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TOPIC: Did the enactment of the new Section 106.041, Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code 
(Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol by a Minor) serve to exclude persons under the 
age of 21 years of age from prosecution for the offenses set out in Sections 49.04, Texas 
Penal Code (Driving While Intoxicated) and 49.09 Texas Penal Code (Enhanced Offenses 
and Penalties)? 

DISCUSSION: A question has arisen among law enforcement and the local courts regarding 
whether the Courts at Law and the District Courts can prosecute juveniles and minors under the 
age of 21 years for the offenses of Driving While Intoxicated, Class A and B, and for Driving 
While Intoxicated, third degree felony. This concern has resulted from an issue reportedly raised 
at various law conferences as to whether the new Class C offense of Driving Under the Influence 
of Alcohol by a Minor in the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code is a more specific and more newly- 
enacted statute than the D.W.I. law as applied to this class of persons, and would result in giving 
the Municipal Courts and the Justice Courts (and possibly the juvenile courts) exclusive 
jurisdiction of such persons upon their first arrest while driving after consuming alcohol. 



The effect of this interpretation of the law is that law enforcement officers would no longer be 
able to arrest and the county and district courts could not prosecute persons over the age of 17 
years of age and under the age of 21 for any degree of Driving While Intoxicated, nor could 
juveniles be referred to the juvenile court for delinquent conduct for such acts, and the county 
and district courts would thus be divested of jurisdiction of such persons, even if a blood or 
breath alcohol test indicated that the offender was clearly intoxicated under the law and might 
have multiple prior convictions for D.W.I. committed prior to the effective date of this new 
statute. 

A counter argument which could be made is that there is a difference in the legal meaning of the 
terms “having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor’s system” referred-to in Section 
106.041(a) Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, and “intoxicated”, as defined in Section 49.01(2), 
Texas Penal Code; and that, therefore, there is not a true conflict between these laws. 

Or, alternatively, it could be argued that in cases where the defendant showed evidence of 
impairment or gave a sample of breath or blood which contained more than 10 percent blood- 
alcohol, the term “intoxicated” should be considered to be more specific than the term “having 
any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor’s system”, and should be given effect as the more 
specific statute. 

It can be further argued that in various places in the new statutes involving abuse of alcohol and 
then driving by a minor, the D.W.I. statute is mentioned inferentially as still applicable to such 
persons, both where it is stated in Section 106.041(g) that the new law is “not a lesser-included 
offense” of D.W.I., and where the new specified warning for obtaining consent to a breath or 
blood test from a minor as set out in Section 724.015(4), Texas Transportation Code, mentions 
such persons as being liable to being charged with D.W.I. crimes as a possibility. 

The County Attorney’s office views the practical issue as being whether the legislature, by 
enacting this new law concerning minors in the Texas Alcoholic Code at the behest of the federal 
government, intended to make the laws involving the abuse of alcohol stronger regarding the 
issue of drinking and driving, or whether it intended to make the laws weaker regarding the class 
of persons represented in this new law, and exempt them from arrest and prosecution under the 
penal code in situations where at their arrest they met the definition of “intoxicated” as defined 
in Section 49.01(2) of the Texas Penal Code 

Thank you for your attention to this matter. 

;s&my,& 
County Attorney for Tom Green County, Texas County Attorney for Tom Green County, Texas 



APPLICABLE STATUTES AND CASES: 

Texas Government Code, Section 3 11.026: 
Resolves conflict between general and specific statutes, but also favors construction so 
that both statutes may be given effect, if possible. 

Texas Penal Code, Section 1.05: 
Sets as a goal to promote justice and effect the objectives of that Code. Also incorporates 
various sections of the Government Code regarding statutory construction 

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code, section 106.041(g): 
States that an offense under this section is not a lesser-included offense under Section 
49.04, Texas Penal Code (and, by implication, Section 49.09, Texas Penal Code). 

Texas Transportation Code, section 724.015(4): 
Requires the officer giving a minor certain warnings regarding the taking of a breath 
sample, makes reference to Section 49 of the Penal Code, and states that the minor “may 
be subject to criminal penalties less severe than those provided under that chapter.” 

State v. Mancuso, (Tex. Cr. App. 1996) 
Addresses the concept of in oari materia in statutory construction. 
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