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Dear Ms. Quiram: 

On behalf of the Texas Cosmetology Commission (the “Commission”), you ask several 
questions about implementing section 1602.267 of the Occupations Code, which establishes a one- 
year shampoo apprentice permit.’ See TEX. Oct. CODE ANN. 9 1602.267 (Vernon 2004). 

Section 1602.267 was adopted in 2003 as an amendment to chapter 1602, which governs the 
practice of cosmetology. See Act ofMay28,2003,78th Leg., R.S., ch. 1282, $9 2-3,2003 Tex. Gen. 
Laws 4679, 4679-80. The term “cosmetology” means “the practice of performing or offering to 
perform for compensation” any of certain specified services, including “treating a person’s hair 
by.. . shampooing” and “shampooing and conditioning a person’s hair.” TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 
fj 1602.002(l)(A), (3) (V emon 2004). Section 1602.25 1 prohibits any person from performing or 
attempting to perform a cosmetological practice without “a license or certificate to perform that 
practice.” Id. 4 1602.25 l(a). Further, no one may “teach cosmetology” without “an instructor 
license issued in this state,” and any instruction must take place either “in a private beauty culture 
school or a vocational cosmetology program in a public school.” Id. fj 1602.25 1 (b). 

Various licenses in the cosmetology field are available. In addition to an operator’s license, 
authorizing a licensee to “perform any practice of cosmetology,” id. fj 1602.254(a), and an 
instructor’s license, authorizing a licensee to “perform any practice of cosmetology and . . . instruct 
a person in any practice of cosmetology,” id. 8 1602.255(a), chapter 1602 provides licenses for 
manicurists, see id. 8 1602.256, and facialists, see id. 9 1602.257. Section 1602.258 also provides 
for a “specialty certificate,” which authorizes a certificate holder to perform one of the following 
cosmetological practices: 

(2) “weaving or braiding a person’s hair;” 

‘Letter from Helen Quiram, Chair, Texas Cosmetology Commission, to Antoinette Humphrey, Executive 
Director, Texas Cosmetology Commission, and Jason Ray, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General 
(Oct. 8,2003) ( on 1 f 1 e with Opinion Committee) [hereinafter Request Letter]. 
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(3) “shampooing and conditioning a person’s hair;” 

(4) “servicing a person’s wig or artificial hairpiece . . . ;” 

(7) “beautifying a person’s face, neck, or arms using a cosmetic 
preparation, antiseptic, tonic, lotion, powder, oil, clay, cream, or 
appliance.” 

Id. $6 1602.002(2)-(4)’ (7)’ 1602.258(a). An applicant for a specialty certificate must be at least 
seventeen years of age; hold a high school diploma or its equivalent, or “have passed a valid 
examination. . . that measures the person’s ability to benefit from training”; and have completed any 
necessary training. See id. 8 1602.258(b). 

Beauty shops, specialty shops, and beauty culture schools also must be licensed. See id. 
55 1602.301(a), 1602.302-.305; see also id. 5 1602.306 (providing for booth rental license). No 
licensed beauty shop or specialty shop may employ, as an operator or specialist, a person who does 
not hold either an appropriate license or a certificate. See id. fj 1602.403(c). 

You ask specifically about section 1602.267, adopted in 2003. Although an eligible person 
who wishes only to shampoo and condition hair could do so with a specialty certificate issued under 
section 1602.258, section 1602.267 establishes the shampoo apprentice permit: 

(a) A person holding a shampoo apprentice permit may perform only the 
practice of cosmetology defined by Section 1602.002(3) [the shampooing and 
conditioning of hair]. 

(b) The commission shall issue a shampoo apprentice per-r-nit to an applicant 
who: 

(1) is at least 16 years of age; and 

(2) submits a certificate of health as required by Section 
1602.253. 

(c) A shampoo apprentice permit expires on the first anniversary of the date 
of issuance and may not be renewed. 

(d) The commission shall adopt rules as necessary to administer this section. 
The commission may not require an applicant to: 

(1) complete any hours of instruction at a cosmetology 
training program as a prerequisite for the issuance of a shampoo 
apprentice permit; or 
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(2) pay a fee for a shampoo apprentice permit. 

(e) A facility licensed under this chapter may employ a person who holds a 
shampoo apprentice permit to perform shampooing or conditioning services and shall 
pay the person at least the federal minimum wage as provided by Section 6, Fair 
Labor Standard Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. Section 206). 

Id. 9 1602.267; see Act of May 28, 2003, 9 2, 2003 Tex. Gen. Laws at 4679-80. The shampoo 
apprentice permit allows the shampoo apprentice only to shampoo and condition hair, and not to 
engage in any other activity within the practice of cosmetology, such as coloring, styling, or cutting 
hair. See TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. § 1602.002 (Vernon 2004). 

You suggest that section 1602.267 is inconsistent with section 1602.002, which requires a 
license to practice cosmetology. You write, “It is in direct conflict to allow an untrained, unlicensed 
individual to practice any part of cosmetology.” Request Letter, supra note 1, at 2. Your suggestion 
that only license holders may practice cosmetology is, initially, incorrect. Specialists, in particular, 
hold certificates, not licenses. See TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 9 1602.258 (Vernon 2004). Moreover, 
to the extent section 1602.267 permits a person, other than a “licensed” cosmetologist, to shampoo 
and condition hair for compensation, the section specifically authorizes the permit holder to perform 
a limited cosmetological practice under section 1602.25 1. Accordingly, a shampoo apprentice 
practicing within the terms of the permit acts within the scope of authority that the legislature has 
expressly granted. 

