, that taxes that “Remain Dehwuent on Julv 1st.” of the year in which they become delinquent incur an 
additional penalty to defray costs of collection, if the unit or district or another unit that collects taxes for the 
unit has contracted with an attorney pursuant to Section 6.30 of the Property Tax Code. 

Section 3 1.03 provides that the governing body of a taxing unit may provide that a person who pays one-half of 
the units taxes before December 1 may pay the remaining taxes without penalty or interest before July 1 of the 
following year. 
Section 3 1.03 (b) provides that the second payment incurs a penalty of 12 percent if delinquent on July 1 and 
interest of 1 percent. 



Section 3 1.03 1 allows quarterly payments of individuals who are disabled or at least 65 years of age and are 
qualified for an exemption under Section 11.13 (c). 

Section 3 1.03 1 (b) states, “If the individual fails to make a payment before the applicable date provided by 
subsection (a), the unpaid amount is delinquent and incurs a penalty of 12 percent and interest as provided by 
Section 33 .Ol (c)“. 

Section 3 1.032 provides the same penalty delinquent & interest as sections 3 1.03 and 3 1.03 1. However, Section 
3 1.04 allows a tax to incur six percent penalty the first month of delinquency plus one percent per month 
thereafter that the tax remains unpaid prior to July 1. Interest accrues at one percent per month while the tax 
remains unpaid. 

DM-235 recently addressed 33.07 penalty on installment contracts allowed pursuant to 33.02 . However, it did 
not address taxes paid pursuant to Sections 31.03, 31.031,31.032, or 31.04. 

Since the second half taxes were not delinquent until July 1, and absent proper notice required by 33.07(d); 
surely the penalty allowed by 33.07 could not be invoked and imposed on the taxpayer on July 1, See City of 
Houston vs. First City, 827 SW2d 462 (Tex. App. - Houston [lst. dist.] 1992, writ. den). 

Therefore, we would respectfully request an opinion on when Section 33.07 applies to the above Sections of the 
Tax Code. 

Thank you in advance for your cooperation, I remain. 

Brazos County, Texas 