You ask how a regulatory agency “is able to oversee a non-licensed individual.” Request 
Letter, supra note 1, at 2. Section 1602.267 expressly requires the Commission to adopt rules for 
administering the shampoo apprentice permit program, although the Commission may not adopt an 
education or fee requirement. See TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 9 1602.267(d) (Vernon 2004). In addition, 
the Commission’s authority to enforce chapter 1602 and to impose penalties extends to shampoo 
apprentices. For example, the Commission is authorized to impose an administrative penalty on 
any “licensed or regulated” person who violates chapter 1602. Id. 9 1602.501. The Commission 
may bring an action to enjoin any “person” from violating chapter 1602 or a Commission rule. Id. 
0 1602.552(a). And any “person” who violates chapter 1602 commits a criminal offense. Id. 
4 1602.554(a). Thus, the Commission has ample authority to “oversee” a shampoo apprentice. 
Request Letter, supra note 1, at 2. 

You also ask how a beauty shop, licensed under section 1602.302, may employ a shampoo 
apprentice without violating the statutory requirement that “[a] person holding a beauty shop license 
. . . may not employ a person as an operator or specialist . . . unless the person holds a license or 
certificate under this chapter. . . .” TEX. Oct. CODE ANN. 5 1602.403(c) (Vernon 2004); see Request 
Letter, supra note 1, at 2. Because a shampoo apprentice holds a permit as specifically authorized 
by section 1602.267, employment of a shampoo apprentice constitutes employment of a person 
holding a license or certificate under chapter 1602. A licensed beauty shop does not, accordingly, 
violate chapter 1602 by employing a shampoo apprentice. 
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You ask two questions about apprentices’ training by persons not licensed as instructors, in 
salons that are not licensed as beauty culture schools. See TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 83 1602.255, 
1602.303 (Vernon 2004); Request Letter, supra note 1, at 2. To the extent shampoo apprentices are 
instructed in the shampooing and conditioning of hair by cosmetologists who are not licensed 
instructors, in salons that are not licensed beauty culture schools, section 1602.267 permits the 
instruction. Section 1602.267 creates an exception to the requirement that cosmetology be taught 
only by a person who “holds an instructor license . . . in a private beauty culture school or a 
vocational cosmetology program in a public school.” TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 9 1602.25 1 (b) (Vernon 
2004). Thus, a shampoo apprentice may be trained by a licensed cosmetologist who is not a licensed 
instructor, in a licensed facility that is not a licensed beauty culture school or program, but only in 
the shampooing and conditioning of hair. 

You suggest that the statute “does not require the necessary fees that are reasonable and 
necessary to cover the cost of administering this statute.” Request Letter, supra note 1, at 3. Indeed, 
the legislature had information before it concerning the costs of the shampoo apprentice permit 
program. As the 2003 bill’s fiscal note states, 

[T]o process applications from [students applying for a permit], as 
well as investigate an anticipated increase in complaints, the 
[Commission] estimates 0.5 [full-time employees] will be required, 
at a cost of $15,000 per year. 

It is assumed the agency would adjust fees to offset any costs or 
revenue gains due to the implementation of the bill. 

FISCAL NOTE, Tex. H.B. 653’78th Leg., R.S. (2003). 

While it may be true that section 1602.267 does not establish a fee that will cover the costs 
of administering the shampoo apprentice permit program, the statute expressly forbids the 
Commission to require an applicant to pay a fee for the permit. See TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 
8 1602.267(d)(2) (V emon 2004). The legislature, not this office, is the proper entity to consider the 
fee issue you raise. 

Finally, you ask how section.1 602.267 “justiqies] the already licensed shampoo course given 
by licensed schools with licensed teachers and who are required to take a state approved exarn and 
follow all statutes applying to cosmetology in Texas.” Request Letter, supra note 1, at 3. You refer 
here to the specialty certificate, the holder of which may perform only specific hair- or skin-related 
practices. See TEX. OCC. CODE ANN. 8 1602.258(a) (Vernon 2004). An applicant is not eligible for 
such a specialty certificate unless the applicant has completed the requisite “training through a 
[Clornmission-approved training program.” Id. 8 1602.258(b)(3). Commission rules require an 
applicant for a shampoo and conditioning specialty license to complete 150 hours of training, 
including courses in hygiene; shampooing and conditioning skills; and ethics. See 22 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE 8 89.72(8) (2003) (Texas Cosmetology Commission, Curriculum Posted). 

Your question is one of policy that is not appropriate for this office. We accordingly decline 
to consider it. 
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SUMMARY 

A person practicing within the terms of a shampoo apprentice 
permit issued under section 1602.267 of the Occupations Code is 
authorized to perform a limited cosmetological practice under chapter 
1602. The Cosmetology Commission must adopt rules to administer 
the shampoo apprentice permit program and may enforce chapter 
1602 against a shampoo apprentice as it may against any other 
licensed or certificated cosmetologist. A licensed beauty shop does 
not violate chapter 1602 by employing a shampoo apprentice. 

Section 1602.267 creates an exception to the requirement that 
cosmetology be taught only by a licensed instructor in a licensed 
beauty culture school or program. Thus, a shampoo apprentice may 
be trained by a licensed cosmetologist who is not licensed as an 
instructor, in a licensed facility that is not a licensed beauty culture 
school or program, but only in the shampooing and conditioning of 
hair. 

The Commission may not require an applicant for a shampoo 
apprentice permit to pay a fee for the permit. 
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